We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weekend romantico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg Central
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    345
    160
    34
    11
See reviews for
201
316
33
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
242 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in nov 2013. About 15 mins by tram from Central station. Can do that walking in case of no luggage. Also about 20 minutes walk from old town.

Rooms are big , clean. Has coffee and tea in room. No bath tub. Hotel has free wifi but our room did not have strong signals. Maybe rooms from x01 series had this problem as they were in the corner.

Didn't use the breakfast so cannot comment. Charges were euro 15 per person. But read comments from others about it not being great. Rooms also has a minibar but better to get the drinks from the nearby store as beer etc is very cheap in the store. We bought the beer from store at 65 cents which were charged euro 3.50 in the minibar.

The beds are extra soft and maybe not suitable for some people.

They have a small bar at the reception. Restaurant also at ground floor. Didn't look crowded or much people.

Though had paid 100% in advance and had given credit card only for deposit yet they charged me again when checking out. Had to spend much time on proving about the payment done and trying to recover the charges. The staff could not figure out the issue and that was a letdown. Took about 2 hours before mistake was accepted and reversed.

Think may not repeat the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guests from India,

thank you for your feedback on your stay in the Mercure Salzburg Central in November.

We regret that there has been an issue about the payment details on check out. We are sorry for the inconvinience we have caused you at the end of your stay.

The standard rooms in the hotel still have bath tubs if this is required for the guests.
Although guests may use the direct bus transportation from the station to the hotel if they have a lot of luggage.

We hope Accor can welcome you again in one of their properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've spent two nights at this hotel. Its location is reasonable, 20-minutes walk away from the city center (old town). Furniture of the room seemed to be old-fashioned and lighting was certainly insufficient despite multiple lamps, whereas it was clean and big enough. Breakfast hall was a little gloomy and small but varieties of food were adequate. Wi-fi connection was free of charge and fast. Hotel guests may go to the three restaurants which are located side by side and 7-8 minutes walking distance; Die Weisse (local food and beer), Taj Mahal (Indian) and Ristorante Pizzeria Beccofino (Italian).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in upper flats, but wi-fi connection may be troublesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guests from Istanbul,

thank you for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay. We are happy to hear that you could enjoy Salzburg and its souroundings.

We hope we can welcome you again in the Mercure Salzburg Central, maybe in our newly renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms were reasonably priced and the breakfast was really good. While the Hotel is not located all that close to the older part of the city, the location was close enough to find some decent restaurants and other things to see.
Parking wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlS200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Karls200,

thank you for your positive words that we are happy to share with our staff!

We hope we can welcome you again in Salzburg

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Mercure central is not, central that is! It's in the new part of the city, about half an hr walk to Old Town where main sightseeing area is. It's actually next to a petrol garage and lap dancing club!! It is tired and lacklustre. Tiny bar and unwelcoming seats in reception, utilitarian. Standard double room is adequate and basic. It was clean.
Most staff on reception were OK especially lady called Katy who went the extra mile to help us choose trips etc. Would recommend walking to a cafe for continental breakfast, it's a third the price of hotel breakfast (which was 15 euros each).
Not to be missed..........wonderful dinner and Mozart/Strauss concert in the castle with stunning views of the city. Best buy is the Saltzburg card for free entry into museums, castle etc plus free travel in city and nearby Hellbrun Palace with trick water fountains (very amusing).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Pauline,

thank you for your review regarding your stay. We will pass your feedback to Katy who will be very pleased to hear that she could make a row of good suggestions for your trip.
We are sorry to hear that the walking distance did not meet your expectations.
Salzburg is divided into an old and new part of town. The Mercure Salzburg Central is about 5 min to the Linzergasse and 15 min to the Staatsbrücke which is the start of the old part of the city. We have also a direct bus line next to the hotel that brings you directly to the sightseeing spots.

We hope Accor can welcome you again in one its properties.

Best regads,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with very comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, very close to the city and very charming city it is! The rooms are about 220 euro's per night but you get what you pay for!!! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Jeff,

great to hear that you have enjoyed the City as well as the Hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback on that.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#36 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.6 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Property: Mercure Salzburg Central
Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg Central is easy to reach by car or public transport, with Getreidegasse, Mirabell Garden, the historical center, Linzergasse and the main train station just a few minutes' walk away. This hotel in the city of Mozart is ideally located for cultural trips, city breaks and short stays. One of the reasons why the conference and seminar hotel is so highly rated among business guests is its proximity to the conference center, exhibition center and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing