We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg Central
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is an average hotel of Mercure network. Nothing special, but not much to complain about.
Very nice and tasty breakfast is a plus.
Location was a bit less convenient than I expected. The walking distance to the historic city center is at least 15-20 minutes.
Good enough for 1 night stay (as in my case).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacek_Polska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Mr Jacek,
thank you for taking time and for yous comments. we hope you have had a good drive back to poland and hope wee will welcome you again in Salzburg in the future
The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Salzburg Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 890 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary and it was brilliant. We had a privledge room and this was what we got spacious and comfortable and with a lovely mountain view. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on this. Due to me having issues with my knees we didn't walk into the town but although it is a little further out than the central hotels I would say this would be about 15-20 minutes maximum. The staff were all really helpful even calling our tour operator for the excursions we had booked. My husband and I have both said we would go back to both Salzburg and this hotel.

Room Tip: Priveldge Rooms have mountain views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molemWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking time to write your comments We are more than happy to read about your positive comments and the recommendation. We hope we will welcome you soon in our new renovated hotel.
Best regards
The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had a one-day business trip there. Got a free upgrade because of overbooking, so I got a suite which was nice. The buliding is somewaht old, but close to center. Not for smokers! Beds are perfect! kjd fnliaeufgnlawiegfn,ax

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear guest,
we are somewhat suprised. We upraded you in our suite in our new renoveded hotel and the rewiew is very modarate. What addittional service and equipment have you missed with us to earn your 100% satisfaction?
Best regards from Salzburg
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg is a nice hotel, just about a 20-minute walk to the city center. Staff was friendly and check-in was quick. Rooms were comfortable- we liked the musical notes patterned carpet. Would love to visit this cute city again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear guests from San Francisco!
Thank you for the sort and very positive comment. The carpet with the notes is created just for our hotel and this is my favorite part/piece of our new rooms.
Many greetings to US and hope we will welcome you again in Salzburg
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

its a typical mercure hotel which doesnt offer too much. i booked thru hotels,com who told me i had a mountain view, the room turned out to have a mountain peak view far far in the distance and we were overlooking an ugly petrol station. we dont spend too much time in our room but when you pay for something and dont get what you paid for then we are not happy. i told staff and we were given a similar room and it did have a very nice mountain view but had to pay 30 euros extra for it. breakfast was ok but it was typical ordinary mercure fare. one of the girls on reception was very unhelpful and didnt seem to know anything about the local attractions or didnt want to know. the next day another girl came on who was very helpful. hotel is in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazzieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guests from Syndey,

Thank you for taking time and for your comments. Please try to use and book through the Mercure,com or Accorhotels,com site to save problems like this with hotels.com

I will talk to our Front Office Manager and her Team and we will improve our service mind.
We hope you will/have enjoyed your trip in Europe and hope you will visit the City of Mozart again.

Best regards from Salzburg
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good Hotel. Good Service and clean. However, I didn't like that I was charged €11 to use the carpark.

Also, I had 240 USD worth of Accor vouchers to use and I was given a terrible exchange rate. They only came to less than €160. I was expecting around €190 given the actual exchange rate.

Other than that the hotel was clean and good etc...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PajoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest from Irland,
Thank you for taking time to express your filings and experience. It’s a pleasure to read that you have been very happy with our team and hotel. July and August ares in Salzburg high saison and we have the Mozart festival too. The City is full and that is the reason that all Hotels have higher prices. The exchange rate for the special Accor vouchers is fixed from our main office in Paris and it’s not possible to handle this like exchange money.
We hope your return journey was good and you will visit the City of Mozart and us soon.
Best regards from Salzburg
The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A great hotel, just a short walk from the new town shopping and 5 minues more to the old city sites. Comfortable and quiet BUT inundated with Chinese tour groups whose sensibilities are different from the typical tourist.

Just catch trolley no 2 from outside the airport arrivals building (Eu 2.30 on the bus or Eu 1.60 if you buy a block of 5 at the tabac kiosk just at the doors) and get off at the Baterhammerstrasse stop. There are automatic nest stop announcements and the trip takes exactly 30 minutes. Trolley frequency is about every 12 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ossimandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest from Prag!
It’s really a pleasure to receive such a positive comment. We hope you will visit soon our city and us.
Greetings from Salzburg
The Mercure Salzburg and Thomas Baliamis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#38 of 132 in Salzburg
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $94 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg Central is easy to reach by car or public transport, with Getreidegasse, Mirabell Garden, the historical center, Linzergasse and the main train station just a few minutes' walk away. This hotel in the city of Mozart is ideally located for cultural trips, city breaks and short stays. One of the reasons why the conference and seminar hotel is so highly rated among business guests is its proximity to the conference center, exhibition center and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing