We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Warm welcome and very polite staff, excellent location in the centre of Salzburg, superbly appointed rooms, excellent breakfast - what more do you want from a hotel in the centre of one of Europe's great cities !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkSurridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Bristol Hotel Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 694 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel, great service and rooms you never want to leave. The view are spectacular over the alps and the Monastery on top of the hill where Sound of Music was filmed...and actually happened!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diziynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the moment I got there it was a very welcoming experience. The front desk had several delightfully helpful people that called me by name the nights I stayed with them. They spoke English, as do many in Europe, and gave me hints on where to eat off the tourist trail which were all exceptional. They also arranged for a personal driver for me one of the days who took me to Berchtesgaden and the Eagle's Nest. Since we weren't on one of those big tour buses, he took me to several spots where he knew people that would give me the real flavor of the town and the times. As for the room -- it is not a modern style, but very comfortable and always a handful of the Mozart chocolates in the candy dish (by the way -- get ready for Mozart EVERYTHING if you go to Salzburg or Vienna). One item often overlooked in reviews is the outlet situation. This room had as many as you could handle -- I needed several - iPad, phone, laptop, and camera charger and they were all over the room with several right at the desk. It sounds surprising to tell you this, but SO many hotels either don't have many outlets or if they do, they're all taken up with hotel stuff -- lamps, TV, clocks, and other gizmos. My room overlooked one of Mozart's houses and a quiet square. There is a beautiful grassy park behind the hotel for walking and relaxing. And the main Salzburg attractions are but a 5 minute walk across the bridge. Also had a terrific view of the fortress so like going back in time. My room was very quiet and not sure if they all had them, but mine had a short double door area between the door to the hall and the doors to my room. That probably helped the sound but I just liked the way it made you feel going into the room. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazzman7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a very nice stay in this hotel. Old world charm with a lof of history. A bit like going back in time. Absolutely fantastic location just opposite Mozart's birth place and within easy walking distance of all the sights.

Beds and bedding could be much better though as it did not really match the general quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We travelled here from Garmisch-Partenkirchen (down the Romantic Road) in December 2012, for 2 nights. We drove straight into Salzburg and found there to be quite a lot of traffic. After our drive in we didn’t drive again until leaving – opting to walk (there’s no need to attempt the drive). The Bristol was easy t find – we pulled up outside (alongside a one-directional traffic square) to empty our luggage but then opted to park in a nearby carpark (following the suggestions of other Trip Advisor reviews recommending that this is the cheaper option) and not the valet parking.
The hotel is lovely inside and has the service to match. We had booked a suite (a time themed room) and were not disappointed; it was absolutely massive and immaculate. It was possibly the best room we have ever stayed in (but equally the most expensive room!). There was a whole lounge area, which we didn’t really do justice, and a lovely bathroom (with nice toiletries). There was a welcome platter full of dried fruits, nuts and biscuits. It had a large and comfy bed and excellent free wifi. It was a rainy and freezing few days in Salzburg so returning to the hotel was most appealing!
The breakfast was fantastic – the biggest hot food choice we’d had over 9 hotel stays in Germany. We also spent some time in the bar in the evenings and the staff were always attentive.
There were only a few negatives: the hotel could be quite loud in the mornings; directly next to church bells which rang for ages, and the road at the front is a busy one. Because it is a large hotel it can’t offer the personalised turn down service you get in smaller boutique hotels (instead of knowing when you’re out they have to knock whenever which makes you less inclined to take up their offer when you’re present). Breakfast is a 10:30 end – which is quite early for a large hotel. The pictures on the website perhaps give a different impression to reality with regard to the location of the hotel (and the road in front).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cmkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After a long flight from Toronto, Ontario Canada November 11, 2012, and a short picturesque drive from Munich to Salzburg, we arrived at the very warm, welcoming, friendly Hotel Bristol. We were given a top floor room with balcony over looking the fortress. The staff was customer service oriented furthermore the breakfast was excellent with a great assortment of traditional fare. Hotel was centrally located with walking distance to Altstadt (old city) . We are definitely returning someday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas as part of a Great Rail Journeys holiday. Lucky enough to have a beautiful room on the front with a balcony and the most superb views. It was also very quiet at night, Close to all of the sights and right opposite the Mozart Wohnhaus. Christmas Eve was spectacular with a band and readings, followed by dinner in the mirrored dining room - a totally fantastic room with mirrors and chandeliers. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast. The staff are friendly and efficient and the owner was much in evidence, keeping an eye on everything. Good to tell it's a family-owned and run establishment. Will definitely return, probably in the spring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front with a balcony
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $298 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing