We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
$198
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$389
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$138
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imlauer & Brau(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
$193
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
$376
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
$198
$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$486
$450
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$568
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$628
$458
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveler rating
485
332
75
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
332
75
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townpedestrian areaattached restaurantbreakfast roommozart's birthplacesitting areasmall elevatorhotel restaurantcentral locationparking garagetrain stationthe main shopping streetsuperior roombreakfast was includedsmall hotelair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 924 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2017

This was my second stay at Hotel Elefant and again it was as wonderful as I had remembered. The location is excellent and can't be beat; easy to walk everywhere but also quiet by 10pm when the majority of the tourist groups are gone. The rooms are clean and spatious and the breakfast was the best out of the three hotels we stayed at over our 2 week vacation. The restaurant on the ground floor is also very good and convenient if you are tired or the weather isn't great out (We had quite the rainstorm one evening at dinnertime and had a lovely dinner in their dining room).

Room Tip: higher level floors away from street are quietest
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Isaboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, 2 rooms for our family vacation in Salzburg. The Elefant hotel is a delight, very comfortable rooms, beds. Perfectly clean, and for this summer trip, the AC cooled ours rooms as much as necessary.

The breakfast was quite fresh - fruits, croissants, breads - with plenty of room in the dining area.

Special thanks to Monika who clearly communicated our booking ahead of time, and was so pleasant and informative during our stay. When we return for the Christmas markets, Hotel Elefant will be our choice!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Family_of_4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

My wife and I had enjoyed staying at Hotel Elefant a few years ago, so when we returned to Salzburg with our kids, it was our first choice.

We had two room on the same floor, which was convenient. Our first night there, we had the AC cranked to its lowest, 19°C, but it was hot in the room, barely sleepable. I spoke with the manager the next morning and asked him to have someone look into it. When we returned from sightseeing that day, the rooms were blissfully cool. I'm guessing that the AC units weren't actually activated, but were simply blowing air around, that first night. Salzburg was going through a warm spell while we were there, so the AC was very welcome. Thanks again to the management.

Aside from that, the beds were comfortable, breakfast was well-stocked and delicious (especially the kaiser rolls) and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The WiFi was reasonably fast, and didn't require logging in repeatedly, as we've found at some other hotels.

The best feature of the Elefant remains its location, just off the main stretch of Getreidegasse, perfect for shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Flenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Our daughter-in-law booked us into this very nice hotel which we enjoyed very much. In these old hotel buildings some don't have adequate air conditioning or an elevator, Elephant has both which are highly functional. Really accommodating staff with very good English skills, an excellent breakfast, included, and your right in the middle of Salzburg. We had a large room with an adjoining bedroom for three of us, very plesant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

Great location, really comfortable beds and very helpful staff both in reception and in the breakfast room. Location was amazing right in the middle of the old town and close to everything. There is a really nice bar underneath that seems to be a separate entity.

Room Tip: Ask about parking discounts in the public car park nearby
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews