We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Markus Sittikus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. Love to stay there again. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel is near the train station and many sites. Very well run hotel. Cozy bar and cafe as well. Kind of Old World which I really love.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Inhaber at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive feedback for our Hotel Markus Sittikus. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    159
    67
    30
    16
See reviews for
57
143
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit to Salzburg. The hotel is very close to the train station only about 10 minutes walk. Rooms are smaller but clean and look to be newly remodeled. There is a breakfast in the morning consisting of various meats, cheeses, cereal, and juices. The hotel also offers free wi fi which is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueBootzGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay in our hotel Markus Sittikus!Thank you also for the statement of the cleaness our rooms and our rich breakfast buffet. Our staff tries everyday their very best to make your stay as perfect as possible. We are very pleased that our service met your expectations.
We would be glad to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There were a few reviews I read beforehand that made me think twice about booking here, but I found very little wrong with this hotel. The room carpet had been well used and ageing and slightly tatty decor possibly are a problem for some people. There are two doors to enter each room which meant I could hear no noise from the corridor and with a comfortable bed, I had very pleasant sleeps. There is a 10 minute walk to town but this is balanced by being closer to the bahnhof. I couldn't find a suitable restaurant close by on a Sunday night so ended up going back into town centre, but this was a fairly minor problem. I would stay here again for sure if returning to Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xx1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Inhaber at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the nice and positive feedback you gave us.
But in case our guests couldn´t find a suitable restaurant our staff would be glad to assisst you for finding the right choice. We would be happy tp welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a really good stay here, the staff were so helpful. Only gripe that I had was that the bed was too soft for me, but that is just a personal thing!
The breakfast was very good and offered a huge selection to set you up for the day, we skipped lunch most days answered had such a large breakfast!
The only other complaint was that their Internet is incredibly slow! Apart from that the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a larger room as we were staying longer than their average guest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time giving us such a nice and positive feedback. You are right, some rooms of the hotel were remodeled last year. Thank you also for mentioning our diversified breakfast buffet. Normally the internet is pretty good, next time please tell us when there is a problem with the connection, so we can solve the problem right away.
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and the staff were very friendly and very helpful with local restaurants and maps. The breakfast is delicious also.
It is very close to the train station, Salzburg hbf, approximately 800m by Google maps, about a 10 minute walk. Central to all the main locations in town and has fantastic WiFi in your room! It's extremely fast and free.The bathroom is very clean.
The beds however were not that comfortable.
Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandMattJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben unser Hotel so positiv zu bewerten.

Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt so gut gefallen hat. Danke auch für die positive Hervorhebung unseres freundlichen Personals, welches stets bemüht ist Ihnen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu machen, sowie die Sauberkeit unseres Hotels.

Es tut uns jedoch leid zu hören, dass für Sie unsere Betten so unbequem waren. Wir bitten Sie uns Ihre konkreten Wünsche bei der nächsten Reservierung vorab bekannt zu geben damit wir Ihren Aufenthalt so angenehm und bequem wie möglich gestalten können.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Geschäftsführerin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the spring. Great location. 10 minute walk to train station or you can catch bus. Very friendly, helpful staff. Room lovely decorated but small. Ultra clean. Very nice breakfast. Many choices for breakfast. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time writing this positive feedback for our hotel. Thank you also for pointing out the things you liked particularly. Our staff is always trying to do their best making your stay as comofrtable as possible. In case the room was to small, our guests have also the possibility to book a double room for single use.
We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The only best thing about this hotel is its staff. Ms Jutta, Mr. Gerrad and other gals at the reception were very helpful and efficient. But believe me the staff was only the good thing about this hotel. I booked this hotel since it was rated as a 4 star hotel on Trip Advisor. But there is nothing which was 4 star or forget even one star. The Trip Advisor showed photos of hotel which made the hotel look grand and big but there was nothing grand about the hotel. The hotel is a group hotel of Villa Carlton but it was like a country motel or highway inn. The rooms were badly furnished and too small. The bathroom was tiny. Quality of toiletries was bad. The bar and lounge were well furnished and very cosy, wish they had furnished the rooms the same way. Anyways, thanks to the staff (especially Jutta) my stay was not very uncomfortable. Had it not been for the good staff, I would have checked out. Special thank you for the staff.

Room Tip: If possible avoid this property as its not worth a 4 star rating. If u r looking for luxurious 4 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Inhaber at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Markus Sittikus! We feel very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and would like to take a stand on a few points. It is correct that not all of our rooms has been renewed yet. The Markus Sittikus Hotel has been partly refurbished last year and the other part is going to get refurbished in the near future as well. We would like to inform you that our hotel is never been indicated in any official hotel description as a big hotel, because we are a individual, small and cosy place. Our sister Hotel Villa Carlton is designed in a totally different way, very modern and stylish. We appreciate very much that you pointed out our staff. Our whole staff is very keen to support good service and make the stay of our guests unique and comfortable. Concerning your complaint about the amount and qualities of our toiletries we kindly inform you that there is a variety of different articles available at our front desk, if requested. All in all we thank you for your time to leave this comment, because we take complaints of our guests very seriously.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#37 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#57 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#56 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#60 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Property: Hotel Markus Sittikus
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing