We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor to Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a quad room - this was our second stay, and by coincidence the same room as our previous stay. One of the single beds was broken two years ago and believe it or not, the bed was still broken during our last stay! We reported it to the front desk whereafter we had to assist the lady at reception to get a new bed from the storage room and to replace the broken bed.
Breakfast was good with both hot and cold dishes. We purchased a Salzburg card that includes free public transport and free entrance / reduced to many museums and attractions. This hotel is not recommended and will definitely not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gomyownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 868 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is a bit far from the old town. The restaurant is nice and breakfast was good. The rooms are big, however, it has no outside view! The mattress I slept on was terribly thin and old. The hotel rooms seem to be in desperate need of an update and carpets in the corridors were dirty. Front desk staff was very nice. No safe in the rooms.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FreqBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights because it was a short walk from the train station. it is an odd set up with this hotel sharing a check-in desk with the Imlauer next door. Both are "Best Western" but this one seems to be the lesser of the two properties. Facilities were generally clean and business-like but generally old fashioned and not particularly appealing. As i said much like a business hotel in any large city. Our room was unfortunately next to the elevators so a bit noisy every time someone used same. The bed was comfortable enough and the refurbished bathrooms on the small side but functional and clean. It was quiet at night, even with windows ajar.

We stayed in the winter and the heating was too good. I had to actually open the windows at night to cool the place down a bit. -15 outside, 25+C. inside, a bit too hot, but at least the heating worked!

Breakfast was shared with the other hotel in the same room. It was plentiful and what one expects at a German/Austrian hotel. Nothing special but adequate.

On the plus side, this hotel is a short walk to all of the tourist destinations and shopping, with a bus stop in front from downtown for those not able to handle the 15-20 min walk.

Would I stay here again, probably not. But location is good and price reasonable, so it is an option for those not looking for anything other than basic accomodations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent a couple of days during the Christmas week with my wife and 3 years old daughter at Best Western Hotel StieglBräu‏. The hotel seems to be an old hotel that has been renovated some time ago, but we found the place fine for our needs. The rooms have nothing special, but they do provide what a budget traveler need. The hotel is not within the historical/touristic center of Salzburg (where hotel prices are extremely high!), but is well located between the main train station and the historic center (easy 15 minutes walking for each site). There is a restaurant associated with the hotel (direct access from within the hotel) that we found very good. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if one does not care about staying in a brand new place and wants to keep control of his/her budget while visiting Salzburg.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here the week of New Year's. It is very close to the train station and about a 15 minute walk from the old town. We were able to store luggage before check in. The room was small, the bed was not to uncomfortable. The bed was made up in a different way each day. The bathroom was clean but starting to show signs of age. The restaurant had decent food. All together...it isn't anything special, just a safe, clean, place to sleep while visiting a truly beautiful city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karolina213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Easy to get to from the train station. Within walking distance of Old Town (Altstadt). The location is excellent. The staff is helpful and attentive. The rooms are clean and, although small by some standards, we found them comfortable. The bathroom was impeccable. Best Western hotels in Europe are very well located and maintain certain standards while keeping the local flavor of each area.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer & Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer & Braeu

Address: Rainerstrasse 12 -/14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $87 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer & Braeu 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city you will find the Hotel Imlauer Hotel Salzburg. This welcoming Salzburg city hotel awaits its guests with numerous comforts. It also delights its guests with its perfect location close to all the places of interest in the city of Mozart. Convenient for transportation, easy to reach and so close to the places of interest in the old town of Salzburg. The Hotel in the city center is the first choice for your Salzburg holiday. A total of 50 rooms, suites and apartments guarantee you a luxury hotel stay in Salzburg, the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imlauer & Braeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing