We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Weekend Trip to Austria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosenvilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rosenvilla
Ranked #17 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick Weekend Trip to Austria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel Rosenvilla was an excellent find, with a spacious and comfortable room and the best breakfast I have had in Europe. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was great, only a brisk 15 minute walk into the centre of Salzburg. On site parking was a bonus and I really enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and the room was great. There was no noise from the street and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    45
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
153
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We are a mature couple who appreciate the small things people do to make your trip more enjoyable. This hotel excells at that. They do anticipate your needs and act without being asked.
We were greeted warmly upon arrival and our heavy bags were carried up to our room for us. Our room was bright and spacious with every amenity including robes and slippers. We had a lovely balcony which we were able to enjoy, sipping a glass of wine late one afternoon (having noticed our bottle of wine on the desk, 2 wine glasses were left for us while we were out!).
There was no problem with the location - we had a Salzburg Pass and hopped on the bus right around the corner from the hotel. The front desk staff was always able to give us good directions and were exceedingly helpful at all times.
And the breakfast - too delicious for words! The selection was amazing and the care that was taken to set it out and prepare it was incredible.
I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely small hotel to anyone who wants a personal touch in their stay at this lodging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieAndNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleneuf-Val-Andre, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a suite in this lovely private hotel and are very happy we did. From the reception (who chose two restaurants which were exactly what we had been looking for) to the room which was immense and filled with delightful extras, to the breakfast : absolutely the best I have ever had (full marks for the large selection of interesting verrines....and there was so much choice I can't list everything) Attentive, pleasant service, spotlessly clean, etc etc A bit more than our normal budget, but worth every cent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DADIDAHOUET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Five star hotels in the States wish they had the service and care that the staff at Rosenvilla apply to every guest. They anticipate your needs and then go a step or two beyond! They were amazing. Nice neighborhood and a short walk to Old Town, or just jump on the #7 bus for a quick ride into town. Kudo's to the young ladies working breakfast and the front desk - their want to serve was some of the best I have ever experienced!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JFSoccerCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is more like a B & B in a quiet suburb. It's a 20 minute walk to town. The beds and pillows were great and the room spacious. The charge for breakfast is $11 Euro extra and since we only like coffee and fruit opted not to pay for it. We had 2 cups each (2 day stay) and when we checked out were charged $22.40 Euro.We were never told anything other than, "No problem." Had we known, we would have paid for breakfast since it was only $5 Euros more per person. If you eat a big breakfast it's a steal!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have heavy bags opt for the 1st floor. You still have to schlep bags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleischhaker, Manager at Hotel Rosenvilla, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your positive review and for staying with us! We hope you had a safe journey back home. Regarding the coffe: You booked a room without breakfast. The breakfast costs €11/person. Instead of the breakfast you just ordered coffee-each morning for each €2,80. For 8 coffees in total we charged you €22,40. This is a regular price for a cup of coffee. We also asked you, if you would like to have breakfast instead for €11, but you denied! I am sorry, for the inconvienience we caused, but I also hope you understand our point of view! Kind regards, Stefanie Fleischhaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive from Prague, this hotel was a very welcome rest. The 2 girls working the front desk were fantastic, they couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The cleaning lady was also wonderful and gave our 18 month old daughter a little teddy bear upon departure. It was about a 20 minute walk to the old city, but that was in the rain with a baby. The breakfast was amazing, the assortment was great and it was all presented very tastefully. Best breakfast of the trip. It's in a quiet part of town with plenty of parking, what else is there to say, totally worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HokieVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived in Salzburg and it was raining; I had just lost my cell phone at the Louvre in Paris but recovered it due to the nice people at the Paris Hotel. However when we arrived in Salzburg we had just got off a long train ride from Vienna. Arriving at the hotel was a pleasure. The entry is delightful and the initial welcome from Stephanie made us feel right at home. It was late so we got to our room which was perfect. There were rose petals on the bed, everyhing was meticulous and orderly. Nice and roomy also. The next morning we woke up and had a great breakfast in the adjoining room. Not very big but there aren't many rooms at the hotel. They had all the right stuff for breakfast, pastries, eggs, cold cuts, you name it they had it. Even fixed American coffee for us. However the best part of this trip was the recovery of my lost passport. We could not have done it without Danielle's help at the front desk. My spouse and I went out to the castle and rode the tram up to the top. When we got there my passport was missing. Went back to the hotel and Danielle called and spoke German and was able track down my passport. Someone had found it on the tram and turned it in to Lost and Found. We then traveled to the Lost and Found and recovered my passport. That alone, and the fact that these girls that run this place, made it a five star hotel in my book. I guess I can see whey they are always booked up. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book early and you will get a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsimunic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#28 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#18 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosenvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosenvilla

Property: Hotel Rosenvilla
Address: Hoefelgasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rosenvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rosenvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenvilla Hotel Salzburg
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing