We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A perfect hotel for my visit to Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel for my visit to Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had a very nice three night stay in this hotel last April. I was in a single room, which at first seemed like it might be too small for someone my size (I'm 6'8" tall). But I did fit in the bed, and the view out the window the first morning dispelled any concerns I might have had about the room size. The location was fantastic, since it was an easy walk to everything I wanted to see in the city. I ended up walking to and from the train station, although it would have been very easy to catch one of the buses that went through the square. If I ever go back to Salzburg, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerBait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    119
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
112
321
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A classic and charming hotel,
centrally located within walking distance to the castle,
restaurants and all the other famous attractions in Salzburg.

We had a nice & charming room with all the expected amenities as well as a great view.
The staff is very friendly and professional.

I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Small family (2adults + 7 y/o) - stayed 3 nights - triple room - Christmas 2013

Huge room with plenty of storage space & room to move around
Beautiful view of the Castle & Church
Excellent Wifi coverage anywhere in the Hotel
Large buffet style breakfast
Helpful & friendly staff

Fantastic location - everything is within walking distance

A Christmas splurge for us but wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank illythecuddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Bristol and we have to say it was exemplary in every way. Old fashioned in the best possible way in that it was very evocative of Salzburg at the turn of the century. The rooms are good ( we had a superior room) and we had a great view over the city to the Fortress and the Unterbergen mountain. The bathrooms are spacious and modern.

We loved the bar area- so comfortable and relaxed and everything served so immaculately. Happy hour made our aperitifs very good value!

The breakfasts were superb- everything you could want including a glass of Sekt if you fancy one! I recommend ordering the cooked breakfast- lovely ham and eggs- although the cooked stuff already out was more than adequate.

The staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The city is lovely but it was worth venturing on the very efficient bus/tram to the cable car to ascend the Unterbergen Mt for amazing views.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the new town opposite Mozart's house and next to the Gardens and 5 minutes from the river and the Old Town. Even better it's very close to our favourite restaurant, Zum Fidelen Affen! Fantastic!

All in all a special hotel especially if you can get one of their deals.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedlizNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One night here to see a little of Salzburg. The hotel is well located and oozes old fashioned service and charm as only an independent hotel can. All the staff are attentive and pleasant and the bar is particularly relaxing. Our room was large and a little tired but clean and the old fashioned decor added to the charm. I liked everything about the place and the receptionist could give masterclasses in customer service. So much better than the most of the big brands and with free WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank accipitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights recently (Over New Year).
This is a really good old-fashioned hotel but don't let the phrase 'Old Fashioned' lead you to think that this is an old, crumbling establishment with drafty rooms and peeling paint - Quite the reverse!
Everything is of high quality, especially the bathrooms. The whole place is extremely well preserved and maintained with all the technological detail one would expect from any 5 Star property (Free WiFi as well!)

Front desk, concierge, bar/restaurant and housekeeping staff are all very well trained and polite - No complaints.
This hotel would have got 5 stars from me if it had not been for two factors which I believe could be rectified quite easily:

a) Our double bed was two singles locked together and the 'join' was most uncomfortable. Further to this, we were given two single quilts - I asked for a large double one and was told that the hotel didn't have any. This obviously makes me think that Austrians don't really like to cuddle-up when they sleep together!
This phenomenon is obviously not new to me in this part of the world but it's the first time I have been unable to get a bigger duvet.

b) The Hotel bar is called, 'Sketch' (It has lots of cartoons and sketches on the walls). It is a very comfortable area but is far too-brightly lit for any atmosphere at all and is not the place where one would spend too long at the end of an evening. It has a piano which was not used during our stay. In fact, we got back from a restaurant one evening at about 11.00pm and as usual decided to get a nigh cap in Sketch. So flat and quiet was the bar that we actually took the drinks to bed with us!

We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return one day - Hopefully to a full size quilt and a buzzing bar!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great stay at The Bristol after Xmas. A family run grand hotel so you get the luxury without the snootiness. Friendly staff throughout. Stayed in a big beautiful superior room or suite. Much better than the Sacher or Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 138 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing