We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, and friendly”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights - met by very friendly staff.
Very close walk to the Railway station and a nice stroll into the old town.
You can mix your route up so you can see something different each time.
Has some good restaurants/cafes close to the hotel.
Found a much needed self laundry within a 5 min walk - clean and efficient.
Room was very comfortable - enjoyed having the free internet access.
Breakfasts were good - lots of choices.
Loved the rooms downstairs where you could sit and relax, read, watch TV and enjoy self serve
coffee/tea. Self serve bar also.
Definitely would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks for your nice and friendly words. We love to hear that you left our house and Salzburg with very positive impressions. We are grateful for your stay and would appreciate welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    184
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
64
159
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on our weekend trip to Salzburg. The hotel is close to the train station (7 min walk) and the Mirabellen Park. To the old town it takes about 15 min. The rooms of the hotel are clean and a good night sleep is included. However, I expected more of a 4 star hotel: There is no minibar or cafe/tee provided in the rooms (cafe and tee is provided in the lounge of the hotel at night time), the rooms are rather small.

Nevertheless: I highly recommend this hotel with an Austrian touch. Overall a good place to stay with friendly staff. Breakfast (11€, not included in the price) was great!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottoreHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks for your overall positive words. It is true that our rooms are not equipped with minibars, but with pleasure our team serves residents in our bar. After 10 p.m. our guests can self-serve in the lounge.
Depending how you book - breakfast is included, or not. For EUR 12 everyone can enjoy our rich breakfast buffet. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it too and that our team was conducive for you recommending our house.
Hopefully you visit us once again!

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemerovo, Kemerovo, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Salzburg: city of music, gardens and Mozart
Hotel "Markus Sittikus" not so far from centre of city. Comfortable rooms. There is very calm there. It's good for rest after active day for tourists.
Several restaurants near the hotel.
Nice place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voice_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks for taking the time to write your nice review. We would be pleased to warmly welcome you back to our house.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My first impression was Fawlty towers when we arrived - the decor maybe (not the staff!). The locaton is good - quiet area, a bit away from te hub of Salzburg - walking 10/15mins. The room was small and bathroom was just ok. Old and tasteless. On that note, the breakfast was good - but more variety needed - nothing hot when we got there!
At night time, there is no porter - they put the tel number of a local partner hotel (the decent one!) to call for emergencies!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our guests suggestions are essential for the improvement of all our services and thus for our future guests satisfaction.
We have taken all your comments and suggestions into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. If you want to visit our city again, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Hotel Markus Sittikus and if we are lucky enough to get back to Salzburg we would stay there again. The staff are wonderful - very friendly and it is a great hotel. We had an excellent room with a lounge area and bath. Easy walking distance to the old town centre in a quiet street location.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with 'old world' charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam and Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Pam and Dennis,

for a hotelier it is always great when guests return to the same house. This implies that you really enjoyed your stay. Also many thanks for complimenting our staff, the room and the entire hotel!
We would really be pleased to welcome you a third time in our house!

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

this hotel could only be regarded as a two star hotel at most. Guests have to haul there baggage up a flight of stairs to reception.Public toilet areas had one towel for all guests. Our first room offered was a box room but after we complained we were given a double as we had paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMASNOLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Nolan,

first of all nice greetings from the team of Hotel Markus Sittikus in Salzburg. We would like to thank you for your review.
We regret that we were not able to meet all your expectations. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guests satisfaction.
We are sorry that you negatively commented on the „one towel“ in the public toilet, but this was just a temporary solution, because the paper dispenser did not work.
The first room you were in was a standard double room – the one that you booked. We then offered you a triple room – free of charge-, which of course is bigger than a standard double room. If you decide to visit us again, you also have the choice to book a superiour room, which is even more spacious, but also a bit more expensive.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very close to Salzburg train station which can be easily reached by walking, as well as it is nearby bus stand. Accessible to the city center and the staff Jutta and Paterecia the were very cooperative. Breakfast was fantastic. Very clean room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Waleed,

thank you for your nice review. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our house!

Best regards,
Jutta & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#49 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Property: Hotel Markus Sittikus
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#34 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing