We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location with Austrian flavor”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

You could not find a more centrally located, yet quiet hotel or a friendlier more efficient staff. Our 5th floor room was spacious with a balcony and separate sitting room. We never had time to watch tv, but there was one in each room. We enjoyed staying ther so much, we opted for an extra night and were moved to another room. This was a large bedroom with sitting area and plenty of storage. The toilet was in a separate room from the shower, so we had 2 sinks. The only minus was the windows looked directly at a blank wall. The hotel has two restaurants and outdoor seating. I highly recommend the pumpkin soup and Gruner Veitliner!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artini52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 869 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Hotel Elefant is perfecty located in the heart of the old city, within walking distance of everything. Room was large, a mini-suite really with a separate sitting area, two televisions, large bathroom and plenty of closet space. Staff were friendly and helpful and the included buffet breakfast was excellent, with a nice selection of hot and cold dishes. I would highly recommend the Hotel Elefant - great value for money in a great location. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to this charming city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINYKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Hotel Elefant is in the middle of "Old Salzburg". Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff from the kitchen/waitstaff to the front desk. The breakfast was our best in Europe. The first morning, they ran out of orange juice. The kitchen staff squeezed fresh oranges for us and brought a whole pitcher! Rooms had air conditioning, comfortable beds, clean and pleasant view to the pedestrian walkway below. Hotel VERY hard to find when driving as it is in a pedestrian only area. Directions/information on reaching the hotel were not provided when reservation was made; GPS not helpful either. After driving in circles, we ended up parking in a plaza and walking to find hotel. Confusing and frustrating at the end of a long day of travel; however, Hotel Elefant is worth it - just plan ahead and plan to park and walk to find hotel. Would stay with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We picked the hotel based on its location and comments made by former guests. It delivered a memorable stay over our 4 day visit. The service provided was thorough and very helpful. We arrived before our room was ready(we were early) but our bags were immediately placed in the room and we adjourned to the restaurant for a light lunch.
The staff made many helpful suggestions for our visit and we used their guidance for trips to book given the prevailing weather conditions. The Hotel has a very genuine old world charm and the rooms are all different to some extent. its position in the middle of the old town means a car can be forgotten as everything is so close at hand.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Very well located hotel, people are realy nice and welcoming. Rooms are small, bathrooms are even smaller...sometimes not too clean (hairs left in shower).
Good place to go for a short stay, but not for more than 1 pr 2 nights

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyricdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Elefant for two nights in late June. The location was fantastic - right in the middle of the old town. The room was an odd shape but incredibly comfortable. The staff were really helpful, very professional and obliging. Breakfast was plentiful, there is a free computer in the very comfortable lounge room for internet access. The Hotel Elefant was a great choice for us and we would happliy recommend it again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel couldn't be in a better location. Right in the heart of the city and an easy walk to anything you want to see. We were driving from Prague and had a pretty good map. We ended up driving around and around the city, unsure of how to get into the pedestrian area to the hotel. We ended up parking the car by the museum and walking to the hotel. The woman at the front desk was extremely friendly, helpful, and made us feel very welcome. She gave a great map of how to find the parking. She even called the tour we had booked for the following day to double check our reservation and arrange for them to pick us up.

Room was typical European size. I was traveling with my mother, and we both fit okay. Bathroom was modern and updated. Bed was comfortable. I was glad they had air conditioning because it was a little humid. We slept with the window open one night, which was a mistake. Woke up to people talking and laughing at 4:30am and the garbage pick-up at 6:30am.

Some recommendations for Salzburg: The Mozart dinner was fantastic. The dinner was great and the opera singers were sensational. There is also a cemetery by the funicular up to the fortress. The most beautiful cemetery I've ever seen and worth a stroll through. Even if The Sound of Music isn't your favorite move, go on the tour. They take you into the lakes and mountains region which is stunningly beautiful. Our guide, Jan Peter, was fun and it made for a great morning. We bought some meats, cheeses, and peppersweets from a stand in the market and it was a great snack and cheap!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewelinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $112 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing