We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Wernbacher

Cafe Wernbacher
Ranked #59 of 630 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly place with good food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a few breakfasts in Salzburg already this week we stumbled upon this lively cafe with a lovely outside seating area. As others say the service is friendly an attentive. We. Both each had a set breakfast and experience the delicious "two boiled eggs in a glass" which we were surprised to see was exactly that. Two eggs, though I would say they were beautifully poached eggs with a few chopped chives in a glass bowl. What a great breakfast idea. The coffee here is good also. We liked the ambience (in the context) and location so much we returned for dinner last night too. Veal schnitzel was good and the GAB goulash an experience as it comes with a fried egg and a frankfurter. Clearly lots of eggs to be had here. I finished with some fresh mint tea which made a light change from all the beer and excellent coffee on offer in this town. We have a few more days here and will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getmearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    82
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly and attentive service with great straightforward food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very good place for a good feed with family. Very helpful service compared to some Salzburg places. Food was good straightforward Austrian fare - great goulash and tasty food that even an 8 and 5 year old polished off!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pytchelylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great traditional austrian food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant, and the menu looked good - great mix of trad Austrian but with interesting twists, so.....
It was really good - I had venison goulash, one of the best ever. No room for dessert! They were very child friendly too. The rest of the family enjoyed it just as much - daughter pronounced it the best schnitzel ever, and she's had about a thousand!!
Wine was excellent, and it was pretty reasonable by Salzburg standards
Would definitely go back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
258 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lucky Find on a Rainy Night”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had just arrived in Salzburg, I had tickets to a concert at Mirabell Palace, it was pouring rain, and I needed to find a place to have dinner. Dripping wet, I glanced only at the prices on the menu before I entered, caring only that they had food and a roof.

The atmosphere was amazing, wood and glass, cushy chairs and sofas, newspapers, Art Deco touches, full of locals who all seemed to know each other and the staff. I had the delicious Viennese noodles with ham, and the delightful waitress talked me into having desert -- mango torte and literally the best cup of coffee I have ever had.

I liked it so much, I came back two nights later, my last night in Salzburg (pouring rain again.) This time, I had the yummy chickenburger, chocolate mousse, and coffee. Yum!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband's bacon and eggs and my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were very well prepared. Capuccino was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelprincess077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wernbacher also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Cafe Wernbacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing