We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Salzburg Central
Nearby Hotels
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $371/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of $296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
$142
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$339
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Der Salzburger Hof(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$332
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveler rating
224
455
217
62
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
455
217
62
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townupgraded roomreception area isdie weissemirabell platzclean hotelmain roaddecent hotelthe busmin walkfree wifinice roomrooms are bigbreakfast includedquiet areastayed here for one nightpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 980 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had expected something a bit special with a Mercure Hotel but felt very let down with this booking. We had a very early morning flight to Salzburg, and arrived at the hotel at about 10.30 am. There was NO welcome; a man appeared from the back room. I explained we had a 4 night reservation and he waved my paperwork away saying "You are early. Keep that until you book in." He then started tapping on his computer, not looking at us. We didn't know if we had been dismissed, whether he was looking at our booking or what - we were left hanging. I was looking for an opportunity to ask if we could leave our bags when he said "You have requested a double bed and large window". (I knew there were some rooms with large windows). He said we could have a superior room for an extra 15 Euros a night. I asked if we could see a standard and a superior room, which he let us do. Strangely, the superior room was exactly the same as the standard (both tired). The superior was SMALLER than the standard, but had a double bed, whilst the standard had three singles. We returned to reception and I said we would be happy with a standard, but could we have a double bed as requested. He said abruptly "I told you; double beds only come with the superior room!" My paperwork plainly stated that we had booked a standard room, with either double or twin room, but he would not accept that. The hotel was not busy and there was obviously availability with the double bedded room so I cannot understand why he was penalising us. It was really strange, leaving us with "a nasty taste in our mouths". We felt as if we were something the cat had dragged in - really cold and unfriendly. Anyway, we stuck to the twin room and it was a pain having the beds pushed together with the rather small single duvets to cover us. The view from our window (which was the same as the superior) was of a concrete wall, a garage forecourt and a nightclub advertising a sex magazine! Not the picturesque image we had expected from a Salzburg hotel (the area itself wasn't sleazy - just a busy main road with offices and buildings). We left our bags in our room and decided to go out as the weather was nice. There was a pad of maps on reception. I asked for one, and had to ask whereabouts we actually were. There was no help in directing us to the Old Town - no "have a nice day" comment or anything. We did our best to orientate ourselves but actually went a very long way round and were quite exhausted by the time we reached the river. (Going the direct route took about 18 mins so not bad). Mercure, if you read this, it costs nothing to give people a warm welcome on arrival when your guests are tired etc - and to make them feel valued. Surely we were not the first guests to arrive by plane and thus arrive at the hotel earlier than check in time? We were not demanding to go to our room; just wanted to find where our home would be for the next week and leave our bags. I still feel stunned by how we were treated. ( I would like to say that when we checked out at 6.30 am on Friday 17th Jan, there was an extremely lovely "older" man who couldn't do enough for us. I only wish he had been there to welcome us on arrival. Also, we met Katie on our last day, who was English and had a lovely smile. Perhaps if she had been on duty our experience would have been different).

We certainly were not looking forward to returning to the hotel at the end of a tiring day; the hotel room was cold even when the heating had been on for 2 hours. I went down to reception (by this time there was a young girl on duty). I asked if we could have a heater, explained there was a great deal of noise coming up from the car wash in the garage and asked if we could have some extra bedding and that a double quilt cover would be nice. She promptly brought up a heater and some more bedding - but they were additional single quilts. If we could have pushed the beds together and had a double quilt it would have worked better - but the small single quilts were a joke. The bathroom was tired; the sink and surrounding area was plastic with a cigarette burn and a chip in the plastic basin. Very bland. We didn't sleep well at all over the four nights, and again, didn't look forward to returning at the end of a busy day. The one very good thing was that we did have a bath which was deep, and there was lashings of hot water so we were able to soak.

BREAKFAST - Saving Grace! This was excellent. Self-service, everything you could want and of good quality. Coffee, tea and hot choc of excellent standard too! Restaurant setting nice. Really set us up for the day.

We did have a good deal when we booked directly through Mercure and we had received a friendly email prior to leaving the UK in answer to our question asking if we could get to them by bus. However, I have never received such a cold "non-welcome" on arrival at any hotel the world over and am still feeling perplexed by our treatment. The holiday was to celebrate my husband's 60th and even he said he was surprised at our treatment (and things don't normally concern him). January is a quiet time in Salzburg, and some attractions etc weren't open (sadly the Salt Mines were closed for 3 weeks over this period which was something I wanted my husband to experience). So to have felt valued and welcomed on arrival would have been appreciated and a bonus. I would feel apprehensive about booking another Mercure Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piglet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Piglet56,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg Central. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, we will pass your feedback to our Front Desk Manager in order to take this as a chance for training and improvement.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews