We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg was charming and the Bristol was the icing on the cake.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Salzburg was charming and the Bristol was the icing on the cake.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at the Bristol Hotel for 2 nights with my spouse. We booked this hotel based entirely on TA reviews. Although I had my reservations about the hotel looking too antiquated, I was so glad we decided to stay here! Yes, it looks like an older building straight out of a classical era movie, but we didn't want for any modern amentities and were quite comfortable.

Likes: Location was wonderful - across the foot bridge from the old town with lots of restaurants nearby. Happy Hour - offered from 5-7pm, something we don't see much when traveling abroad. Breakfast was included and pretty good. The asthetic and ambiance were wonderful! Lots of gold leaf, padded velvet furniture, creaky floors, candle lit bar tables, ornate serving trays/utensiles and double entry doors (not sure what you call this) give this hotel a charming boutique quality. It doesn't even have that "old smell"!! Perhaps the best thing was the service. I recieved a prompt, friendly reply to a corrospondence for reservation confirmation and walking directions from the train station. The front desk and bar/breakfast wait staff were always friendly and helpful. I wish I would have caught the man's name who checked us out early on the morning of April 24th so I could thank him properly. He was chipper at 5:30 in the morning, he offered and made us an elaborate coffee service while we waited for our taxi, he offered to call the taxi company "just to check on it" (we were early), then he stood out front just to wave us off.

Dislikes: Don't really have any major ones. The bathrooms were very small and the amenities just so-so. But they are surrounded by mirrors and it makes them look/feel bigger than they are. They use old fashion big door key system (rather than card swipe) for thier rooms. Some may find this kind of neat, but some may not like carrying around the big keys. (Then again, the cards would definately NOT go with the rest of the decor, so there you go)

LOVED this hotel and I would absolutely stay here if ever in Salzburg again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandN129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    136
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
125
377
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glos
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. We were warmly welcomed and given excellent advice at once about car parking. We had a superior double room at the front with stunning views. The hotel (which has great character) is located right in the heart of Saltzburg. Breakfast was wide ranging and eggs could be cooked to order too. We had one evening meal in the restaurant and that was very enjoyable. We also took advantage of happy hour in the bar! Staff were very helpful at all times. Our room was refreshed regularly

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Warm welcome and very polite staff, excellent location in the centre of Salzburg, superbly appointed rooms, excellent breakfast - what more do you want from a hotel in the centre of one of Europe's great cities !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSurridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel, great service and rooms you never want to leave. The view are spectacular over the alps and the Monastery on top of the hill where Sound of Music was filmed...and actually happened!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diziynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the moment I got there it was a very welcoming experience. The front desk had several delightfully helpful people that called me by name the nights I stayed with them. They spoke English, as do many in Europe, and gave me hints on where to eat off the tourist trail which were all exceptional. They also arranged for a personal driver for me one of the days who took me to Berchtesgaden and the Eagle's Nest. Since we weren't on one of those big tour buses, he took me to several spots where he knew people that would give me the real flavor of the town and the times. As for the room -- it is not a modern style, but very comfortable and always a handful of the Mozart chocolates in the candy dish (by the way -- get ready for Mozart EVERYTHING if you go to Salzburg or Vienna). One item often overlooked in reviews is the outlet situation. This room had as many as you could handle -- I needed several - iPad, phone, laptop, and camera charger and they were all over the room with several right at the desk. It sounds surprising to tell you this, but SO many hotels either don't have many outlets or if they do, they're all taken up with hotel stuff -- lamps, TV, clocks, and other gizmos. My room overlooked one of Mozart's houses and a quiet square. There is a beautiful grassy park behind the hotel for walking and relaxing. And the main Salzburg attractions are but a 5 minute walk across the bridge. Also had a terrific view of the fortress so like going back in time. My room was very quiet and not sure if they all had them, but mine had a short double door area between the door to the hall and the doors to my room. That probably helped the sound but I just liked the way it made you feel going into the room. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzman7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a very nice stay in this hotel. Old world charm with a lof of history. A bit like going back in time. Absolutely fantastic location just opposite Mozart's birth place and within easy walking distance of all the sights.

Beds and bedding could be much better though as it did not really match the general quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We travelled here from Garmisch-Partenkirchen (down the Romantic Road) in December 2012, for 2 nights. We drove straight into Salzburg and found there to be quite a lot of traffic. After our drive in we didn’t drive again until leaving – opting to walk (there’s no need to attempt the drive). The Bristol was easy t find – we pulled up outside (alongside a one-directional traffic square) to empty our luggage but then opted to park in a nearby carpark (following the suggestions of other Trip Advisor reviews recommending that this is the cheaper option) and not the valet parking.
The hotel is lovely inside and has the service to match. We had booked a suite (a time themed room) and were not disappointed; it was absolutely massive and immaculate. It was possibly the best room we have ever stayed in (but equally the most expensive room!). There was a whole lounge area, which we didn’t really do justice, and a lovely bathroom (with nice toiletries). There was a welcome platter full of dried fruits, nuts and biscuits. It had a large and comfy bed and excellent free wifi. It was a rainy and freezing few days in Salzburg so returning to the hotel was most appealing!
The breakfast was fantastic – the biggest hot food choice we’d had over 9 hotel stays in Germany. We also spent some time in the bar in the evenings and the staff were always attentive.
There were only a few negatives: the hotel could be quite loud in the mornings; directly next to church bells which rang for ages, and the road at the front is a busy one. Because it is a large hotel it can’t offer the personalised turn down service you get in smaller boutique hotels (instead of knowing when you’re out they have to knock whenever which makes you less inclined to take up their offer when you’re present). Breakfast is a 10:30 end – which is quite early for a large hotel. The pictures on the website perhaps give a different impression to reality with regard to the location of the hotel (and the road in front).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cmkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing