We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Salzburg-Sud
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice clean hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed two nights at Motel One. The room was very clean and the service was pretty good. The view was just beautiful as my room was on the 3rd floor. Although the hotel is quite far from downtown Salzburg, it is located right across from the main bus stop which takes you around 15 minutes or maybe a bit more to reach Mirabellplatz ( bus number 3 takes you from the main train station Salzburg Hbf to the hotel and from the hotel to the main attractions in the city). The
Wifi was OK but as other reviewers said it seemed to go in and out every few hours. Breakfast was decent, it included several kinds of cheese, ham, croissant, and jam, though no fried or scarmbled eggs. The front desk and the bar is open 24/7.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biba_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    269
    63
    9
    7
See reviews for
101
240
28
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed one night here while visiting Salzburg. The location is great, with a large grocery store next door. No need to buy the breakfast, just walk next door and save some money. Free street parking was not a problem as it can be in some cities.

Rooms were small but adequate, good bed and linens. Beware, there is no phone or clock in the rooms. You can get a clock from the front desk, but I guess most people use there cell phones these days. The wifi was okay, but seemed to go in and out randomly.

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful with advice on restaurants, parking, etc.

We stayed at the Motel One at Wein Westbahnhof we liked this so much for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Motel one is a great option for those looking for budget travel options. The rooms are minimalistic and clean and perfect for those that want value for the money. Although it is quite far from the Old Town tourist area and downtown Salzburg, the motel is conveniently located across the street from a main bus stop[ that will bring you directly to those locations within 10 minutes on the bus. You can get unlimited travel on the bus system for 24hrs for around 3-4 euros so it is still very convenient. There is a grocery store and Mcdonald's right next door to the motel which is convenient for those who want to grab a quick bite. Some negative points are here are no phones in the room so if you need something from front desk you have to go down to the lobby and the wifi cuts off from time to time which was a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I can't complain about the room. I would probably rate it a "4". It was attractive with a nice view. However, I was extremely disappointed in the service. To begin with there was no phone in the room. That is not necessary except in the context of my experience. We had friends who were meeting us at the hotel. They live in Austria, so speak good German. We do not. We had been communicating via email as to when and where we would meet. They live in Linz and we had been traveling for 2 weeks in Germany and elsewhere. It was by pure luck that I checked my email on the morning of the day we were to meet and learned they would meet us later in the day at the hotel. In the email Tina mentioned that she had left a message with the hotel. When we returned later that day (knowing I had a message) I asked at the desk for the message. They searched all over and finally found it. It was a scrap of paper written in German. I asked what their method of delivering messages to guests was and they couldn't give me an answer. I asked again and added that most hotels have phones in their rooms to let guests know they have a message. I was informed that "none of the Motel One Hotels have phones in the room" and the young man continued by saying everyone has there own phone. I told him we did not and wondered just how he would let us know if our family had tried to contact us from the United States with a family emergency. Obviously, we had given our family the name and phone number of this hotel and fully expected that we would be contacted in case of an emergency. The man at the desk seemed uncaring about this glaring omission and reiterated that none of the Motel One Hotels had phones. It turned out that my young friend had left 3 messages and found the hotel non-responsive to her messages. She has lived in Austria for 20 years and even she found their attitude negative and unhelpful. I will make it a point never to stay in another Motel One, wherever they are located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

1) Check-in service~excellent.
2) Room (we had 421)~immaculate, hip, flat screen, shower, new/minimalist decor and a view of the river
3) Price~173.€ for 2 nights, parking and breakfast extra
4) Location~on the river, walkable to the old town, other sights...
5) Parking~7pm to 9am free next door in the public lot, 12€ per day at the hotel
6) Breakfast~all you can eat and drink; coffee, tea, juice, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, breads, eggs, fruit salad. Great deal at 7.5€
I definitely would come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitanurseOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms has a wonderful Salzach River view. Its so nice to watch sunrise and sunset from the rooms. It also has a fancy patio by the river. You can have drinks or breakfast there. Its location is also very good. 15 minutes to Altstadt by walking. Rooms are clean and commodious. Staff is helpful. Very near to bahnhof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oylum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel at a very reasonable price. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. No bathtub but the shower worked a treat. The breakfast was a huge buffet with just about everything well stocked and available. Bar and coffee shop in the lobby and there's a huge supermarket across the car park from the hotel. All the staff we met were lovely too.
Not really close to the city, but easy to get around - we stayed at both Motel One's in Salzburg and preferred this one.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor, views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherjoy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.7 mi away
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
487 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
2.8 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Salzburg-Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Salzburg-Sud

Property: Motel One Salzburg-Sud
Address: Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Salzburg-Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel One Salzburg-Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing