We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter. There was a lot of construction work next door but as it was the holiday period, they weren't working. The hotel is very handily situated mid-way between the train station & the Old Town. The rooms are basic but very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable & the shower very good. The best thing was the staff. They were all very friendly, helpful & spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A great couple of days in a beautiful city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    182
    70
    30
    16
See reviews for
61
156
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spent one night in this hotel. Very close to the train station and the two receptionists that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on on their street which creates a little eye sore but a very pleasant hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Grove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is very basic we had a hard time opening the door with a key no swipe cards here. The street was busy with renovations next door, but the girls at the desk were lovely so helpful in showing us places to visit this made up for everything

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for this feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay altough you had some troubles. We are sorry for the construction work outside the hotel but we hope that it will end soon. We apologize also for the inconvenience the key caused you but as our hotel is very traditional, we decided to stay with the keys. But it is also possbile to open the front door with the little blue chip. We would love to welcome you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have booked this in Salzburg, via booking.com. The information said that "Nothing to pay", only pay on site. They needed my card details which I had provided. A few hours later I got a message from the bank that the money had been sent to the hotel showing the exact amount. Then, later, I went to my bank to inquire about the message. They told me that the money had been sent to that hotel which they proved by my up to date statement. I told them that this was a booking which is not supposed to be paid, but the money should have been held until the payment performed. They told me sorry, but the money was transferred. Later, I contacted the hotel and booking.com about the case, and they assured me that the money is just on hold. I told them that it wasn't true as I had the proof from my bank. After a few e-mails I gave up, cancelled my booking and started to wait. Now, 14 days after the cancellation (cancellation fee is zero) my money is still not available so I contacted both the hotel and booking.com. The hotel sent me a reply telling me that they never received money and they scanned me a German receipt showing a transaction cancellation which was made about 2-3 hours after my e-mail (basically 14 days later they attempted a cancellation). They think that it might take longer to get access to my money. In short, the money has been deducted, the cancellation hadn't been made until after 14 days I had complained again, and, unfortunately, booking.com assisted the hotel and never tried to resolve the issue but took side strongly alongside the hotel. This is a good experience that taught me something. Never trust booking.com and this hotel.
note: I have all the evidences including my bank reports and statements, receipts from the hotel, booking and the cancellation.
The hotel has just sent me an e-mail telling that it is my bank. However, their cancellation receipt shows a date of April the 10th.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaborLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
we apologize again for your inconvenience concerning the pre-authorization of the reserved amount. We are very sorry we missed to cancel the authorization immediately after your booking-cancelation. We would like to explain the process of authorization again: It is an international hotel-standard that credit card authorizations are necessary to guarentee the booking and not for pre-payments. The actual payment is going to be directly at check out. This is also mentioned in our policies on booking.com. Usually the specific bank regulates the reservation period of the authorized amount. Since the regulations are different depending on the bank, we unfortunately cannot specify the expiration date.
We hope this explanation will help you understand our situation and we wish you all the best.


Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
586 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have been there again with my guest about 10 people, the staff are friendly and helpful, especially who make check in for us, sorry I forgot her name, of course rooms are nice, mostly they are happy with nice breakfast and fresh, internet work very well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time, writing this positive feedback and pointing our our excellent service. Our staff is always trying their best, to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are happy to hear that you and your friends had such a nice time in our hotel Markus Sittikus.
We are looking forward to welcome you all again.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a week earlier in the month; the hotel was really nicely decorated and absolutely spotless. Great location as well, plenty nearby and a short walk to the river. The breakfast was all really fresh and plenty of choice. All the staff were lovely but especially Alexandra (petite with blond hair and glasses) she had a great knowledge of what to see and do and how to get there and spent time everyday chatting to us and making recommendations. A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a lovely environment - we will definately be going back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 50 on the top floor - really spacious and plenty of storage!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for writing such a positive feedback and for praising Alexandra and our staff that much. We are always doing our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel is centrally located, a quick 10min walk to old town and same distance to all the top rated restaurants in Salzburg..

Hotel is a little older and rooms are nice without being anything special.

Wifi works well.

They have international plug adapters if you need to borrow them.

Breakfast is relatively expensive and I would recommend going to one of the many surrounding cafes like cafe Joy and have breakfast in the sun.

Staff are helpful.

It is close to the main train station if you arrive by train and also airport bus stops close by.

Was here briefly and would recommend if your looking for good location, fair price and nothing to luxurious. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for writing such a nice feedback and for pointing out the things you particularly liked!
We would love to welcome you again in our Hotel Markus Sittikus.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#26 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#53 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#50 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Property: Hotel Markus Sittikus
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing