We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Ranked #18 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Happy with stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were quite happy with this hotel, firstly finding a hotel with a vacancy even three months out from Christmas in Salzburg is very hard, at this was not my first choice but I was very happy to find a room.

The location is not great, it is close to the HBF Station but in a dodgy part of town, the back streets seem to be the turkish immigrant quarter, there is also a creepy 24hr sex shop nearby that attracks undesirables. There are no decent cafes bars or restraunts around although the hotel does have one.

On arrival we were not shown to our room or asked if we wanted help with our bags. four star hotels normally do this.

apart from that most of the staff were quite helpfull.

the room was quite good, clean, large and comfortable, the bathroom adequate.

there was just one english tv channel, no BBC World or CNN which was poor.

wifi is free and a good signal.

breakfast was very good, hot and cold food, penty of coffee and friendly staff.

I would recommend this hotel if you dont mind the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    371
    109
    24
    9
See reviews for
209
339
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It's the little things that make a hotel excellent. This little hotel is situated about 10 mins walk from the SALZBURG HBF train/bus terminal. Quite easy to find on a map. Blue line bus took us to the HBF from the Airport and we walked the rest of the way, abt 500m. Standard rooms are ridiculously spacious. See to believe. There is a closet area, sitting area, and the bed, in three distinct parts. wifi complimentary. Breakfast chargeable, about €15-18.

In the morning, there are refreshments, sweets and cookies left out in the lobby for guests. In the winter evenings, Gluwein (hot wine) is served. Such thoughtfulness! Friendly staff will gladly help to direct you to places of interest, and ways of getting there. We chose to walk to the Old quarter to get a feel of the town. Took about 20 minutes, relaxed stroll. Buses would have taken abt 10 mins. Closest thing to a convenience store is a nearby gas station 50m away. We stocked up on snacks there.

We enjoyed our stay at ACHAT and will certainly recommend this hotel too friends and family for great service, value, and lovely accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trekmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location: We took bus #2 right outside Salzburg airport and alight at Salzburg Hbf station. From there, it will be a 5-10min walk (factoring dragging your luggages on pavements). We downloaded the direction from Google map beforehand, and used that to navigate the right path to take. Indeed useful. C&A shop, Subway, Shell petrol station and Volksbank Salzburg are just around the hotel. As shops close early in Salzburg, we were grateful that Shell is just next to the hotel to allow us to grab any food or drink at late nights.
Though the hotel is not located in Old Town, you can take a short 15-20min stroll to reach Old Town. Along the way, you will pass by Mirabell. As we were enjoying the small Christmas market at Mirabell along the way, the walk to Old Town was an enjoyable one.
If you are taking Panorama Tour for Sound of Music, which I also highly recommend, there's free pickup service from the hotel to Mirabell - the starting point of the Panorama Tour.

Room: The room is very spacious and cosy. Free wifi is provided. However, for some strange reason, only 1 gadget can login at one time. So both you and your partner wouldnt be able to login to Internet at the same time. -.-!!! The shower cubicle in our room is a little disappointing as some water will leak out. Other than that, the room is pretty clean and cosy.

Service: Friendly staff. There're complimentary cookies and water placed on the table near the lobby during the day, and gluhwein & punch during evenings. Quite thoughtful of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were really impressed by this hotel. The room was huge and very different than typical hotel rooms. It felt more like an apartment. It was immaculately clean. There is a wonderful spa area with saunas, steam room, sunning deck, and massages available. There is also a charming little bar for the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttime222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel was a short walk from the train station and was a great pick. Thanks tripadvisor! The rooms and bathrooms were huge by Europe standards. Very nice furniture. The breakfast was 12 euros per person and we chose to walk across the street to the mall. One level down there is a grocery with fresh espresso, pastries, and bread. We loaded up and ate in the room. The staff was very helpful also.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bigdawg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very good hotel, friendly, warm reception and best service. It was our second time for this hotel with very good memory. We spent two nights at this this hotel for Salzburg one-day trip with Salzburg cards that we bought from this hotel at front counter.We also got very good service to the Sound of Music and Hallstatt by Gray line. See you next time Melany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suwatmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The rooms are big and clean the sauna and gym are spotless and the food was great, the bar was great, if travelling by car this hotel advertises car parking facilities on checking out we where charged 6 euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#26 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Property: ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Address: Saint-Julien-Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing