We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreed. Great Location and Value”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very nice hotel in the old town. You can reach the funicular to the castle and even other side of the river in less than 5 minutes. There were a couple things keeping it from a truly great hotel, but at the price, its well worth it and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P0ntNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 856 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on price and location. Salzburg is a very touristy city which means all of the hotels in the old town are quite expensive. We thought staying in old town would put us closest to all of the sights and charm of Salzburg. Hotel elefant looked like it had been recently updated (new flat screen tvs etc...) but it still felt a little tired. The lobby is small and uninviting and there is no bar. The rooms are on the smaller side, but the beds are very comfortable and the noise of being in the middle of old town is not a problem. The breakfast was very good and the staff was pretty helpful when we asked them questions about where to go, dinner recommendations etc...

If I were to go back again, I would probably stay in the new town area of Salzburg (versus the old town), as that is where a lot of good restaurants and bars are located, it is less touristy and I would assume more reasonably priced as well as being close enough to walk to all the sites in the old town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skeltoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The location really could not be better - just off Getreidegasse (the main shopping street), within a stone's throw of Mozart's Birthplace and close to the Cathedral. The room was clean, bathroom very nice with a separate toilet and the choice of a bath and a shower cubicle. There was a mini bar and a flat screen tv in the separate sitting area and there was a handy extra reading light (like in an aircraft) to allow reading without disturbing your partner.The room was a little dim but it was really quiet and nice and dark at night so we got a great nights rest. The staff were very friendly greeting you every time you came in and could not have been more helpful when we asked about the sights. Breakfast was good with a variety of breads, cold meats, olives etc as well as a choice of juices, cereals, eggs, sausages and bacon. We ate in the attached restaurant for lunch on our last day and it was good - the Salzburg Souffle was to die for! Hot raspberries and three mounds of sweet souffle to signify the three hills around Salzburg - fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here only for one night. We arrived by train from Munich to a beautiful sunshine day in January. We (family of 5 incl a 5yr old) decided to walk from the train station. We only had one small roller bag. It is a very pleasant 20 min stroll through the Mirabel gardens and along the river. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a good size. A bath was a blessing in winter in Europe. Breakfast was just above average for me I'm afraid. The location of the hotel perfect! We even did a wonderful family walk up to the fortress and across the hill to the museum of modern art. Even the children said it was great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zakumi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Delightful hotel in the best location of salzburg, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast is wonderful and the decoration lovely. I recommend and would come back!

The only cons I have: my room and bed were tiny, and also there is only 1 small elevator for the whole hotel.

Another tip: do not go to the hotel restaurant. It is not bad, but Instead, try the restaurant in the left of the hotel. You will go downstairs, it is very close.

Room Tip: book a double room, even if you are traveling solo. I stayed in a single room and was sooo tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfmaceio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Charming old hotel in the old town. Good staff. Nice rooms. Hard to drive to (bollards etc) but city car park not far away. Would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The perfect location - right in old town.

The building and furniture was a little old, but the friendly staff, great breakfast, and very clean bathroom - with a TUB!- made this a great stay. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

They will also let you drive into downtown to drop off bags, but after trying the squeeze through the streets with people giving us terrible looks, we walked our bags to the garage when leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $136 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing