We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Right in the heart of the old town - you couldnt ask for a better location.
The room was small, but we were only in it to sleep so it was perfect. Our room was on the busy street side but it was fine (dustman early in the morning could have been quieter!)
Breakfast was perfect - some hot food (not tested) as there was too much selection of breads, cheeses & cake! Who doesnt want cake for breakfast?!
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spakky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    295
    68
    23
    4
See reviews for
155
444
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Ideally located in the heart of the old town, this hotel is very comfortable with good bedroom and bathroom. Very tastefully furnished particularly on each of the landings. Nice breakfast room and sitting room. Breakfast very good with a good selection.
Staff at the front desk were very helpful in making arrangements for tours, concerts,etc.
Good value. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location just a 2 min walk to the main drag and local squares. Lots of restaurants, museums and Mozart's house were around corner. Very safe area and a very short walk to the tram to the fort. We saw a great concert at sunset. The breakfast included in rate was a very elaborate spread of hot and cold foods, assorted juices and fruits. The room was rather large for Europe. Very comfortable beds and great big bathroom. The front desk staff were quite knowledgeable and helpful. They went out of their way to get us the train schedule to Prague and called a taxi to take us there. The train station was about a 10 min taxi ride to train station.. I highly recommend this BW Hotel Elefant .

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel Elefant, a Best Western, was a typical Best Western, average and small rooms, not a good value, and additional cost of parking. If staying at this hotel, do not attempt to get the code to enter the portal to the city in order to drop off luggage, the street by the hotel is extremely narrow and the hotel restaurant often has tables for outside dining in the street. Go directly to the Alstadt garage, park and walk to the hotel. I will say the desk clerk was very friendly and helpful to us, especially since we were somewhat aggravated because we could not find the parking and the hotel. He did his very best to apologize and calm us down, making our stay much better. The breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: If you have to open your window at night, do not get a room in the front. The street is very loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the outstanding location. You can walk to all of the tourist sights in Salzburg from here, most are just steps from the front door. The hotel is on a cute street in the pedestrian only area of old town. My room was on the second floor and had a nice sitting area and comfortable bed. I slept well and the breakfast was great.

The people at the reception were helpful but they could have been a bit more welcoming - I felt as though I was bothering them every time I asked a question.

The taxis can drive right up to the hotel, at least in the off season, even though it is in the pedestrian area.

Choose this hotel for the location and good size guestrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcottville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013. We arrived at 11:00 am and were fortunate to be able to check into our room right away. Room was big, very comfortable beds, huge closet space with lots of storage. We were in room 207, facing the street, it was very quite, did not notice any street noise at all. Bathroom was also very nice. Loved having the heated towel bar. The staff was very friendly, and gave great recommendations for dinner and assistance on directions. Breakfast was so good, huge selections of fruit, meat, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, breads and juices. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights,Excellent location ,staff and receptionist very helpful,small lobby ,excellent room big space ,clean bathroom and big,the level of 4 star plus,in old town ,nice area,is highly recommending for short break and tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Haider B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing