We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully quaint”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is a delight. Small, quaint, charming and very old fashioned. I enjoyed my stay here and will surely come back. The staff is very courteous and the room and toilet is good. The atmosphere is quite good, too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 857 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here only one night. We booked 2 rooms for 1/6. Both rooms were very comfortable and inviting. The location was in the old town centre, which we loved. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Hopefully, we'll visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at Hotel Elefant. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was clean and the breakfast was delicious. We requested a quiet room and, bless their hearts they did give us a quiet room. It was an interior room facing a two foot wide, building enclosed opening. Needless to say, it was dark and dundgeon-like. The room was very small and inefficiently and awkwardly designed. The room was hot and stuffy and the air conditioner just could not keep up...and it was the first of June. We used a fan to supplement the a/c after the first miserable night. While breakfast was very good, I would pass on dinner. We ate in the restaurant our first night and ended up leaving most of our dinner. If I were going back to Salzburg or giving a recommendation on a hotel, I would, sadly, not choose Hotel Elefant. I had great expectations for this hotel and was let down....maybe the good reviews are from people who reserved the most expensive rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lv2trvl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Location was superb! In the heart of old town. Very spacious room. The breakfast buffet was delicious. Taxi ride from train station was 8 euros. We stayed three nights and we walked everwhere. All the sights, restaurants, and tour pickups were minutes from hotel. Highly recommend the hotel. Very helpful staff and everything was so clean.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
25
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Great customer service. Wonderful location. It is walking distance From just about everything, shopping, The birth place of Mozart, restaurants. Beautiful hotel, clean, great included breakfast. If i ever come back to Salzburg I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was a bit of a walk from the bus station, but was in an excellent location. The hotel is not very large, but has nice amenities, and a good breakfast. The bar downstairs was nice too, and a good spot to end a night with a beer.

We bought the Salzburg card and highly recommend using this card on your stay. We were a bit disappointed that some of the nearby restaurants were closed on Sunday/Monday, but what can you do!

Room Tip: I recommend looking into the bus if you are arriving by Salzburg by train. I believe the #1 bus wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel has a really awesome location in the Old Town, with all it offers, where all the action is. It is close to a bus stop to get to the train station or other destinations, and is easy to find. Just a few steps away from great shopping, Mozart's birthplace, and a Spar (small shop with food, wine, and beer).

The hotel is steeped in history, with pictures of the family, through the many generations, hanging in the breakfast room.

Breakfast was excellent and had good variety. Rooms were spacious, with comfortable beds, and you could hear the church bells and get some nice fresh air with the window open.

The restaurant on the main floor was good.

Tiny elevator - might require a couple trips when checking in and out, to fit everyone and the luggage.

The hotel is on the pricey side, but is recommended for the quality, location and service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K&L092906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $135 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing