We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a bad hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I hate writing reviews like this, as I'm not really a complainer! However, I think this hotel was just ok. There was a musty/old smoke smell throughout, it wasn't super clean, the breakfast was overpriced for what it was, and the facilities were a bit lacking. (For instance- there was a fridge in our room which was great, but it leaked water.)
However the staff were friendly and accommodated our request to face the courtyard (more like a car park), the rooms are quiet and large, and for what it is, the hotel is pretty good value for money,
It is also close to the train station in a safe but not terribly attractive area.


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miss_hay_barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    339
    102
    20
    9
See reviews for
194
304
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Achat met all my needs for my 24 stay in Salzburg. Was a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk to all the main sites of the city. I enjoyed not being in the crowded tourist area, which I think this is a good thing. The room itself, while not fancy, was spacious and met all my needs. I was surprised there was a little hallway between the bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom was remodeled and nice. I slept well and just enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrstne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The room is very big and very comfortable. It is located about 5 minutes away from the train station. You can get your Salzburg card at the hotel reception as well. The staff is also willing to help you with directions to the places of interest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay. I booked the standard double room and requested a high floor. I was given the highest, the fourth floor, and with a shower. The room was very spacious and if counted there's about 4 rooms: the toilet room,
Shower room, closet/desk room, and bedroom! I travelled just by myself and this was a very satisfying stay. Everything is clean and the bed is comfortable. Wifi worked fine. You just have to keep entering the code when you return to the hotel. I did not try the breakfast. It costs 12€ though and it's a buffet. The location is pretty fair and only a 5 minute walk to Mirabell gardens. The staff was very informative and helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here if you come to Salzburg for a visit. Also, you should look into purchasing the Salzburg from the front desk! I got my money's worth. Only minor issue with my room was it was close to the elevator and late at night I could hear people talking through the walls or walking but it did not last long. I would still stay again in the same room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel in July and were very impressed. Compared to some other hotels we have stayed at, the value for the price was really excellent. Our room had a sitting area with couch and TV as well as a proper king sized bed instead of the two singles put together that feature at some hotels. Wifi worked well, as did air conditioning. The staff was very helpful and the location is perfect for walking around town and arriving by train. We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ideal hotel for us for our week in Salzburg. Quarter of a hour stroll down to the old town and a variety of ways including through the Mirabell Gardens or along the river. Big room with three chairs, wardrobe and desk, plus decent sized fridge (there was an option to make it a mini bar but we used it for our own purchases) and very large bathroom/wet room, which included great shower and hairdryer. Could have done with non slip bath but that's another story!
Staff were polite and responsive but not over fussy. The rooms were kept clean though we never saw a maid and though we tended to return and leave the hotel several times through the day were always treated kindly. I found it too late to use but as we left discovered a room off the general lounge we had not used, that contained a working internet set up complete with switched on and connected printer. Quiet (double windows in all rooms), convenient (a stroll into town plus a supermarket opposite), spacious and very reasonable. We did not check out the breakfast or dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the car park and never heard a thing. the front rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the Railway station (roll your luggage to the hotel) and it is even closer using the back street. Walking into the old town centre is just 15 min. Most of this walk is through the pretty gardens of the Mirabell Palace and across the pedestrian bridge. From the outside I had expected less but I was pleasantly surprised once inside the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean, spacious and modern. The room had air conditioning, a bonus in the summer heat. Near the reception there is a lounge and computer area on an upper floor a sauna and fitness room. Breakfast was in a nice dining room decorated traditional Austrian style. The hotel runs also its Restaurant. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of choices. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#22 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#26 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Property: ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing