We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenge!”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It's a fine hotel, but one must be aware that it is located in the pedestrain zone in Salzburg. If you want to get to it with your car, you must first have a code from the hotel in order to lower the bollards that block traffic from the pedestrian zone. Better get the necessary information from the hotel before arriving in this area or it can be quite a challenge. Parking is in the nearby (5 - 10 minute walk) municipal parking. To simplify things, I would recommend parking first, then walking to the hotel to avoid driving through crowds of shoppers. Once settled, we loved being close to all of the sights and restaurants and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpansieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 852 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Hotel Elefant. Could not have been in a better location, which outside of cleanliness and price, is my main criteria for selecting a hotel. It was in the middle of the old city, within walking distance of everything we wanted. The room was perfect, the breakfast and service also. We did try the restaurant, while the food was OK, the choices were limited.

Room Tip: Room on the front was a bit noisy in the mornings, not anything the hotel could help, just delivery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A must stay if you are in Salzburg. Beautiful big rooms with separate bathrooms & separate toilet, very neat tidy & clean. Great service from Ikram on reception who was lovely. The breakfasts are in a lovely room with a great selection of food. The hotel is in the old town & very central to everything. We would definitely stay again, it's a beautiful hotel for two very picky travelers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you want a central location in Altstadt, you cannot do better than this. However, this is what I would call a 'serviceable', but over-decorated, hotel - with a friendly staff. The breakfasts were OK with a reasonable selection. But I would not recommend going to the restaurant, S'Nockerl, in the basement of the hotel and under different management; it features mediocre food, service and setting. If you are driving, call ahead to get the security code for the bollards (blocking entrance to the Altstadt) so you can drive to the front door to drop off luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I have been to Salzburg a few times; twice we have stayed at this hotel. The hotel cannot be any more central - right along the waterfront and within 100M of Mozart's birthplace. The staff is friendly, accommodating and highly professional. The breakfast was among the best we have had in Europe (we have had over two hundred in the past 10 years in Europe). Parking at the city facility requires a 5-7 minute walk but the parking itseld is an experience: it is a multi-level large facility cut into the mountain!

The hotel is clearly very old; has its original layout but has been fitted with modern convenieces. You cannot go wrong staying here no matter what your expectations are.

Consider going to a live classical concert while staying in Salzburg; it is relatively inexpensive, the concerts are good and onewe have been to twice takes place at the fortress at the very top of the hilld overlooking the city. You get a discount for the monorail that goes up there and you get a free fortress tour if you go there after 5PM. It is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awayfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel has much to offer the Salzburg visitor. It is well situated, convenient and reasonably priced. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was fine. In fact, Hotel Elefant has an opportunity to be first rate, but for us it missed the mark in certain critical ways. For example, there was no flexibility regarding time one may pay the bill, or retrieve one's car, or enter the breakfast area, etc. It seemed nothing could be done before 7 a.m. That was the magic hour! We also had a little "surprise." We had been traveling for 2 weeks and needed to do some laundry. We inquired about a laundromat, but were advised to let the hotel staff wash the stuff since the laundromat in the city was a chaotic and difficult to get to. We were told it was "very inexpensive" to have it done at the hotel. We had some underwear, shirts and jeans. We declined ironing. Knowing that hotel laundry services are expensive, we figured it would probably run about $30 max. The bill at checkout turned out to be $150 US! Our outrage was ignored, so we paid and left. "Nuff said."

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travlr3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is ideally located in old town Salzburg; within easy walking distance of everything in town. As others have said, it's much better to stay in Old Salzburg rather than across the river in the "New Town". The staff at the hotel were very helpful, particularly the young woman at the desk in the mornings (I regret that I didn't get her name). The included breakfast was very good, though I would have liked to see more fruit offered.

Just a couple of negatives: the bathroom was probably the smallest I've ever seen; it was literally 5' by 5' with the shower taking up most of this space. There were no shelves or storage to speak of, and the faucet, curiously, was motion controlled...before I realized this, I tossed my cosmetics into the sink and they got thoroughly soaked. It also seems somewhat dangerous to me to have a motion-controlled faucet right next to the electrical outlet...what if one dropped one's hairdryer in the sink?

And the wifi does not work everywhere in the hotel...not in my room (506) for example, although it worked fine in the 5th floor hallway.

Still, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for its comfortable accommodation and fine location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $125 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing