We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Elefant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Am Dom(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stein(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (884)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveler rating
466
315
72
24
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
315
72
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townpedestrian areabreakfast roomattached restaurantmozart's birthplaceseparate sitting areasmall elevatorhotel restaurantcentral locationparking garagetrain stationsmall hotelsuperior roombreakfast was includedshopping streetbed was very comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 884 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Our family of 5 stayed for 2 nights in 2 rooms. Our teens room was rather small and worn. The third bed was a sleeper chair that was made into a bed that proved to be rather uncomfortable. The a/c in this room worked well which was the only good thing going for it. Our room was very worn looking as well. The couch had strings coming off of it and the carpet was stained. The a/c didn't work well in our room at all. Of all 8 of the hotels on our European trip, this was our least favorite because of the rooms. The rest of the hotel was nice. It was hard to understand why the rooms were not kept up. This was the most expensive hotel stay on our trip and we did not feel like we got our money's worth in quality. All of our other hotels were smaller and some older, but much nicer, especially for the money. We only chose this hotel because it had air conditioning, but we would not choose it again.

The breakfast was average compared to all of the others.

We went on the sound of music tour offered by Bob's tours. Our tour vehicle was a mini van with a taxi sign on it. We weren't sure if this guy was really our tour guide, but he was. He also picked up another family of three making our van packed for the 4 hr tour. The guide had no personality. We were so excited about going on this tour, but we were very disappointed with it. It was the only tour on our entire trip that we felt was a not worth the time and money. There was a lot of driving and looking out the window with just a few stops. The other family felt the same way and were happy when it was over as well.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank travelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Just back from a two night stay at the Elephant.First of all , let me tell you that Austria is a beautifull country and the area around Salzburg is no exemption.Now, to the Elephant.First of all, in order to get to the hotel on one try you need to have an IQ greater than 155, which I do not have .The GPS in our rental did not work in the old town. I had to leave the car and look for the place.After some begging on my part to the front desk, a very nice lady from the restaurant went with us and guided us to the hotel.
The hotel room itself was very nice , although a little dated with wornup carpets and the little smell that goes with that.
In terms of the whole experience , the town of Salzburg along with the hotel personell needs CPR. The town is practically dead after 10 PM and so are the hotel staff most of the time.I think that they try to be nice but somehow they can not.We were promised to have some laundry done in less than 24 hrs. and after 48 hrs. and us having to leave it was still not done.
I do not think that I would be back to Salzburg, but if I do, I would probably try somewhre else.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank doctorrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

This was one of the last stops on our honeymoon. Once we found the parking garage for the hotel, we decided to walk to the hotel from the garage. We are glad we did! The walk was not too bad with our rolling lugage, and it looked like we would have had difficulty driving our car up to the hotel, and then getting back out of the pedestrian zone to the parking garage.
The staff was all exceptionally friendly, and spoke English very well. We booked a couple of tours through the hotel, and received some good advise about where we needed to shop to replace some personal items that were lost in some luggage.
The buffet breakfast was OK - just your basic cereals, breads, bacon and eggs. However, it was nice not to have to pay an additional charge for breakfast!
Overall, if you are interested in staying in the heard of Salzburg for a reasonable price, this is an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank txs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed at the B/W Hotel Elefant for 4 nights in mid-June for 110€/night for a”Double Bed,Deluxe Quality Room,Airconditioned”. The reservation was made directly on their internet site using the “best rate” and included all taxes and breakfast. Parking is not included in this rate and is a ten minute walk from the hotel at the main parking lot B. The 14€/night rate is reduced to 11€ by the hotel.

The hotel is located in the center of the historic district. As a result finding the hotel with our car turned out to be a nightmare. The number of one-way streets and a lack of signage make the driving in Salzburg especially difficult. Add to that the impatient local drivers and you have quite an unpleasant experience. We were told to drop off our bags at the hotel and then proceed to the parking lot. It is true that we saw cars driving down the pedestrian street directly to the hotel but the tiny, winding streets seemed unmanageable. We ended up parking in main lot B and then walking the 10 minutes to the hotel with our bags. It probably would have been simpler to stay in the new town but that area did not seem very attractive.

As we walked into the hotel we were greeted by a rather dated reception area. Thus, we were nicely surprised upon reaching the other public areas and our room. The reading room and breakfast room are elegantly decorated and filled with comfortable furniture. The halls have interesting antiques and sitting areas. Our room was especially impressive. First you walk into a small vestibule area; here you can hang your jackets and there is an offered umbrella. Off this room is a powder room with a toilet and a small sink. From the vestibule you proceed into the bedroom. This room is divided into 2 parts; the sitting-room/closet area, and the bedroom area. The sitting-room area has a couch, a small coffee table and a mirrored dressing table. On one wall is a large cherry wood built-in wardrobe/closet with a center space containing glass shelves, a 19 inch plasma type TV, free safe, and a small fridge. There were three English stations including CNN. Free broadband internet was offered in the room as well as robes and slippers.

In the bedroom area were two side-by-side comfortable twin beds with 2 side tables. Off this area was the large bathroom. Since the toilet was in the powder room this bathroom had a large sink and wonderfully modern glass tubular shower. All the walls and surfaces were finished in sparkling new marble and bright chrome fixtures. We loved these bathrooms. The view from the window was of the wall from the adjacent building. At first I was disappointed by this because I had asked for a room with a view. But, the room was so quiet and comfortable I did not want to chance changing for something less desirable.

The breakfast was a very complete buffet with a large assortment of hot and cold dishes. Fresh squeezed orange juice was an especially welcomed touch. There was a machine which made delicious cappuccino or espresso if you did not care for the provided coffee. The breakfast room was comfortable and nicely decorated although a bit too bright.

In conclusion we loved the Elefant. Getting there by car is a real headache but once we arrived all was forgiven. The room was large and comfortable. The location is perfect for experiencing historic Salzburg. The breakfast buffet was something we looked forward to each morning.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank InMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

If you enjoy staying in the centre of the old town, this hotel is perfect. The room was large, clean and very comfortable, the breakfasts self serve and plenty of variety. An added bonus was free internet connection in a lovely quiet room near the breakfast room. Walk to everything in the old part of town. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarbSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews