We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Wernbacher

Cafe Wernbacher
Ranked #60 of 617 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Typical Austrian food in great location by Mirabell palace.
First time we tried this place I ordered mushrooms in a cream sauce with dumplings. The meal was delicious however after you've eaten the dumplings there's a lot of sauce left over, would have been nice to have more dumplings to mop it up with. Second time I had the chicken burger which came with the most amazing chips accompanied by a ....... dip. For dessert I ordered the lemon sorbet with prosecco......I definitely recommend this, it was so delicious, I wanted to order another one. The third time we visited the service was not the best, granted there were only two staff members serving tables and there was a lot of customers. I ordered the beefburger. When it arrived it was still red inside so I sent it back. When it returned the rest of my party had already finished eating there food.
If this had of been the first time I'd visited the restaurant it would have put me right off it, luckily I know the food is really good here and the previous two times I'd visited the service was just excellent so it might have just been a blip.

Definitely one of the nicest restaurants this side of the river in Salzburg. Prices are also reasonable because it's not in the old town so doesn't typically cater for tourists, it's more of a locals place with only a few tourist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    71
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a late dinner here after the Marionette show. Even though the kitchen was due to close ten minutes after our arrival the food was prepared fresh and was delicious. The service was excellent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slsdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile (well, for two out of three visits)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good restaurant. Ate here several 3 times during a 7 night stop over. Can recommend the Goulash and Corn Fed Chicken Rissotto.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a few breakfasts in Salzburg already this week we stumbled upon this lively cafe with a lovely outside seating area. As others say the service is friendly an attentive. We. Both each had a set breakfast and experience the delicious "two boiled eggs in a glass" which we were surprised to see was exactly that. Two eggs, though I would say they were beautifully poached eggs with a few chopped chives in a glass bowl. What a great breakfast idea. The coffee here is good also. We liked the ambience (in the context) and location so much we returned for dinner last night too. Veal schnitzel was good and the GAB goulash an experience as it comes with a fried egg and a frankfurter. Clearly lots of eggs to be had here. I finished with some fresh mint tea which made a light change from all the beer and excellent coffee on offer in this town. We have a few more days here and will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Getmearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Friendly and attentive service with great straightforward food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very good place for a good feed with family. Very helpful service compared to some Salzburg places. Food was good straightforward Austrian fare - great goulash and tasty food that even an 8 and 5 year old polished off!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pytchelylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wernbacher also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Cafe Wernbacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing