We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local flavor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldene Ente - CLOSED

Goldene Ente
Goldgasse 10 | A - 5020, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 848200
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Soups, Central European, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant open "Gasthof Goldgasse" http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g190441-d6952343-Reviews-Gasthof_Goldgasse-Salzburg_Austrian_Alps.html
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The cruise director of our Viking River Cruise suggested the Golden Duck. It was a little hard to find, but what a find it was. It was quite crowded so we shared a table with a couple from England which was delightful. Their local cuisine was great and so was the conversation. We loved the atmosphere of this truly local Austrian restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    87
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Goulash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went here for a quick meal as we were only passing through Salzburg. Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Goulash was amazing. Kids had schnitzels which were OK - though would have preferred them thinner. Definitely would go back if ever in Salzburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Three visits in 3 days - cant be bad?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant 3 times - once to eat & twice to try the beer (it seemed to be the only place open after 10pm on a Sunday!) The waiter remembered us & what we'd had to drink on the 2nd & 3rd time - made us feel very welcome.
For the eating trip, we had to share a table (it was that busy) - but 4 of us on a table for 8 was fine - we each had our corner. The turkey schnitzel (local) was lovely & the Vegeterian spinach dumplings were great (they were huge! Kermit would be jealous!) All the beers were yum - would highly recommend the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spakky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Enjoyed our meal here, food was good and tasty. Our request for a gluten free meal obviously confused the wait staff, she recommended a totally unsuitable dish, but we got there in the end. Dining room is cute with atmospheric nooks and crannies.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Biggest dessert ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I tried salzburger nockerl at this restaurant which was so tasty, delicious but It was so big portion for 2 people. I think it is more suitable for 3. The waiter was so friendly. However, the waiting time to order is too long probably because of many guests.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nguyenbeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldene Ente also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing