We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg Central
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salzburg Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The room was very large and comfortable. Bathroom appeared modern and new. Rooms were clean. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location is good, only 5 mins to train station in taxi, on a main bus route and a 10 min walk to the centre of town. A variety/movie channel in English would be a nice touch. Also internet connectivity was a bit hit and miss in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Jason G,

thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor! We appreciate reading that you had a comfortable stay with us in Salzburg. Unfortunately our free wifi speed is sometimes depending on how many guests in the house use it. We can always recommend our internet terminal next to the front desk.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    362
    164
    37
    11
See reviews for
207
327
35
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

A little bit off the city centre, 15' walking distance, this hotel looks old.

The room was spacious and comfortable, but the internet barely could be connected in room

Breakfast ok.

Parking cost also very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Jan W,

thank you for the time writing your short review. Unfortunately the free of charge W-Lan connection sometimes depends on how many guests in the hotel log in and on a fully booked house status this can tribute into a slower connection. We always can recommend to use our internet corner when needed.

We hope we can welcome you in another Accor hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

For my participation in a conference in Salzburg, I choose to stay at the Mercure Central hotel and I extended my stay for the weekend. I booked a privilege room. Good location: old city, shopping streets and Salzburg congress within walking distance, but not the most charming part of the city. And on Sunday: less than 1 hour drive from Salzburg Sportwelt ski resorts!

I really enjoyed the privilege room: excellent bed, I slept very well. Nice modern bathroom with walk-in rain shower: another essential feature which I like very much. Bathrobe and slippers in the room: very practical to use the sauna in the hotel. Free drinks from the minibar in the room: again very nice. The room was also equipped with a Nespresso machine, but I never drink coffee, so I used the minibar ;-) All together not very cheap, but value for money. Small remark: bathroom amenities were not resupplied.

Very good breakfast buffet, but 4 days was enough. I also had dinner 1 night: very good food, but very cool atmosphere, since there were only 2 guests... Reception area is has a rather cool atmosphere, reception desk staff could not really help me to make a concert reservation. They just told me to do the reservation via internet. I also used the sauna in the hotel: one day is was not really heated anymore, the other day is was perfect.

Room Tip: I can recommend a privilege room, preferably at the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Peter_leuvenS,

thank you for your great feedback regarding the Mercure Salzburg Central. We enjoyed reading that you like the room and its design. Beside of that we apologize that our front desk staff had been not able to help you and obvisouly have not taken the effort to do so. We will take this into consideration when it comes to our staff trainings.

We hope we can welcome you again the future or maybe in another Hotel of the Accor Chain.

Best regards from Salzburg
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were happy with the location of the hotel in terms of proximity to the train station. It was walkable in 20 minutes even with our luggage. We arrived at the hotel shortly after 1:30 pm and were immediately told that our room was not available. The curt man at the front desk didn't bother to even check to see, he just went over and opened a closet door for us to throw our luggage in. We patiently waited in the lobby until he finally checked and found that our room was indeed ready. The wifi in our room was not even worth trying to use. The signal was incredibly weak. The breakfast, although a tad pricey, was very good. The hotel is a bit of a hike from the main tourist sights, although not horrible. 15 minutes to Mirabell Gardens.

Room Tip: Room 325 has horrible wifi, but it is quiet for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Ann P,

thank you for your review regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg Central. We appreciate reading that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.
Please be assured that we always do our best to check in our guests before the regular check in time of 3 pm as we although need the time to clean our departure rooms. You are always welcomed to store your luggae in our baggage room and expliore the city of Salzburg in the meantime.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlad, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

It is a comfortable hotel,but my room was at the front of the hotel ,on a very busy main road and was noise from cars/the windows not soundproof .The room was clean,spacious and good furnished; warm atmosphere.
The sauna is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guests,

we thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate reading that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.

We hope we can welcome you one time again.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#22 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#47 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Salzburg City Centre
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Property: Mercure Salzburg Central
Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg Central is easy to reach by car or public transport, with Getreidegasse, Mirabell Garden, the historical center, Linzergasse and the main train station just a few minutes' walk away. This hotel in the city of Mozart is ideally located for cultural trips, city breaks and short stays. One of the reasons why the conference and seminar hotel is so highly rated among business guests is its proximity to the conference center, exhibition center and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing