We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, strange room configuration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nighs. It is walking distance to the main Salzburg train station, Salzburg Bahnhof. The bathroom was recently renovated and very nice. We had a double, which meant two twin sized beds on opposite sides of the room (some European rooms have twin size beds, but next to each other). The room was a bit cramped even compared to other European hotels we've stayed at, but it worked out okay. We did not find there to be a problem with train noise.

The breakfast buffet was very good, probably the best I've seen in this price range. But it's true that the coffee is really bad and we're not that picky. Wifi access was very fast and easy to use. If there was one thing to make our stay better, we would have preferred to have a hotel safe to store our electronics and better outlets. The outlet situation was strange because you could only charge your electronics in one side of the room if the light switch were turned on, but you wouldn't want the lights on while you were sleeping at night and trying to charge your phone or computer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyMacGyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 865 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Talk about a quiet room in the middle of the city!
The room was quiet, comfortable, roomy and welcoming. Parking was not right on site but only about half a block away. It is within a few blocks from the rail station and a short 2 block walk to Mirabelle Gardens, among lots of other things. Bus routes are plentiful and easy to get to old town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dg2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Only paid $80 for a spic n span room 10 min walk form HBF station and 8 minutes from the historic center of Salzburg. Very good and reasonably priced restaurant and beer garden on the hotel premises as well. Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is easy to be located, only 8 minutes walk from train station (HBF) of Salzburg.

The room is spacious and clean. It was well managed, though it was not very new. Staying here, you can access to the famous attractions on food with around 15 minutes walk. The main road in front of the hotel is a bit noisy. It's much better if you close the windows.

The restaurant on ground floor provides very nice food.

The only drawback of this hotel is that, the hotel WiFi blocks all videos (including Youtube). You cannot watch online video during your stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmondtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location very close to Mirabell Palace and the gardens. A short walk across the river to the old town. Also a short walk from the train station and bus tours.

The hotel offered an excellent breakfast, spacious rooms (by European standards) and painless parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamTheFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We liked the hotel even though it was about a 15 minute walk to the old town, we needed the walk anyway. The walk took us by the beautiful Mirabell Gardens and the local Hop on Hop off bus stop, Mozart's home and across the foot bridge on the river. Good free WIFI. Decent size and clean room. The staff was very friendly and helpful making us feel very welcome. They also made good recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast buffet was excellent and included with the room as was the auto parking near the hotel. We would go back and highly recommend this hotel when in Salzburg.

Room Tip: For Better Views Get A Room High UP
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good value for money, close to central train station, 15-20 minutes walk to old town, just near the beautiful Miraball gardens. fine breakfast, good free WiFi, air-conditioned (very important in summer and all too rare among Salzburg hotels). A little noisy due to proximity to central train station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyalBraun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer & Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer & Braeu

Address: Rainerstrasse 12 -/14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $87 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer & Braeu 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city you will find the Hotel Imlauer Hotel Salzburg. This welcoming Salzburg city hotel awaits its guests with numerous comforts. It also delights its guests with its perfect location close to all the places of interest in the city of Mozart. Convenient for transportation, easy to reach and so close to the places of interest in the old town of Salzburg. The Hotel in the city center is the first choice for your Salzburg holiday. A total of 50 rooms, suites and apartments guarantee you a luxury hotel stay in Salzburg, the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imlauer & Braeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing