We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with tiny rooms - too far from the downtown action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Salzburg-Sud
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is modern and new but the rooms are tiny. It is also too far from downtown. If we visited Salzburg again we would definitely stay downtown, probably at the Hotel Stein which is in a great location and looks to have modern rooms as well.

Staff was friendly but the savings for this hotel is not worth the distance you have to travel to get to the action of downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 561 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Motel One is part of a new series of botique-chic hotels, and some aspects of the hotel were nice: the rooms were very modern and they have a nice multi-purpose lounge ranging from bar to traditional tables to couches to outdoor seating. They also provided free Wi-Fi in the lounge. However, I was disappointed that all extras came at an additional cost. We avoided the breakfast due to the cost.

A quick word on location: we found the motel to be quite far out of the city. It is true that the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Unfortunately, bus services drops to once every twenty or thirty minutes on the weekends, which severely hampers ease of accessibility into the city. In addition, it is quite a trip to get into the city. On the other hand, there is a nice boutique-type grocery story in the same compound as the hotel and it is in a fairly nice location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is very well maintained and serves well fior a budget stay. The service is functional and all extras are to be paid for, as expected in a budget hotel. Must say that paying for Internet was somewhat disappointing! Although it is free if you pay for breakfast... The location is a bit far from the city center but the bus connections are excellent and the bus stop is right outside the hotel. The breakfast is reasonably good. There is a very nice supermarket right behind the hotel - very useful! While parking in the basement is a paid service, I erroneously parked outside the hotel near the supermarket and hat was free. Nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSahai-148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Motel One is a modern and new hotel outside the city center of Salzburg.
Pros: the room was clean
Cons: 1) everything costs extra (parking, WiFi, breakfast), 2) no phone, no fridge, no wardrobe in the room, 3) front desk lost our reservation and took forever to find it, 4) staff member at front desk wasn't friendly, 5) hotel overlooks a parking lot and a busy street, 6) staff won't tell that you can park for free at the bank next to the hotel on weekends, 7) location far from old town center

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

According to many reviews on the site we were afraid that it will e very far from the city, which was not at all the case. In fact my husband liked the fact that it was slightly outside as he likes to be away from the noise of the main city.

The bus stop was exactly opposite the entrance of the hotel and bus no. 3 and 8 would take u in the city in 10 minutes tops.

The entrance lobby was stylish and bar well stocked and wonderful wonderful service. the staff was very helpful. The night duty guy actually sat with my husband till 3 in the night helping us plan our next day. The was like the aaahhhh factor.

the rooms were tiny but space was managed very well, so you had good room for storage and everything was speck less. The rooms were sound proof so even when our room faced the street and was on the first floor only, there was no disturbance at all.

Just behind the hotel was the supermarket which was very convenient.

The breakfast was not included, it was 7.50 Euro per person but it was excellent and worth the money. The only grievance being breakfast hours which were 8-10 and 8-11 on weekends. We would have appreciated more if it started at around 7 AM and stayed till 11 as many package trips start at 8 am and will pick you up from the hotel directly.

If we go again we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gargi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Motel One in the south of Salzburg, is a funky modern place which looks and feels nice and new. Rooms are small and minimal but stylishly so with a fantastic brand new bathroom and large walk-in shower. There is a lounge area softly playing funky tunes into the early hours and a fully stocked bar. Breakfast was very substantial, with boiled eggs, croissants, an assortment of fresh breads, hams and cheeses, yoghurts and fresh fruit. Buffet so eat as much as you like!
The hotel itself is off a basic yet busy main road and there is a supermarket directly behind the hotel and bus stops directly outside to and from the city centre (numbers 3 and 8) and airport (bus number 8). The rooms are very quiet, however.
If you don't mind staying under 10 minutes bus or taxi ride into the city centre then this is a great funky place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Motel one Salzburg sud ,was a great stay .
Pros=
-staff were always helpful, friendly, and great advice on how to get to and from places.
- the rooms are very clean, simple .everything you need to get by for a few days.
-breakfast was 7.5 Euros however if you bought that you get free wifi in your room (5 euros normally), I think that should be free in the room regardless .the breakfast was substantial,healthy and simple-boiled eggs,cereal,teas,coffees,juices,breads,cold meats&cheeses ,jams etc. that gets you through the day and ready to go .
-location isn't in the city centre but that is NOT a problem as the bus stop is out the front and you can catch number 3 or 8 to Mozart Steg stop and walk into the city very easily! And it's not noisy in the hotel (good for sleep).

Cons=
- not much really! It's a great stay! The rooms would be better with a small fridge/mini bar and unlimited free wifi.

Id easily stay here again .The staff were fabulous and it's just what you need

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
515 reviews
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
670 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#31 of 132 in Salzburg
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Salzburg-Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Salzburg-Sud

Address: Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Salzburg-Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel One Salzburg-Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing