We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, in a park setting, yet close to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Castellani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Castellani
Ranked #42 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, in a park setting, yet close to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went there on a business trip. This is a hotel to recommend for its great location: it is just on the southern edge of the old town, in a residential area, surrounded by a park, emerged into a very peaceful surrounding. There are public bus lines two minutes walk from the hotel, and it takes two stops to the centre of the old town. A walk to the centre takes about 10-15 minutes through the new University building park.
The hotel has two wings, the old one and the new one - we were in the new one. The rooms have the so-called French balcony, i.e. door-height windows with a fence, which makes them well-lit. They all overlook trees of the little park that surrounds the hotel. The design is rather cozy, beds comfy, two armchairs and a coffee table, working table, ironing board. Bathroom is spacious enough, with bath-tub. All is impeccably clean, and room service very helpful and professional. An extra point: a piece of Mozart-Kugel chocolate on the pillow in the evening.
Breakfast is lovely for the possibility to eat on park terrace. There is all to choose from, plus some vegetables. The staff is very polite and professional, but a smile or two wouldn't hurt them, particularly during breakfast.
A very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happybypleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    173
    68
    26
    14
See reviews for
65
157
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice and simple hotel with a Mozart portrait wrapped chocolate on your pillow.
Good food from the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soodye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,
dear Soodye,

thank you for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel for your stay in Salzburg and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the small gifts like the Mozart chocolate on the pillow.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great hotel, very friendly staff, easy acces to the old town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veerle260856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel is on a busy street about 15 minute walk into town. Rooms a bit on the small size but nice size bathrooms, hugh tub! The somke from the bar and lobby areas made it's way to the fourth floor rooms, they need better ventilation. Because of that problem I do not recommend this property for non-smokers. But for those that don't mind the smoke it's a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank notstoppingyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear terri d,
thank you for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel for your stay in Salzburg and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the spacious bathroom.
We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the smoke in the lobby. We do apologize for your inconvenience! Our rooms are divided in smoking and non smoking rooms, to offer non smokers the amenities of a smoke free room. Furthermore we are working on a non-smoking solution in order to provide a comfortable atmosphere for all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The outside of the building was romantically historic and inside, we had a juliet balcony. However, the lifts were very small and internet only available in the lobby. Only stayed one night. Breakfast was ample but could the selection could have been better. The location is a little outside the centre of Salzburg but as we were on a tour, we did not have to worry about finding dinner as it was organized for us. There are also a couple of lovely buildings on site, including a delightful chapel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiesinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Aussiesinice,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and for giving us your valuable feedback. We thank you for having chosen the Castellani Parkhotel for your stay in Salzburg. Further we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel amenities like our charming chapel from the 16th century as well as your suite. Please notice that we offer WiFi for free in the entire hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you again!

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is listed at four stars, but that would be more in a European system. I was impressed though - a large spacious lobby, a nice library/reading area and lounge was very useful throughout my visit. I read other reviews that talked about how smokey the lobby/lounge can be, and they were true. Being a non-smoker from Canada, it was too much for me to hang out there. The rooms were basic, but nice. Comfortable beds, and a good sized bathroom. Hallways were quiet. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the old town - I enjoyed the walk, making as much as possible along the river - it's nice to be away from the crowds. Plus I managed to get a superb rate on expedia.ca, so the value was really good.

Room Tip: If staying in the front section, the second floor and fourth floors have the larger windows for view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getawayguy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at ARCOTEL Castellani, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room, the spacious bathroom and our hotel amenities.
Nevertheless ,we are very sorry that you were disturbed by the smoke in the lobby. We do apologize for your inconvenience! Our rooms are divided in smoking and non smoking rooms, to offer non smokers the amenities of a smoke free room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

A friend and I recently stayed at the Castellani Parkhotel for a quick overnight trip to Salzburg for the Christmas market. The hotel was very easy to find and a straight shot from the autobahn, which was a relief after dealing with a non-functioning GPS. We arrived somewhat early (11:30 a.m.) and fully expected to be told that we couldn't check in yet. However, that was not the case at all. The staff got us checked in quickly and were very friendly and courteous. I was impressed immediately with how helpful they were! The lobby in the hotel was beautifully decorated and the room was just as lovely. The room had everything we needed, including a ironing board and iron, safe and tv. The room only had a LAN available for the Internet but the lobby and other public areas had free wifi. There's a nice little bar in the lobby area where we had a quick nightcap. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous. It was your basic European continental breakfast but there was much to choose from. Finally, the hotel is located an easy 15 minute walk from where the Christmas market is held. I would definitely stay at the Castellani again.

Room Tip: If you need a double room with two separate beds (as opposed to one large double bed), you can make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilitaryMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#37 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#38 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Castellani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Castellani

Property: ARCOTEL Castellani
Address: Alpenstrasse 6 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Castellani Parkhotel)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Castellani 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Castellani offers a perfect combination of pleasure, enjoyment, creativity and relaxation. The 4-star Parkhotel boasts seminar rooms, two restaurants, a large garden, a fitness and relaxation area as well as the baroque St. Josephskapelle for weddings and christenings. Just a few minute's walk away from the city centre, there's no better place to experience the abundance of culture and sporting opportunities that Salzburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your ARCOTEL Castellani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing