We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Incredible location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Indio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Great value and incredible location right in the old town city center. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was modern.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaYothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    259
    62
    19
    3
See reviews for
136
399
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mons-Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We had a wonderfull stay in this hotel, lovely room (suite upgrade for our wedding anniversary), great breakfast & central location. Walking distance from every point of interest. Great view from our little balcony. We'll come back for sure

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliaslili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Elefant for two nights. We were booked into a double room on the third floor. Although the room itself was a bit dark, it hand ample space with an small foyer, a sitting area and two single beds. Lots of storage for our luggage. The bathroom was quite spacious (European standards) and I loved the facts that the bathroom had a window that allowed lots of fresh air and bright sunshine!

Breakfast was fantastic - cereals, breads, pastries, meat (including bacon) and lots of fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Very nice appointed breakfast room as well.

Hotel offered free internet access (and access to a computer) in its sitting room on the second floor. This was very helpful to keep in touch with friends and family at home and do additional research and bookings for the remainder of our travels.

Location of the hotel on pedestrian street in the heart of old Salzburg was perfect! Also enjoyed the inside stairs of the hotel - much easier to run up and down versus waiting for the elevator.

Recommendations while in Salzburg

- Sacher torte or streudel on the patio at Hotel Sacher, overlooking the River Salz. You can even take the torte to go in their beautiful packaging!
- Visit the salt store located in the square where the open market takes place - Seasoned salts - great, compact gifts to carry home
- Take in a Mozart chamber music concert at the Mirabell Palace. The palace is a nice walk across the river.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravel-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiden, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

we wanted to see salzburg and went down there the weekend of 13th/14th of feburary. we have 2 small children, two boys, aged 2 1/2 years and then 4 month.
the guy at the reception was very very helpful cause we couldnt find the way to the hotel and called 3 times!

you really can drive down the pedestrian area, even if the people give you nasty looks, just dont look and go ahead, cause the hotel is right in a little alley in the downtown area and you have to go through the pedestrian zone to unload your car!

anyways, we were suprised that the rooms were so new and so very clean! we could go right outside and just be at mozarts house in just 2 min down the road!! there were restaurants and plenty of shopping right there and its so handy to not go on a subway or bus when you have 2 kids, its great to just go back into your hotel to rest a little and then go on with the sightseeing..

every sightseeing like the fortress is also just a 10 min. walk away from the hotel so everything we wanted to see was right outside our door..

its actually the same hotel where the real maria van trapp stayed, that one from sound of music, they have her check displayed when she was there in the 1980s.

overall its a great hotel and we can recommend it to everyone! the breakfast is very good as well and a lot to choose from.

i would go back there if we would go to salzburg again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boysmumGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
198 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Having stayed at much more expensive Salzburg hotels ("Goldener Hirsch", "Sheraton") we were very satisfied with "Elefant". The location of the hotel is even better than the one of the before mentioned properties: right in the centre of Salzburg's Old Town around the corner from Getreidegasse, Universitätsplatz with its nice farmers market and just a few steps to "Café Tomaselli".

We booked an "oversized room" for a mere 109 EUR per night including breakfast which meant a large "old world charme" (old world inhabitants would call it a little outdated) bedroom with double bed, couch, flat screen TV, mini bar, A/C and easy chair, a modern bathroom with shower and a small anteroom with wardrobe. The anteroom with a door to the bedroom made the room particularly quiet. The only sound to be heard came from a family with two toddlers running around above us from 8 a. m. until 11 p. m. which was quiet annoying because of the wooden floors and ceilings that transmitted the noise very well, but which "normal" neighbours you shouldn't have any problems.

Oddly enough, the power and LAN cable sockets for the free highspeed internet were not located near the desk but in the opposite corner of the room above the luggage rack. This problem was solved by a long, long LAN cable supplied by front desk.

Big downpoint (as mentioned by others before) was the breakfast: not too much of a choice (not even very well re-stocked), medium to low quality cold cuts and cheeses. Even on Sunday, it is served just until 10 a. m. The breakfast room was quite attractive, nonetheless, and the scrambled eggs were clearly not pre-fabricated.

Another disappointment was dinner at the hotel's restaurant serving mediocre local dishes. Pay a little extra and go the "Goldener Hirsch" 's "s' Herz'l" where they served Austrian cuisine as it is to be.

Apart from those two culinary complaints, I can highly recommend "Best Western Hotel Elefant" to every tourist visiting beautiful Salzburg.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel and was impressed. I was expecting an average dated hotel but was surprised to find a good hotel of good quality. The rooms were very spacious and had a sitting room, good bathroom and very clean. The location is great inside the walls in the old town. You can drive in with the car unload and then go and park. The hotel is very good in assisting with parking.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheW0rldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

This small hotel is in the Old City (Altstadt). It is not the easiest to find at night so before you go, it is recommended that you get directions. You will be able to unload your bags at the hotel and then you will have to park you car in public parking which is about a ten minute walk. However, once you park your car you won't need it until you leave.

The hotel is in an excellent location - a block from the Mozart Museum, a 1/2 block from the market, 3 blocks from the Salzburg Museum.

The hotel itself may be in a old building but it is very well kept. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful - never rude and always accomodating.

The rooms are extremely clean - the bathrooms were spotless. We were a party of three - one single and a large double. The single is small - if you can, upgrade to a double. Each room is well appointed - safe, television, radio, plenty of towels, and spotless. The only thing that it did not have was an iron but you can call down to the desk to get one. The hallways were clean, clean, clean - no dust or dirt. The elevator is small - so just expect it and don't be surprised. The heating was good and there were extra blankets if you needed them.

Our room price included breakfast which was very plentiful - eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cereals, etcetera. Again, this area was very clean.

Would I stay at the Elefant again? Yes - only the next time I would eat dinner at the hotel - the restaurant was hopping both days that we were there and diners said that the dinners were excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank mccscrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing