We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful old world hotel and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful old world hotel and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Hotel Bristol was in a fantastic location for our four day visit to Salzburg - close to the river and Mirabell Gardens, and short walk to the river. The room was spotless, beautifully appointed and very large, with a view from the front of the hotel across to the city centre and the Hohensalzbug Castle. The breakfast was extremely comprehensive and fresh, and served in a wonderful breakfast room by attentive and friendly staff. It was a real treat to start each day after a breakfast and service like this.
The reception staff were equally friendly and helpful - particularly in recommending and booking tickets a thrilling concert at the Mozarteum around the corner. Good service makes for a good hotel - and the Bristol has great service from Reception to Dining to Room staff.
The city centre is, of course, beautiful and easy to walk around - the Cathedral, funicular and Castle, many churches, Getreidegasse, Mozart's birthplace are all easily visited.
Make sure you buy the Salzburg Card, and don't miss the No. 25 bus trip to the Untersberg Mountain and the cable car ride to the top. An unforgettable visit, especially if there is no close cloud cover. Top all this off with the Sound of Music Tour and a visit to the salt mines, and you will have a great stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    119
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
112
321
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I don't write many reviews, but had to comment on this beautiful hotel in the charming city of Salzburg. It is old wolrd luxury style which is very charming, especially in this part of the world. Our room wass beautifully appointed with antique furnishings, a large luxurious bathroom (think Four Seasons/Ritz) and a great view onto the square in front of the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. We liked it so much we decided to stay for an extra night. The lovely receptionist recommended booking online through a 3rd party (Expedia, etc.) as their direct rate was significantly more expensive. Not a problem when they had a computer onsite for guests! We had the booking secured in minutes for 100 euro less than their direct booking rate. For dinner we tried a traditional Austrian restaurant one night which was great. The second night we went to St. Michael's restaurant which was excellent and set in a beautiful outdoor garden in what claims to be the oldest restaurant in Central Europe. They were hosting a "mozart" concert that evening which we caught the end of. I would recommend doing the full dinner/concert they offered - it was that good! We did the Frauline Maria bike tour which is an excellent way to see the city and brought us to all the Sound of Music sights as well as other noteable sites in the city. We loved Salzburg, just wish we had a bit more time to explore it and the surrounding areas of Austria and German. Truly a stunning part of the world!

Room Tip: if you are VERY sleep sensitive, ask for a room in the back. I am, but our room fast the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Prior to an organized museum tour of baroque and rococo churches and palaces in Bavaria and Franconia, I spent three wonderful days and nights in Salzburg with three dear friends who were also on the German tour. After much research, we decided on The Bristol and our selection was the right one. From the minute we checked in, the emphasis on customer satisfaction was obvious. Each of our three rooms was in a different category from single to deluxe double. All were beautifully done with large bathrooms, wonderful lavender bath products and crisp linens. All of the major sites of Salzburg are within walking distance and our boat transport to the water gardens of the fascinating 17th century Schloss Hellbrunn (do not miss under any circumstances) was just over the bridge from the hotel.

Everyone at the front desk was helful and charming and Christine stands out in particular. Amusing and witty, she sized us up immediately as serious tourists who also like a bit of fun. Nothing was too difficult for her to arrange - from our Sound of Music bus tour - another must do even if for Margaret Mead purposes only, to the recommendation of a local restaurant free from tourists - The Funny Monkey - just three blocks from the hotel which local musicians
frequent and where we savored dumplings stuffed five different ways, a treat that would lure me back to Salzburg.

During the days, our pursuits were serious - both Mozart museums, virtually every church, the residence, fortress, and the art and history museums. Back at the hotel from a busy day we were welcomed like old friends. Refreshed by a lavender bath, it was off to savor the culinary treats of the city. Other than the Funny Monkey, the St. Peter Stiftskeller provided a memorable evening of local dishes beautifully prepared and presented along with some noteworthy Austrian wines - a new discovery for all of us. And then there was the hotel buffet breakfast with every possible treat and variety to suit any taste.

We did examine the other top hotels in Salzburg to have a coffee or a drink and check out the competition. Our conclusion is that The Bristol is THE place to stay for charm, old world good manners, helpfulness, and happy memories to sustain one until the next visit.

Room Tip: Could not see that there were bad rooms. Even my friends single accomodation was absolutely charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Attingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Old school European with modern amenities. Huge, wonderful rooms. This may be my favorite hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Van M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands - uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Excellent position in central Salzburg. Lucky to get a free parking position immediately outside the hotel.
The hotel is very refined and with an air of old-school luxury. The wireless internet was free.
We had a room on the fourth floor with a restricted view, but the fittings were of excellent quality and the large bed comfortable. The air-con worked and was reasonably quiet.
Bit of a downside were the lifts. These are centrally located within the hotel and do clank a bit when they start up. If you happen to have a room adjacent to them it can keep you awake but it wasn't a serious problem. I think it affected us as we were in a room which was nearer than most. Didn't have an evening meal here but the breakfasts were great.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank datacell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Bristol a couple of nights while in Salzburg. Terrific location, underground parking is close by for 15 Euros a day, everything is close and within walking distance. We had a corner room, probably around 400-500 square feet on the second floor. Very quiet, air conditioned, very comfortable. In all, I would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurizio_and_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have been to Salzburg nine times now and stayed at a number of different hotels. The Hotel Bristol, while more expensive than any other I have stayed in, is definitely more luxurious than any other. There is a great choice at breakfast, and the views of Salzburg from the front 5th floor bedrooms were well worth the money! The last time I stayed here we had a much larger bedroom, so it is worth noting that the size of both the bedroom and the bathroom does vary greatly. However, the fantastic view from our room more than made up for it! Very handy for both sides of town and the Mirabell Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soundofmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 138 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing