We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, no frills, but comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Salzburg City
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kent
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location, no frills, but comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days while exploring Salzburg. Situated in the New Town (i.e. 18th century onwards!) it was just a short walk to the river and the Old Town (5 mins max). Friendly, helpful staff, though it might help to have multi-lingual staff on reception.Lovely young lady was very helpful in setting our safe (no written instructions available which needs to be rectified) and bought us tea and coffee making facilities once she had our needs translated, and she smiled too, which made such a difference. Room was clean, beds comfy, though rather mobile if one sat down awkwardly! Bathroom was clean and shower/ bath easy to operate, though the screen made it a bit difficult to get into and out of the bath. TV is old, as previously commented upon, and stations for English speakers restricted to news channels which frequently broke up. We do not use Wifi, we have never felt the need to be in constant contact with everyone in our address book..... we are on holiday! Spent every breakfast enjoying the wonderful array of hot and cold food, watching just about every other couple/ singleton playing on their smart phones or other electronic equipment; we prefer to talk to each other, much more satisfying!
Reception only seemed to be busy when large groups were checking in or out and were very helpful and enthusiastic with local restaurant suggestions that they had enjoyed.
This is not a fancy boutique hotel, nor is it in the luxury bracket. It does what it says on the packet and did it very well for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    652
    252
    70
    39
See reviews for
255
690
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small with a small reception and dining room. No tables spare at breakfast and had to stand in line for far too long to check out. The free internet was very slow so I paid for 'faster' connection which it was not. The TV was old and not a good selection of channels if you were not German/Austrian. It seemed a but faded and in need of some investment to freshen it up. However, the staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean. I would not choose to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Ideally situated, this hotel is around the corner from a pedestrianised street full of cafes, restaurants and interesting shops, that leads down to the river bridge and, across to the old city.

We had a superior room which was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The bedrooms were in need of updating. The velour headboards were dirty, the furniture in the room was chipped, and the grouting in the bathroom was dirty (not to mention the stray long hair stuck to the side of the door frame). The toiletries, replenished daily, reminded me of fruity washing up liquid. It was nice to have a complimentary pair of slippers to shuffle around on the wooden floor but I was disappointed to find that my bathrobe had, what looked like, two gun shot holes in the back.

Outside of our room, the scarlet carpets had seen better days and the lifts could have done with a good vacuum.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukey2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I was there on business only for a night. Very nice and helpful receptionist but they have me a very small room. I was disappointed but I guess they were fully booked. However they should have consider my size.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashnavadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The breakfast here is phenomenal!! The rooms were cleaned every day with new towels and complimentary toiletries. There is heating and air conditioning. The carrot ginger soup for dinner was great, but the breakfast is amazing. Multiple kinds of eggs, a wall of pastries, bowls of fresh fruit and granola, an espresso machine, juice, champagne, everything you could ever want.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Reminded me of a Travelodge in the 1980s. Basic. Minimal staffing. Sound. But no frills.
Entrance looks good. (Recent make-over?) BUT where's the lounge and comfy chairs. OK it's got computers and free wifi, but that's like standard these days. Bar is mainly dining chairs and tables, a few slightly more comfortable plastic chairs in-between the bar and the restaurant. But you wouldn't want to "lounge" for long.
Usually a queue at reception, which could be very slow. (And read the small print: check-in is 3pm) Usually no queue at the bar, but then no staff to be found and limited bar stock. Restaurant/Breakfast area has sparse staff BUT, they do manage to keep the breakfast bar well stocked, but are hard to find if you need, say, a pot of coffee. A machine will dispense something almost, but not exactly, similar to coffee, if you prefer, or get tired waiting for the real thing. We did B&B, but those who bought breakfast said it was expensive, IF they could find someone to pay – a real moral dilemma for the American clergy who were only booked in for bed and not breakfast and couldn't find anyone to pay!
Corridor spaces are ok upstairs, but nothing to write home about. Lifts were quite fast. Rooms are superficially clean, but ours had defects in terms of broken tiles around the shower, a shower head that kept drooping and plenty of ancient dust under the bed. TV channels were not as advertised: a notice asked guests not to reprogram the channels but this was clearly ignored, making channels hard to find. Fuzzy picture. Occasional loss of satellite signal.
Rooms had no chain on the inside and one lunch time our locked room was invaded by a man waving a card saying: “sorry – wrong room”. Very Worrying!
Wifi free for 24 hours then you had to pay (or pick up another voucher from reception for slow access) Frequent drop-out of slow connection.
All-in-all, I will never stay at an NH hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean and average size for Europe. It could use more storage and the location is almost remote. That being said we found the staff to be very accommodating. We had an issue with the safe and the front desk person accompanied me to the room. Dinner was wonderful and our waitress was very good. I read unfavorable comments but I can't agree. Housekeeping was good too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.1 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salzburg City

Property: NH Salzburg City
Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 26 | Altstadt, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotels Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing