We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here a while back for one week during a tour of Austria. Upon arrival, we were brought to our room which I was a bit let down with. I had booked a standard double room and was brought to something that was no where near what was pictured on the website. We went to ask if anything else was available, and we were immediately brought to a superior double room-which could have truly been called a suite-at no additional cost. They apologized, which was not even needed.
The included breakfast was phenomenal. I'll never forget the sausages, fyi! We loved it. The hotel helped us arrange a days drive to the Grossglockner glacier in the Alps. They were so helpful in arranging that for us.
We will definitely be bringing our family back to Austria and we'll definitely stay at the Bristol again. We did go into the Sacher also. Very nice, but for as luxe accommodations but a more comfortable feel-go with the Bristol.
It is a bit of a walk over to the old town, but its a lovely walk. However if you are only interested in old town attractions you'd probably prefer to be over there. Right next door to the Bristol however is the Mirabelle gardens and music hall, so there's still plenty to see right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    128
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
119
353
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Loved this very special Hotel and the wonderful, helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always keen to help and give advice on what to see and where to go.
The rooms were lovely, ours were looking over the park towards the fortress. Breakfast delicious and a large range of foods.The Hotel is very well situated, and we throughly enjoyed our stay (so much we stayed an extra night!!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHolidayFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife, daughters (ages 15 and 12) and stayed for two nights at the Bristol Hotel in Salzburg.

The main reason I chose the Bristol instead of the Uber-Austrian Sacher Hotel was that they both were highly rated, classic Salzburg Hotels in virtually the same perfect location...with a significant difference in price. I don't at all regret choosing the Bristol over the Sacher.

As is usually the case in Europe, traveling with four people required that we book two rooms. I requested the rooms be near each other and the hotel did a great job of putting us adjacent to each other. The rooms were each uniquely themed and decorated - adding the Austrian charm that we love so much. They were clean and very comfortably sized and both rooms had the double-door arrangement that keeps the corridor noise from the rooms...good thing because we were near the lift. The bathrooms were also nicely sized and equipped with bidets. The king consisted of two beds pushed together and was very comfortable. Finally, the weather outside was hot and the air conditioner worked great - keeping the Mozart-chocolates from getting soft!

The front desk staff was very helpful when inquiring about local attractions, restaurants and transportation and flawlessly arranged a driver to meet our family at the train station upon our arrival. After checking in, they always greeted us by name.

I find it interesting that the Bristol is still privately owned. In the days of cookie-cutter trained hotel managers and industry-wide standard practices it is refreshing to my mind knowing that somewhere lurking behind the busy staff is the proud and busy owner checking that everything is running smoothly his/her own way. The hotel is beautiful and the employees worked hard to ensure we had a nice stay. It almost felt like we were staying in a large, historic B&B.

As such, the Bristol lacks the Sacher's grandiosity and polish - and some travelers may miss that - but we prefer hotel with uniqueness and charm...which seems to be in large supply at the Bristol. We might be inclined to try the Sacher Hotel next time in Salzburg for a different experience but it wouldn't be for the Bristol's lack of appeal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Bristol Hotel is situated in Old town Salzburg, bus stop almost outside the entry and taxi stands 10 metres away for transport when needed. The Bristol is in walking distance to all inner city attractions , Mirabel Gardens behind the hotel catered for the early morning and evening walks. The interior is kept tidy and decorated in old style charm ...To take the Bristol Hotel from Good to excellent it could do with new carpet (a little stained and worn in rooms) and a few renovations plus a coat or two of paint would help). The service and staff were helpful and efficient. The location was the Bristols best point. When comparing Hotels in Salzburg city location, I would stay again in the Bristol if my first choice was booked out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mloborec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
237 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

American family with teens, two nights. Definitely try to book superior or higher room. well worth it. Had four room, two double and two superiors. Superiors make the room 4 -5 star, double is a 3 1/2 star w 6x7 bathroom, and standard small room. Superior is twice the size two bowl sink in BR with separate toilet. Main BR with antique furniture and crystal light fixture. Good breakfast, 5 star service though out hotel, and outstanding location to explore Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Top notch service. Beautiful hotel. Has a long and illustrious history. Situated very close to everything. The concierge and staff were extremely helpful. Our room had a veranda that overlooked a small park. In the morning we were awoken by church bells. One morning, we ordered breakfast and when it arrived it was a treat. Both the service and presentation of it were fantastic. It was a great morning to enjoy breakfast observing the hustle and bustle of an awakening Salzberg. This hotel isn't cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

After a few days in Vienna we took train journey to Salzburg - beautiful scenery en route. What a lovely city! We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Hotel Bristol - a real step back in time but a beautiful hotel. The hotel itself is in an excellent location - right in the middle of everything. It is a fantastic building and very well preserved. Staff were very attentive and friendly at all times. Booked excursions, recommended restaurants and very efficient. Ate in the hotel restaurant the first night - an absolutely culinary delight! First class food and first class service. Rooms were very comfortable and well airconditioned. Salzburg is a beautiful place to visit and this is a beautiful hotel to stay in - would definitely recommend it. A bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 137 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing