We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint & charming”
Review of Hotel Rosenvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rosenvilla
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, GA- outside of Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“quaint & charming”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband & I splurged on a "double room deluxe" and what we got was room 9- the "executiv"
It was wonderful!
I actually would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could; and the only thing that keeps me from giving it the 5 is because the bathroom lighting- though charming & beautiful- wasn't as functional. Funny, I don't even notice stuff like mirror lighting, but since it rained the whole 2 days we were there, it was a little more difficult to see in order to apply my makeup for a great night out.

When we got to the hotel, we immediately noticed the charm. Everything was very intimate. It was exactly what we were looking for. And when we walked into the room,I noticed how spacious & elegant the dressing area was. Even the mini bar was arranged so nicely.

We walked in the light rain with our umbrellas to Old Town. It wasn't a bad walk, even in the rain. I would guess it was maybe 1.5 miles away. After we walked back to the hotel, a bottle of wine was the perfect complement to the rainy afternoon. It was too bad we couldn't take advantage of our covered patio. Though the cover shielded most of the rain, the ground was quite wet (not conducive to using the wonderful slippers provided) and the chairs got damp.
But the chaise lounge & a good book was a great alternative.

The bed(s) was very European and it was 2 singles put together. They were on one box, and that helped. Comfortable beds. Personable staff offered more pillows but I forgot to take advantage of that. We kept the window open throughout our stay. We never looked for any kind of AC; it was fine; but we did both get a little hot in the middle of the night.

The breakfast is a large & very European buffet. Oatmeal, yogurt, boiled eggs, lots of deli meats & soft cheeses. Presented in a lovely dining room which continues the intimate feel.

We would definitely look forward to coming back to Rosenvilla if ever a sunny day brings us back to Salzburg. It was one of the finest hotels we've stayed in!

Room Tip: The Executiv (room 9) has a covered balcony that overlooked the charming front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpotter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Manager at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guests, thanks so much for your positive review. I am more than glad, that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg. I am sorry, that you had troubles with finding the bathrooms lights. We do have an extra mirror lightning in the bathroom, but unfortunately it is a bit hidden. If you should stay with us again one time in the future, we will show you exactly how to find it!

Thanks again for staying with us!
Kind regards from Salzburg, Stefanie Fleischhaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    55
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
170
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently spent a fabulous weeks holiday based at this hotel myself, husband, daughter and son-in-law. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the rooms were beautiful fully equipped with everything you could possible need. It was spotlessly clean. The staff were so kind and friendly and helpful. This hotel has been the best we have ever stayed in we all agreed on this. The breakfast was outstanding with an incredible selection and elegantly presented.
We would love to return.
Jean Crook

Room Tip: We had two rooms at the front of the hotel on ground floor which we could not fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN ANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Manager at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mr.Crook, thanks so much for your possitive review and of course for staying with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and I hope you had a safe trip back home! Maybe we will see you again one time in Salzburg. Best regards from all of us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, GA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Love this hotel! It's small, so friendly and we had a very special experience there. After an unusually hot day on the Sound of Music tour and figuring out the bus system, we returned to the hotel to rest a bit before going out again. Stephanie, the lovely young woman who is one of the owners, surprised us by bringing ice water, ice cream and fresh strawberries to our room! We were so tired and hot, so we felt we were being treated like Queens!
This hotel is near the bus stop, two blocks from a great restaurant, and easy parking if you have a car. Very reasonable rates. The breakfast is wonderful with indoor and outdoor seating.
Stephanie, if you are reading this, once again, thanks a million for your gracious hospitality! Dara

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSeeDoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Manager at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Dara,
thanks so much for your review. I am very glad, that you had a good time while staying with us.
Maybe I may welcome you again one time in Salzburg. All the best to you and greetings from Salzburg, Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived driving from Regensburg not hard to find. Very nice room was very adequate just what we needed .service is great breakfast incredible we sat outside bus stop a few feet away. Short ride to center of old town. Great bed and blankets. A great value

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeMextraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Manager at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guests from California, thanks a lot for staying with us and for your positive review. Maybe we may welcome you again one time in Salzburg. Kind regards, Stefanie Fleischhaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We could only stay one night in Salzburg but wished we had allotted longer to stay in this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms (and bathrooms) are large and very clean. There is free parking. The breakfast is simply the best we had in Europe (4 countries). The breakfast present had everything you could ever want and left you well fuelled for your day ahead. The old town is an easy 15 minute walk or an equally easy 5 minute bus ride (transit tickets available at the hotel). I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My guess is that all of the room are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guests from Vancouver, thanks so much for your positive review. It was very nice to meet you and I am glad, that you had a good time while staying with us! MAybe we may welcome you again one time in Salzburg. All the best to you, Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a charming little hotel in a quiet residential area -- feels more like a B&B. Rooms are spacious with king-bed, lots of storage space, good desk, sitting area, and large modern bathroom. Breakfast choices are excellent and tasty. Stefanie and the other staff are very friendly & helpful. (very conscientious to accommodate my food allergies) Free Wi-Fi throughout property. Easy 15-minute walk to town centre, or 2-minute walk to local bus into town or train station. While the weather during our visit wasn't conducive to doing so, there is a cute garden to relax outside. The hotel thinks of all the little touches to make your stay very positive -- a welcome note, a "cute" card of things you might have forgotten, slippers & bathrobes, reasonably-priced bottles of water; umbrellas to borrow, etc.

Room Tip: no elevator, so pack accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guests , thanks so much for your positive review! We are glad, that you had a good time and that every thing was alright! Maybe we may welcome you again one time in Salzburg, Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is in a residential area and nice 15-20 min walk to the City Center or a 6 minute bus ride. Our room was large, sunny and included a desk and love seat. It was very comfortable for our 3 night stay. Stephanie and the rest of the staff are young, very helpful and creative -- don't miss the cleverly decorated hard and soft boiled eggs at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast: YUMMY!!!

Room Tip: Best WiFi connection is in breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBtexasfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guests from Austin, thanks for your possitive review. It was great to meet you ( thanks for the wine ;). I am glad, that you had a good time, while staying with us! I hope you had a safe journey back home and maybe we may welcome you again one time. Kind regards, Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,086 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosenvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosenvilla

Property: Hotel Rosenvilla
Address: Hoefelgasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rosenvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rosenvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenvilla Hotel Salzburg
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing