We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, Decent Location, Comfortable Room, okay staff”
Review of NH Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Salzburg City
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and had a better than average stay. If you've read that the location is a bit of a distance from the train station, you've read right but it wasn't too bad. I didn't seem so far when mapped it on Google but since the Salzburg train station is in the middle of construction, there is on a few exits to get on the correct side of the tracks and dragging luggage from the train to the hotel was a huge pain for us.

Overall our stay was pleasant. The room was very comfortable, modern, and clean. The rooms have dark wood flooring and had lots of space. Our room even had a small loveseat couch that pulled out to a twin size bed if we needed it. Bathrooms were clean and there was tons of space by the doorways for luggage and storage.

However, location was pretty good. One street over running parallel to the mountain, is mostly pedestrian with tons of little cafes, shops, and restaurants. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Mirabell Palace and about a 10-15 minute walk to the city center.

Staff was kind of unpleasant. Not terribly rude but not very helpful either. They acted as if they had better things to do and didn't want to bother with customers. This was pretty much my only gripe about the hotel. If somehow they could improve the staff's attitude, it would be a great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luliu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

I loved staying here for a few nights during September with my partner. Room was so cute, clean, modern. Reception staff were exceptionally friendly, down to earth. Bar/restaurant area was modern and stylish.

The food in the restaurant is gorgeous, bit on the pricey side but worth it! 5 mins walk to main river and attractions including gardens... you just have to explore, its so great! I didn't have a map of Salzburg but just walked everywhere, and every corner and passageway is unique, where little gems like tiny boutique shops, pubs, restaurants
await.

My only concern was the slow internet, Internet Explorer 6 and small screen resolution. The computers need to be upgraded.

Other than that I would love to stay here again. Austria (Salzburg) is an absolute must see!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to tick most boxes, however I would probably try a different place next time. It was in a good location -only 10mins walk to the old city, however it was a long walk from the train station. We decided to walk from the station with our suitcases etc, and found it to be a little far, so Id recommend a taxi!
The pros - the computers in the foyer to use the internet, and the size of the room. The negatives -terrible showerhead, and unreliable air-con (kept shutting off during the night -not ideal during European summer!). Breakfast was not included, however their are plenty of options closeby.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Gilly83Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed at NH Salzburg for 3 nights. Decent location 10 minutes from the old town and steps away from Linzergasse. King-size bed was two beds pushed together, and "hardwood" laminate floors were quite noisy. Walls were pretty thin and many noises could be heard from other rooms. All of this was tolerable until our final night, when a guest(?) on our floor was locked out of a room and decided to bang on a door and yell intermittently for several hours. Free Internet access was a plus, but based on what we saw of Salzburg, there are likely better lodging options.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is in a good central location within a 5 minute walk of the centre of Salzburg.
However the hotel itself is a little bit lacking in quality given the price they charge.

The room itself was a decent size with good comfy beds, however the safe in the room was broken, the shower didn't work too well and the room was located next to the lift which you could hear each time it was being used!

We did not have breakfast given the 16 euros each seemed slightly excessive! Also on departure we were charged twice for the car parking, something unfortunately I did not notice till we got home !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirlNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We really appreciated the A/C during the heat wave and the location was great for exploring both the old city centre and Mirabel gardens. The staff was friendly and helpful and we used their public computers to access the internet. The rooms are efficiently comfortable, quiet, and very clean with a free parking garage that was greatly appreciated after trying to find parking in other cities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Not sure how new it is, but looks and feels brand new. AIR CONDITIONING (our first during two weeks of heat wave). Nice breakfast. Nice, large bathroom with hair dryer. In room safe. Bar staff happy to give you a stein of ice for your room. Dinner nice. Staff very helpful and helped us find a night pharmacy in old town. We were thrilled with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salzburg City

Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 26 | Altstadt, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $94 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, NHHotels, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your NH Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotels Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing