We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Agreed. Great Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Agreed. Great Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very nice hotel in the old town. You can reach the funicular to the castle and even other side of the river in less than 5 minutes. There were a couple things keeping it from a truly great hotel, but at the price, its well worth it and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0ntNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    260
    61
    20
    3
See reviews for
137
399
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skeltoec
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on price and location. Salzburg is a very touristy city which means all of the hotels in the old town are quite expensive. We thought staying in old town would put us closest to all of the sights and charm of Salzburg. Hotel elefant looked like it had been recently updated (new flat screen tvs etc...) but it still felt a little tired. The lobby is small and uninviting and there is no bar. The rooms are on the smaller side, but the beds are very comfortable and the noise of being in the middle of old town is not a problem. The breakfast was very good and the staff was pretty helpful when we asked them questions about where to go, dinner recommendations etc...

If I were to go back again, I would probably stay in the new town area of Salzburg (versus the old town), as that is where a lot of good restaurants and bars are located, it is less touristy and I would assume more reasonably priced as well as being close enough to walk to all the sites in the old town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skeltoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The location really could not be better - just off Getreidegasse (the main shopping street), within a stone's throw of Mozart's Birthplace and close to the Cathedral. The room was clean, bathroom very nice with a separate toilet and the choice of a bath and a shower cubicle. There was a mini bar and a flat screen tv in the separate sitting area and there was a handy extra reading light (like in an aircraft) to allow reading without disturbing your partner.The room was a little dim but it was really quiet and nice and dark at night so we got a great nights rest. The staff were very friendly greeting you every time you came in and could not have been more helpful when we asked about the sights. Breakfast was good with a variety of breads, cold meats, olives etc as well as a choice of juices, cereals, eggs, sausages and bacon. We ate in the attached restaurant for lunch on our last day and it was good - the Salzburg Souffle was to die for! Hot raspberries and three mounds of sweet souffle to signify the three hills around Salzburg - fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here only for one night. We arrived by train from Munich to a beautiful sunshine day in January. We (family of 5 incl a 5yr old) decided to walk from the train station. We only had one small roller bag. It is a very pleasant 20 min stroll through the Mirabel gardens and along the river. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a good size. A bath was a blessing in winter in Europe. Breakfast was just above average for me I'm afraid. The location of the hotel perfect! We even did a wonderful family walk up to the fortress and across the hill to the museum of modern art. Even the children said it was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakumi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Delightful hotel in the best location of salzburg, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast is wonderful and the decoration lovely. I recommend and would come back!

The only cons I have: my room and bed were tiny, and also there is only 1 small elevator for the whole hotel.

Another tip: do not go to the hotel restaurant. It is not bad, but Instead, try the restaurant in the left of the hotel. You will go downstairs, it is very close.

Room Tip: book a double room, even if you are traveling solo. I stayed in a single room and was sooo tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfmaceio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Charming old hotel in the old town. Good staff. Nice rooms. Hard to drive to (bollards etc) but city car park not far away. Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The perfect location - right in old town.

The building and furniture was a little old, but the friendly staff, great breakfast, and very clean bathroom - with a TUB!- made this a great stay. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

They will also let you drive into downtown to drop off bags, but after trying the squeeze through the streets with people giving us terrible looks, we walked our bags to the garage when leaving.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing