We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
ksolt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a great stay here. Great location in a beautiful town. Staff were friendly, room was spacious and clean. Sleep was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great and breakfast room very nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again. Parking is a bit tricky as we found out, but we called the hotel and they walked us through the hole thing and made it very easy. You park in probably the coolest parking garage you will ever see (inside a rock cave), then walk about 5 minutes to the hotel (as no cars can go down the streets). Staff was great and were helpful, offered great suggestions and were just all around fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRSK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    292
    68
    23
    4
See reviews for
149
441
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Oct of 2012. Great location on a very pretty side street, very clean (of course small) hotel. Hotel staff very helpful. Good value for the money. Lots of shops and restaurants all around. Near the Hohensalburg Castle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeywj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A mini break for three nights. A lovely hotel with character in the centre of the old part of the city. Easy foot access to most attractions and excellent service from all the staff most of whom spoke english to a very high standard. Extremely helpful on where to park a car and emailed maps and barrier codes in advance. The restaurant served good food that was reasonably priced. The room (2nd floor facing onto the street) was spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. We stayed at the end of June and found the room to be a little stuffy - but we chose not to use the air conditioning unit that was in the room or leave a window open to have complete silence. For a city centre hotel it was quiet generally though be aware that given the number of churches bells can be rung early (7am) - this would apply to all hotels located in the city centre. Excellent service. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here during our trip to Salzberg. The staff were knowledgeble, extremely helpful and patient with our questions and requests. The location is perfect (right in the middle of old town, a short walk from almost all the museums/attractions), the room was comfortable and clean, and breakfast satisfying. After we checked out they were able to hold our luggage while we explored another town and even held us over for a few hours while we waited for our train to leave! This hotel made the trip even more charming than I expected while the staff brought a warmth that seems to be typical of this country!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Elefant for three nights. It provided a perfect base from which to explore old Salzburg by foot. Staff were friendly and helpful in providing restaurant suggestions and booking transfers.

The room was comfortable, clean and large enough.

Breakfast is excellent with everything a guest could possibly expect - and more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel was our third on a 14 -day European trip. It was a welcome respite from our cramped room in Paris. Our room was very comfortable, the bed was great. Love the European way of having twin beds side by side with individual covers. The sheets & comforters were very high quality & cozy. We especially like the roomy entrance & luggage area where you had room to spread out suitcases. The safe was also large enough to put more than just passports inside.
Staff at Le Elefant were very friendly, spoke English & gave us good directions. The restaurant next door had very good food, large portions and staff were courteous & attentive- beware- the portions are LARGE! The hotel breakfast in the mornings was a large buffet which included pastries & breads, cereals, cheeses & meats, soft=boiled eggs & juices. Very nice selection.
This hotel was perfectly situated in the heart of Old Salzburg- only minutes away from shopping & sight-seeing. We would heartily recommend and would not hesitate to stay again- only in a room that does not face the street!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellithetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel was our 13th hotel during our travel through Europe and our 4th Best Western Hotel. The location was very frustrating to find as it is located up a lane way in the midldle of a cobblestoned street.Little signage. After seeking directions from a friendly shop assistant we finally located the Hotel. We were greeted by a grumpy elderly male receptionist who gave us stern instructions how to access the bollards with a number code so we could have vehicular access. He was not welcoming at all and made us feel very uncomfortable from the start. Our room was very small so was the bathroom/shower. The male receptionist declined to give us free wifi until we handed over our passports, a request so very different from other best western hotels. Salzburg was very beautiful and we did not want to miss anything so we got all our advise and maps from another hotel. Although the location is convenient, I would definitely not recommend this hotel. Many friendlier places to stay whilst visiting Salzburg.P.S we also put a do not disturb sign on door which they disregarded to make our beds.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay in room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing