We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You've got to see Salzburg! Great hotel for visiting Salzburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“You've got to see Salzburg! Great hotel for visiting Salzburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife, son, and I landed in Munich, and drove to Salzburg for a two day visit. We stayed at the Hotel Bristol. It was a fine, deluxe, hotel in an excellent location. We were happy we stayed here, really appreciated the staff, and loved the city. We’d come back.

We reserved a Luxury Suite. It had a nice master bedroom, a large living room, and posh bathroom. We could see peaks of the nearby Alps out our window. My 20 year-old son was accommodated on a rollaway bed. The room was much larger than I usually expect from European style hotels. We had good, free, wifi service. The hotel parked our car; we made a parking reservation, but the hotel found a public spot for us right outside the hotel and generously didn’t charge us for parking (thanks!).

The hotel is located on the Makartplatz. Also on this plaza is the Dreifaltigkeitskirche / Holy Trinity Church, the Classic Café (popular with local Salzburgers) and the Mozart Wohnhaus / residence. The hotel is only two blocks from the Salzach River and the Makartsteg pedestrian bridge over to the beautiful, baroque Altstadt / old city. We didn’t even get half way over the bridge before we stopped to take pictures of the striking Festung Hohensalzburg / Salzburg Fortress with the peaks of the alps in the background. Wow!

You can also see the many churches in the cityscape. We visited Salzberger Dom / Salzburg Cathedral, Franziskanerkirche / St. Francis Church, and Stift St. Peter / St. Peter's Abbey, where we had dinner at the famous Stiftskeller one of the oldest restaurants in Europe, dating back to 803.

We went shopping on the Getreidegasse, known for its many ornate signs; we found a store that sold local Schnapps, Austrian style jackets, and leather goods; we stopped for a drink at the plaza outside of Mozart’s Geburtshaus/birthplace. Really very nice.

The hill up to the Festung was very steep, so we decided to take the funicular. It was worth the 10e per person price; the view of the city was beautiful. The hotel was next to the Mirabell Gardens: we went for a self guided Sound of Music tour through the gardens; we attended a Mozart concert the Schloss Mirabell – it was fabulous! (Just so you know, there are Mozart concerts everyday throughout the city; walk around, you'll see the signs)

After the concert we took a taxi to the Augustinerbräu / Augustiner Beer Garden; we walked back along the river and couldn’t resist stopping for a slice of Sacher Torte at the nearby Sacher Hotel. The hotel is very close to the Linzergasse; the lane is sort of like Getreidegasse and one evening we went there for a light dinner at one of the outdoor cafes.

The drive from the Munich airport to Salzburg is pretty straight forward. We took A99 -> A8 -> A1. The road signs all said “Salzburg” on them so we knew were going in the right direction. Key point: when you get into Austria, you need to buy a toll sticker for your car called a Vignette for 8e (good for 10 days). Look for the signs at the Austria/Germany border, exit, park your car and go into the little building. It was quick and easy and the nice people spoke English.


This was a wonderful place to visit, made all the nicer by our hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel staff help was much appreciated. Tip for future visitors: for dinner reservations, conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    129
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
361
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Bristol Salzburg. The location was convenient for us, 5-10 minutes to get over the pedestrian bridge into the old town where most of the attractions and sites were. For the price, room was very nice, very big and comfortable. Room was quaint and amenities were good. The hotel actually had air conditioning, which may seem like a minor point, but coming from a week of travel through Germany where AC was non-existent and temperatures were high, that was a definite plus too. Breakfast is included.

Staff was courteous and we had a pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPhoenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed there over the May 5/6 weekend. Was given a nice sized room (by European standards)overlooking Makartplatz. This is my second visit to Salzburg and the central location of the hotel and the very helpful staff made all the difference. My first trip was with a tour group and we stayed at a hotel near the train station. Bristol is practically next door to the Mirabel gardens, so you can visit first thing in the morning before the tour groups arrive. Also within walking distance of the main tourist attractions like Hohensalzburg, Residenz palace, museum of modern art, the various churches. There is a bus stop close to the hotel where using the Salzburg card, one can take a bus to Hellbrun palace and the cable car to Untersberg.
The front desk staff was very helpful in booking my train ticket to Vienna. staff at the bar and restaurant were equally service-oriented.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odyssesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bristol for a weekend getaway. The room rates were reasonable for the type of hotel this is. Very nice and very romantic rooms. The doors the rooms were pretty cool, as I believe they were the original doors when this was a palace. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable king bed! You are across the street from the Mozart family home and across the river from the old part of town. Great spot if you want quiet at nice. Also has A/C

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. Cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ej8903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Five star location, suite, breakfast, deal and service.
Only complaint would be lingering smoke smell in suite
from air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Any Suite in hotel on second floor. Normal rooms looked to be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchestrapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

From the time we touched down in Salzburg airport we were amazed by the view of the mountains looming in the distance. Salzburg was the first stop in Austria and the cab ride to the hotel was smooth as well.

The hotel was perfectly situated near the old town and just in front of the bridge connecting you to old town. From the time we checked in, Frau made us feel very welcome. She explained the facilities of the hotel to us and even showed us the room. It opens up to the view of the fortress and the cathedrals. We loved the room and it was a very spacious room ( especially after our bad experience in Kensington hotel in London). Service is wonderful and I couldn't ask for a better area to stay in. Away from the bustle of the tourists in old town and yet close enough.

Every night we look out to sparkling Salzburg and I am glad I chose this hotel. The front desk manager Florian recommended Wilder Mann restauran to us and fd and atmosphere is fantastic.

Overall the location, service, bed, size of the room and personality of Salzburg reflected in the hotel, will let us remember Salzburg forever.

Thank you Frau and Florian for the superb service and smiles everyday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at The Bristol at the end of April with my mum as she was treating me for my 40th birthday pressie. I had seen previous reviews on TA and thought the hotel looked amazing, well the previous people had not been wrong. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were treated like VIP's. Christine on reception greeted us and gave us a quick history of the hotel, talked through where we were on the map, and the places to see and how to walk there. We also asked her about booking a Sound of Music Tour (our main reason for being in Salzburg), and she said that she could that for us and have the tickets ready that evening for us.
We were shown to our room, which was lovely. We had a superior double which was large enough for both of us. The only criticism we had was the lack of tea and coffee facilities, something us Brits miss when we are away from home. However we did have two complimentary bottles of champagne and some chocolates, I am guessing for my birthday, which was lovely.
Breakfast was a grand affair and I, like others, have put a photo on here of the breakfast as it was a sight every morning. we had everything we could possibly want, and were set for the day. The staff at breakfast were attentive without being overpowering, and the variety of food was superb.
As we were leaving, I asked to see a Suite, just in case I ever fancy taking my husband back for a weekend. We were shown one of the recently renovated ones, and it was gorgeous, well worth the money.
In all, The Bristol was all we expected and more. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and it was really nice to stay in a family run hotel in the middle of a beautiful city.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor looking out onto the square. The view was fantastic but the bells from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing