We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I traveled with a group of 8 from Munich to Salzburg and from the moment we arrived at the Hotel Elefant they took excellent care of us. The young blond woman at the front desk was fanstatic-so friendly and helpful! The rooms were largeby European standards, and decorated wonderfully. The breakfast was outstanding! The location of this hotel is outstanding!!!! Salzburg is a beautiful city and I cannot wait to come back to this hotel and explore more of the city! If you are on the fence of what hotel to stay at in Salzburg look no further than this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    277
    67
    23
    4
See reviews for
145
423
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We took the train from Munich and spent the night in Salzburg because we wanted to experience the Christmas markets there both in the day and in the evening. We found that this hotel was in a perfect location for exploring by foot. Our room was large and clean, and the breakfast was good. It was a treat to be able to stay amongst the shops that lined the streets of such a charming pedestrian area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank infinitelove8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

While this hotel is in a perfect location, the overall experience was disappointing. I arrived late and was given the key to my room and told that breakfast was on the 1st floor. OK. The double room that I booked (for one person) was tiny. The bed was so close to the wall on one side that you had to walk sideways to get in and out of bed. The whole room was done in formica, which seems to be common in Salzburg and disappointing. The halls and breakfast room are charming, but the rooms had no character. Since I was tired, I went to the restaurant and asked if I could have a brandy. I thought they would let me sit at a table (the restaurant was practically empty). No, instead they handed me the drink, standing there. When I paid, and gave them a nice tip, then they asked me if I wanted to sit down (very strange). I took the drink to my room. The next morning when I went to breakfast in their lovely dining room I saw a charming TV room/lounge next to it. Had someone told me about this at check-in, I could have had my drink there and would have been very happy. Then the hair dryer didn't work. At check out I told the lady. She responded that you have to press a button behind the hair dryer to get it to work (??). How was I supposed to know this. Even she said "I suppose we should have told you." Well, yes, you should have. All in all, for the price and the reviews I have read, I expected more and was disappointed.

Room Tip: Maybe you should ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Was a great experience staying at the Elefant. Rooms are very luxurious and the free breakfast is great. The location is also great. The staff wasn't very amicable, something you'll find throughout Europe...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prosalesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Rooms can be small, double(when we arrived and checked in and were able to visit our room),
we asked and they were able to upgrade for an extra charge and the superior double is very nice
There is no view. Window with light but buildings.
Breakfast was great..
Location for walking and exploring is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The best things about the hotel are it's location and service. A small hotel right in the pedestrianised heart of Salzburg. You couldn't wish for a better location. The service was excellent and very friendly. The breakfast too was excellent with everything very fresh (and not out of a tin). Also ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant and that too was excellent (service, quality and a reasonable price). Only negative was that the room and bathroom were on the small side although adequate for 2 people.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sussex_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of Salzburg's old town, this is a perfect base for exploring the city. Rooms are clean and perfectly fine for the money, staff friendly and a decent breakfast (although the coffee was a bit yuck). Room 507 gives you a view of the castle.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stuartsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing