We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg Central
Ranked #38 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal for this hotel and thought we would have a bit of luxury in the middle of our 2month backpacking through Europe with our 10yo. Check in wasn't until 3pm and they wouldn't let you in early but the 2 mornings we were there the cleaning lady was knocking on our door at 8.30 in the morning. The first morning she came back 10min later knocking again. The day off check out you would think they would check with reception first or wait until check out time The room was nice enough but the internet was terrible, the worst of the whole holiday, even in the lobby it was so slow. Hotel was a bit of distance from anywhere but we were able to walk to train station and old city. There was also a couple of nice restaurants around the corner for a feed

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie1512w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg Central. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your entire expectations.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We hope we can welcome you in the future again at one of an Accor Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 914 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived to the hotel with higher exceptions, so maybe it's our fault to think that Mercure will be a better hotel.
The staff were great, very nice indeed.
But! The room was dated, pretty big though, very big bathroom.
The room had a very bad smell, some kind of air-freshener which the cleaning lady used everyday, and we opened wide the window to get rid of.
We got drinks for the bar on the house, very cool, although we were alone with the bartender.

Location - we walk VERY fast, and it took us 18 minutes to walk to the old city center, i.g the hotel is not centrally located, and from the main rail station it took us 10 minutes.

Overall, I would stay again becuase I like Accor, but this hotel needs renovation (And a better smell...)

(We had room 117)

Room Tip: Room 117 faces the back yard which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive review on our staff which we will appreciate to pass this feedback to our employees.
The room category 117 is a standard room that has been soft renovated. Maybe the next time you can give our newly renovated hotel rooms in the superior category a change to try.

We hope Accor can welcome you the next time soon.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manger Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had two rooms, one for us and one for our children. The rooms were next to each other with no adjoining door.

The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Nice bathroom. Fridge in room was useful.

Parking is free directly in front of the hotel but there is only a few spaces otherwise you need to pay for the hotel parking which you enter at the side of the hotel. We were lucky and got a free space.

Salzburg is ten minutes away (walking) and I know what people mean about a 'dodgy' neighbourhood but really it wasn't that bad during the day. I don't think I'd like to walk far at night though.

We ate in the hotel both nights because we arrived late on the first day so it was just easier and then on our second day, after a long day sight seeing we didn't want to go out again and we decided we enjoyed the food on the first night so much we were more than happy to eat there again.

We used the gym during our stay. It was quite small with a running machine, a step machine (probably not the official name) and weights. There was also a water machine and a music player to use with toilets and steam room available.

I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed our services, gym and room. It alwyas feels good to know when our guests had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday!

Hope to welcome you again in Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank GreenMileBgd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night, and overall the place is fine. The room was big, with plenty of space for luggage, and a covered balcony as well. The staff was very friendly.
It's rather far from the city centre (about 15 mins walk) and the neighbourhood, near the station, feels a bit unsafe.
Breakfast costs 15 euros, which is rather expensive, especially if you just want some cereal and toast, so I skipped it.
The one big problem I had was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom; only a glass plate (design probably....), but this didn't stop the water, so the whole bathroom floor was soaked, including the clean clothes I had left on the floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Saskia,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.
We will share the posiitve feedback with our staff at the front desk.
Please feel free to order a la carte breakfast if you are not in the mood to have a full american buffet breakfast.

We hope we can welcome you near in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is your average hotel, could be a Holiday Inn, Mercure, or anything else in the 3 star segment. Nothing special. However, when looking around in Salzburg, we found that you can definitely find deals in a similar price range for hotels that are closer to the city center and where you get a bit more for your money. The parking garage was scary, as it was fully booked, and parking was for experts only (or small cars). Service was not too bad, but the bathroom was not clean when we moved in. Well, again, pretty average, nothing that upset us, but we found that for that price you can do better

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chooun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guests from London,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in Salzburg. We are sorry to hear that we could not fully meet your expectations regarding your stay.
We hope the Accor Chain can welcome you again in future in one of our properties.

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Pant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#31 of 132 in Salzburg
1,095 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $90 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg Central is easy to reach by car or public transport, with Getreidegasse, Mirabell Garden, the historical center, Linzergasse and the main train station just a few minutes' walk away. This hotel in the city of Mozart is ideally located for cultural trips, city breaks and short stays. One of the reasons why the conference and seminar hotel is so highly rated among business guests is its proximity to the conference center, exhibition center and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing