We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating variety of exhibits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salzburg Museum

Salzburg Museum
Book In Advance
$26.25*
and up
Salzburg Card
Ranked #46 of 157 things to do in Salzburg
Attraction details
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating variety of exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

When we visited they had a display on marionettes, a huge collection of medieval sacred art and the permanent exhibit on the history of Salzburg. Smart and modern with superb curation. And some fun-looking features for kids, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    61
    34
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
421 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Thankfully we didn't pay for this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was included as part of the Salzburg card. Since it was Monday the museum was closed but the Panorama was open. But seemingly they were in the process of tearing down an exhibit or something since there was only the painting and lots of empty exhibit areas. I can't believe they were still charging people for that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Panorama had gone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went in to see the painted panorama, but found out that it had been replaced with a temporary (and prolonged) exhibition on the von Trapp family, which was somewhat of a rip-off, especially as the BBC had shown the real story in a documentary earlier this year and VT story has no real relevance to Salzburg culture and is barely to please US and Japanese tourists. Sad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AVG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
1,013 reviews
767 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Panaroma Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

we paid for the Panorama Museum only as we wanted to see the exhibition about the real Von Trapp family which was interesting and different from the story told in the film.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Worth the time. Beautiful art and artifacts
Has won an award - interesting film stuff there. That's all I have to say to fill up this box!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzburg Museum also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzburg Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing