We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable hotel in Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
argentina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable hotel in Salzburg”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed two night in this nice hotel. Everything was right. Food, accomodation, frindly environment, etc. In general Best Wetern hotels in Europe is a good choice!!!

Room Tip: Ask the bell boy, he will tell you the truth,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    413
    156
    51
    17
See reviews for
204
301
69
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Not bad at all the food is great and very rich .
The room is quiet nice a bit small but not noisy at all.
The hotel is well situated regarding the city center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeman I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is definitely older. Location is great, easy walk to/from the train station as well as to/from the old town. Room we were in was huge and a suite, I think we may have been upgraded. But it was quite dated. At least it was clean and other than one light and the TV remote, everything was in working order. We only stayed 2 nights so it was fine. Definitely a 2 -2.5 star hotel, I think many sites rate it higher which is misleading.
Breakfast was decent but like the room, nothing special. We got a bit delayed waiting for a huge tour group to eat one morning but no big deal since we were not on a tight schedule at all. Something to be wary of if you are on a schedule.
If you just want somewhere crash for a couple of nights when visiting Salzburg, the hotel is fine. Just don't expect a whole lot and definitely make sure you get a decent rate (I think we paid around 100 Euro per night or a bit less). Otherwise, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Reception were polite, although not quite well informed. We asked to see the room first and were shown another, similar to it because ours was not ready yet; 5 minutes later we confirmed we take it and were given the key to our actual room(which was apparently ready the whole time). Room was very small and could do with some renovation. There is no WiFi in rooms, the remote control of the TV didn't work. The mattress was hard and my back hurt in the morning. A group of sockets worked only if the light in the corridor was on (?!) and I found out in the morning when I discovered that my cell phone hadn't been charged and couldn't use it that day.
Overall, the hotel is dated and overpriced. The only advantage is the location, close to train and bus station and a decent walk from all major attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stella_cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel's advantage is definitely its vicinity to the station, 5 to 10 minutes and you are there. Apart from that its offer is average to below average. Upon our arrival we were offered a room for EUR 130, even though their online price stated EUR 87. After several minutes we were eventually offered the same price. The hotel is rated 4-stars but looks kinda dated and more like a 2-star. Instead of the enquiried double room we only got a very narrow twin room which was overall clean (the shower curtain was rather stained though) but only offered the most basic commodities. Breakfast was optionally and charged at EUR 20 a person, an offer which we passed on.

Overall (especially for the station related location) probably okay for one night, but for what it offers by far overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel's advantage is definitely its vicinity to the station, 5 to 10 minutes and you are there. Apart from that its offer is average to below average. Upon our arrival we were offered a room for EUR 130, even though their online price stated EUR 87. After several minutes we were eventually offered the same price however were suddenly moved to their sister hotel Stieglbräu next door. This hotel is also a 4-star rated Best Western however looks kinda dated and more like a 2-star. Instead of the enquiried double room we only got a very narrow twin room which was overall clean (the shower curtain was rather stained though) but only offered the most basic commodities. Breakfast was optionally and charged at EUR 20 a person, an offer which we passed on.

Overall (especially for the station related location) probably okay for one night, but for what it offers by far overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My family stayed at this hotel twice in one week. We stayed in one of their family rooms which was perfect. Our small children get a room and my wife and I get another room and there are doors that separate each room and an external door that separates both rooms. A very secure setup that allows families to have some space. The rooms were clean and heating was good.

The hotel staff has been very nice. They let us keep a couple of suitcases in their luggage hold for a week and were really helpful in getting us checked out and calling us a taxi.

The location is also great. You can walk to the old town in 10-15 minutes. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and the train station is around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.0 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer & Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer & Braeu

Property: Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Address: Rainerstrasse 12 -/14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer & Braeu 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city you will find the Hotel Imlauer Hotel Salzburg. This welcoming Salzburg city hotel awaits its guests with numerous comforts. It also delights its guests with its perfect location close to all the places of interest in the city of Mozart. Convenient for transportation, easy to reach and so close to the places of interest in the old town of Salzburg. The Hotel in the city center is the first choice for your Salzburg holiday. A total of 50 rooms, suites and apartments guarantee you a luxury hotel stay in Salzburg, the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Imlauer & Braeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing