We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg Central
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    352
    163
    36
    11
See reviews for
204
322
35
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've spent two nights at this hotel. Its location is reasonable, 20-minutes walk away from the city center (old town). Furniture of the room seemed to be old-fashioned and lighting was certainly insufficient despite multiple lamps, whereas it was clean and big enough. Breakfast hall was a little gloomy and small but varieties of food were adequate. Wi-fi connection was free of charge and fast. Hotel guests may go to the three restaurants which are located side by side and 7-8 minutes walking distance; Die Weisse (local food and beer), Taj Mahal (Indian) and Ristorante Pizzeria Beccofino (Italian).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in upper flats, but wi-fi connection may be troublesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guests from Istanbul,

thank you for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay. We are happy to hear that you could enjoy Salzburg and its souroundings.

We hope we can welcome you again in the Mercure Salzburg Central, maybe in our newly renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms were reasonably priced and the breakfast was really good. While the Hotel is not located all that close to the older part of the city, the location was close enough to find some decent restaurants and other things to see.
Parking wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlS200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Karls200,

thank you for your positive words that we are happy to share with our staff!

We hope we can welcome you again in Salzburg

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Mercure central is not, central that is! It's in the new part of the city, about half an hr walk to Old Town where main sightseeing area is. It's actually next to a petrol garage and lap dancing club!! It is tired and lacklustre. Tiny bar and unwelcoming seats in reception, utilitarian. Standard double room is adequate and basic. It was clean.
Most staff on reception were OK especially lady called Katy who went the extra mile to help us choose trips etc. Would recommend walking to a cafe for continental breakfast, it's a third the price of hotel breakfast (which was 15 euros each).
Not to be missed..........wonderful dinner and Mozart/Strauss concert in the castle with stunning views of the city. Best buy is the Saltzburg card for free entry into museums, castle etc plus free travel in city and nearby Hellbrun Palace with trick water fountains (very amusing).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Pauline,

thank you for your review regarding your stay. We will pass your feedback to Katy who will be very pleased to hear that she could make a row of good suggestions for your trip.
We are sorry to hear that the walking distance did not meet your expectations.
Salzburg is divided into an old and new part of town. The Mercure Salzburg Central is about 5 min to the Linzergasse and 15 min to the Staatsbrücke which is the start of the old part of the city. We have also a direct bus line next to the hotel that brings you directly to the sightseeing spots.

We hope Accor can welcome you again in one its properties.

Best regads,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with very comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, very close to the city and very charming city it is! The rooms are about 220 euro's per night but you get what you pay for!!! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Jeff,

great to hear that you have enjoyed the City as well as the Hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback on that.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Mercure Salzburg Central is almost close enough to the historic center of Salzburg to be true to its name. While it is not in the boonies, it is still a good 20 minute hike to the historic centre. We believe this to be a hotel that is likely more suited to business travel and conventions than tourist travel. There’s no reason to believe that public transit isn’t as efficient in Salzburg as it is other European cities, but we didn’t investigate that option at all so I can’t speak to it. That all being said, on a warm day it is likely a very nice walk – in the rain, not so much.

If traveling by auto (as we were) the hotel is very easy to find, and access from the A1 is quite convenient – essentially only one turn after leaving the motorway. Parking at the hotel is available for a fee – I can’t remember the rate of the top of my head but 15 euros rings a bell. However, a limited number of free parking spots are available directly in front of the hotel within the white lines in front of the marked bus parking…if you’re lucky enough to get it. The hotel is surrounded by convenient amenities – not a lot of shopping, but a fuel station, market, and a few restaurants are all nearby.

The hotel was quite nice, a step above most other “Mercure” branded properties at which we have stayed. Although it is not a new building it appears to have been recently overhauled. The furniture was all modern and functional, the beds and pillows were comfortable, and the bathroom was modern. Overall we were quite pleased with the value of this property.

The tasty hot breakfast was to Mercure standards (which we believe to be generally higher than breakfasts served in other European hotels), with a very good selection of baking, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, cereals, and juices.

In general we were quite happy with our stay, and we consider the Mercure Salzburg Central to be quite good value.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the park was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests from Canada,

thank you for your detailed review about your stay! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed Salzburg and the stay at the Mercure Hotel!

Hope we can be able to welcome you again in one of our properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal for this hotel and thought we would have a bit of luxury in the middle of our 2month backpacking through Europe with our 10yo. Check in wasn't until 3pm and they wouldn't let you in early but the 2 mornings we were there the cleaning lady was knocking on our door at 8.30 in the morning. The first morning she came back 10min later knocking again. The day off check out you would think they would check with reception first or wait until check out time The room was nice enough but the internet was terrible, the worst of the whole holiday, even in the lobby it was so slow. Hotel was a bit of distance from anywhere but we were able to walk to train station and old city. There was also a couple of nice restaurants around the corner for a feed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie1512w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg Central. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your entire expectations.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We hope we can welcome you in the future again at one of an Accor Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#38 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.6 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#26 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Property: Mercure Salzburg Central
Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg Central is easy to reach by car or public transport, with Getreidegasse, Mirabell Garden, the historical center, Linzergasse and the main train station just a few minutes' walk away. This hotel in the city of Mozart is ideally located for cultural trips, city breaks and short stays. One of the reasons why the conference and seminar hotel is so highly rated among business guests is its proximity to the conference center, exhibition center and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing