We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well positioned and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in May, with family in two rooms. The hotel was well positioned for the station (about 5 minutes) and the old town was only a 15 minutes steady walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very comfortable, with very good housekeeping. Breakfast was well priced with an excellent selection of both hot and cold food, served buffet style. We hadn't planned to have breakfast in the hotel, but after having it the first morning, it made the start of the day so much easier.

Room Tip: Rooms looked fairly consistent, and although overlooking a very busy road, we found the double glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    340
    102
    22
    9
See reviews for
195
306
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed up the road from zum Hirschen, but it was recommended to us for dinner. We enjoyed their farmers buffet on Friday night, complete with live accordion player! It was not the least bit cheesy! Rather, it was delightful with excellent food, gracious service and friendly guests. If their accommodations are as good, you shall have a treat. Great value and an extremely pleasant setting just a little away from the hustle and bustle of busier old town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed two nights at Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen, and though I spent very little time at the hotel, was most satisfied with everything. The rooms are nice and clean, service is attentive, professional and friendly. The interior of the common spaces is sumptuous. The hotel is in 5-minute walking distance from Salzburg's main railway station, and also short walking distance from the river and historic downtown (Hohensalzburg, Mirabell, Old Town etc.). My only criticism concerns just a tiny detail: it would be nice to have some carpets - especially for the sake of protecting customers' relaxation. If I take two steps from the door to the bed or back in shoes, neighbours will wake up.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmilcsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc, canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was a nice, quiet, little hotel which we stayed in for 3 nights in June. Very close to the train station and bus station(5 minute walk with luggage), clean. Front desk staff were very nice and great help with directions.

It was about a 10-15 walk to the main tourist areas which may be the only "downside". We didn't find it a problem and it made commuting on to different towns very easy.

The breakfast that was an extra charge was very good.

Only thing that was little odd, was the bar, of this non smoking hotel, really smelled of smoke. The rest of the hotel was fine.

There was also a tv room with couches which was enjoyed sitting in and talking to our friends one evening.

Room Tip: We had a the back of the hotel and found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent value. We stayed three nights and really enjoyed it. Daniel, the front desk clerk, was very kind and helpful. Popular attractions are only minutew away. We would be happy to stay here again someday.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights recently. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the train station, and while it is around 2 km from the city centre, there are a number of bus lines passing close by. Our room was larger then we expected, comfortable and facing the rear of the hotel made it very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are not a lot of eating choices close by, so it was convenient to find the in-house restaurant to be excellent. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at ACHAT for 2 nights on a recent visit to Salzburg. The hotel was really good value for money. Spacious, well-equipped rooms (including bar fridges, coffee making facilities, bathroom with full shower and bath, good wifi) that were simply delightful.

Location is quite good, especially if you're travelling by train. There is also a shopping mall conveniently just across the street. However, it is a bit of a walk (10-15 min) to the main tourist attractions, though I'm not sure if this is a good or bad thing.

Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Property: ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing