We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Old World Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Old World Hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was truly a five star old world hotel that prides itself on being “different” then most other hotels. The service was impeccable and the staff is well trained to “take care” of its guests. Our rooms were designed with a “twist” and we were impressed with every aspect of the hotel, including the phenomenal breakfast which was included.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sschnei777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    136
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
125
378
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in late May 2014 for vacation. The location is central within walking distance to a lot of attractions. The old town is within 5 minutes walking (it is a part of the old town itself). Mirabell is right behind the hotel, The Salzburg State Theater is right next door.

The hotel building was old but I would expect the room would not be too old. Apparently the room need renovation. Breakfast is very good with a variety of food. Staff is kind and acceptable.

Good stay considering the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davida_Davida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Bristol Hotel is well located and within walking distance of most destinations of interest. The Hotel itself is a bit old, and is suffering from an over-abundance of mirrors. In the breakfast room, in the hall, on the ceiling and most disconcerting, in the bathroom. The staff were helpful, aside from the porter who advised us to park our car across the street where we of course got a parking fine overnight. When questioned on it, he replied that a parking fine was cheaper than valet parking... WHAT?
The breakfasts are very good and staff attentive. Overall, ok, but for the price, they could do with updating the decor somewhat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniOstwald-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have no negatives about this hotel. Room was spotless - staff very attentive - restaurant food great - wine list superb and the lobby bar very cozy. Great location also and we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagne068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The room, amazing! The view, well if you consider we had a view of both the castle in Salzburg as well as Mozart's residence "normal" you would be silly! Amazing service, location and really provided for an extremely romantic night in Salzburg. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmanuelsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bristol for our stay in Salzburg in April 2013. One cannot ask for a better location you are in the heart of the city, hotel is just gorgeous feels like you've stepped back in time. Totally recommend getting a breakfast package best breakfast we had I. Europe. We had amazing views from our bedroom window. Really this is my favourite city in the world there is so much to see and do. Shopping in the old town, visiting the salt mines, sound of music
Tour (even if you're not into the sound of music it's still a must do the sights are amazing), mozarts family home museum, the forts, beer gardens, eagles nest...the list goes on !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

For the price I would expect better service, especially in a town situated for tourism. There was no orientation to the city, no real recommendations for anything. In fact when asking for a recommendation for a light lunch, the response was as though we should already kin where to go.

The rooms are nude and comfortable. Bathrooms are good, spacious, and well heated.

Location is great, near the center of the historic part, but somewhat quiet.

Breakfast is plentiful and good...and the only good service at the hotel.

Room Tip: We negotiated a better price than list, but you can probably find similar deals online. Standard de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing