We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #12 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've stayed in several hotels in Salzburg, but this was the first time at the Mozart. From the first greeting upon entering, we received nothing but warm, hospitable service. To a person, all of the hotel staff were extremely helpful, whether providing assistance with the bags, giving directions or booking activities. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the train station, while being close enough to walk across the river to the Old Town. The breakfast was included and plentiful. I fully expect to stay here again and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    420
    99
    23
    7
See reviews for
246
511
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a corner room on the top floor. It was very light and spacious. The room was clean, it contained a fridge and an in-room safe. The safe was small and required a key from reception. Breakfast was good value.

One of the best features of the hotel is its location – an easy 10 minute walk from the train station, 3 minute walk from the pedestrian street (Linzer Gasse) and a 10 minute walk from the old town. It is also close to a grocery store (2 blocks from a Spar) and 2-3 minutes walk from an awesome laundrette (Norge Exquisit - very reasonably priced self-service or full service, the ladies in the laundrette were really helpful and efficient).

The reception staff were a mixed bunch – Amelie was very helpful and friendly, Arthur was helpful enough, not unpleasant. The ladies in charge of breakfast were always pleasant and helpful.

The wifi was not working during most of our stay (over a week-end) but it was fixed on the Monday. In the absence of wi-fi during the weekend, it would have been useful if the hotel had posted basic information such as weather forecasts somewhere central for guests.

The building is old. The floors were very creaky, there is no air conditioning so it is hot at night (despite closing curtains and opening windows during day), and there is a fair amount of street noise at night. There is no top sheet so, in the hot weather, it’s a choice of a warm duvet or nothing. The pillows were very big (traditional?) with no alternative pillows in wardrobe.

We recommend the restaurant in Linzer Gasse – Alter Fuchs – we visited twice and both times had delicious schnitzel and great service.

This is a great choice of hotel for its location and price. We enjoyed our stay but, if we returned to Salzburg in summer, we would consider staying in a more modern hotel with air conditioning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was traveling with a friend this past November and could not have asked for more in the Hotel Mozart. The staff is extremely friendly and was very helpful in providing information on everything from the best train lines/prices to the best options for attractions in Salzburg. The room where we stayed was honestly enormous for European standards (in addition to two beds, we had a small living room area in addition to the spacious bathroom). The view out the window was great, and the breakfast offered a lot of variety and options. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birzebbuga, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is nicely furnished and our room had a great view. The only negative thing is that the heater wasn't heating our room properly, although the temperature outside was below zero. It is about 10 minutes away from the train station and it is about 5 minutes away from the city centre. Rene, the concierge was great, he was very helpful and nice. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so I cannot comment on that. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a nicely furnished, clean room.The staff at the hotel was polite and helpful. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the Old Town. A continental b'fast was included.I can recommend this place to every traveller and would stay there again

Room Tip: A good place to eat in the Old Town is the Old Fox.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisbanetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Hotel Mozart ticked almost every box for us in Salzburg - it is located in the new town, so is much better value than the hotels in the old town, yet it is only 5 to 10 minutes walk away from that old town; the breakfast was very good; the front desk staff were very welcoming and always happy to advise and make restaurant bookings; the rooms were clean and well fitted out.
If anyone from the hotel is reading this, I would just ask for two small additions - a PC on the ground floor, for easy internet access and facilities in the room for making coffee and tea. However, we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HankEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay in. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location! Rene the concierge was great too! He was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful! After suggesting a restaurant, he would go out of his way to call the restaurant and set up a reservation for you so there would be a table ready by the time you arrived. Great customer service! The internet didn't work well on the higher floors but it worked great in the parlor area so it wasn't a problem. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
1,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Property: Hotel Mozart
Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 27, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in four-star luxury in Salzburg and look forward to lovely days in the cosy (70 beds) Hotel Mozart with its many appealing advantages. The rooms are furnished to the four-star standard with loving taste and style. Partial W-LAN Internet access, internet terminal in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Salzburg
Top Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing