We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, Functional and Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Salzburg City
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simple, Functional and Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at NH Salzburg for 2 nights in January. It was clean, simple and good value for money. The location is great, only a short walk to the old town, and walking distance from the train station/bus station (although I wouldn't recommend walking if you have a lot of luggage)

One negative is that they advertise that they have a fitness centre, so, having booked on the basis of having a useable fitness centre, we were disappointed to find that this was only a (very old) exercise bike and a rowing machine, overlooked by 2 deck chairs in the basement.

The service was acceptable, but nothing to write home about. Check in/front counter service was slow, but all in all it was fit for purpose. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again, but I wouldn't discourage people from staying here either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katewitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    636
    246
    67
    38
See reviews for
245
673
50
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English.

Our room was large with a beautiful arched window looking out on a nice view over the snowy rooftops and a very large, comfy bed. The free robes and slippers were a nice touch and the toiletries were better than normal hotel toiletries. There was also a travel bag in the bathroom which included things like a sewing kit, shower cap, exfoliating sponge, hairbrush, toothbrush and paste and plenty of extra toiletries.

We were left a complimentary large bottle of water as well as some MozartKugeln which was a nice touch.

Tip- our air con unit kept switching itself on....we tried switching it off but it either wouldn't switch off or kept coming back on 5 minutes later. We rang room service who told us that it needs to be switched the coldest temperature on the dial as well as switching it off....so bear that in mind :)

Great little location, 10 minutes walk from the Old Town and also 2 minutes walk to a Spar shop (where things like MozartKugeln are much cheaper) Also close to Mirabell Gardens etc

Room Tip: try get a room higher up for nicer views across rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Never been to such a dirty hotel. No towels, dirty sheets, no one to complain with. Expensive, no heating at all. The bathrooms are old and creepy. The elevators are very few and the smell in the corridors was unbearable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaliaAustriaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Every time i visit Salzburg i stay at NH. I like the central location, next to the inner city not far from Kapuzinerberg and Schloß Mirabel.

Staff is very nice, rooms are modern and clean.
I prefer to celebrate the breakfast, and the breakfast meets all my expecations, good and diversified.

In summary it can be said, that this charming hotel that is a good starting point for Salzburg sigthseeing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fpachner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great location and only 15 minute walk to the old city center,with lots of restaurants to choose from. Staff were friendly and rooms were comfy. Free internet is available via a username and password, but the connection I found was very slow. Not a big issue but worth noting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was centrally located (Salzburg is not very big though). The rooms were decent sized. The front staff was friendly. However, there were many noticible things lacking about this hotel. For instance, the hotel was understaffed and there was always a line. Housekeeping hours were limited. There was no concierge and the front staff brought up any housekeeping items that were needed. There was no bellhop. The restaurant was not open all of the time (kept odd hours) and you couldn't even grab a cup of coffee when you wanted one. Housekeeping was not very thorough. They forgot our wake up call once. The rooms were loud (housekeeping was loud, the doors slammed very loudly, and the walls were paper thin). The beds were inconsistent. My husbands side (double bed here means two twins pushed together) was great and my side was super lumpy. Ladies, make sure to bring your own conditioner and the blowdryers were not very good. Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again unless they offered some outrageous deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of the Train station and Old Town (where the shopping is). The beds are really comfy. Free Internet is provided, but you have to get a new username and password from the front desk every 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLRego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#44 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#6 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salzburg City

Property: NH Salzburg City
Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 26 | Altstadt, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and NHHotels so you can book your NH Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotels Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing