We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salzburg: city of music, gardens and Mozart” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Markus Sittikus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Kemerovo, Kemerovo, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Salzburg: city of music, gardens and Mozart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Salzburg: city of music, gardens and Mozart
Hotel "Markus Sittikus" not so far from centre of city. Comfortable rooms. There is very calm there. It's good for rest after active day for tourists.
Several restaurants near the hotel.
Nice place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voice_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks for taking the time to write your nice review. We would be pleased to warmly welcome you back to our house.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    176
    69
    30
    16
See reviews for
61
152
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My first impression was Fawlty towers when we arrived - the decor maybe (not the staff!). The locaton is good - quiet area, a bit away from te hub of Salzburg - walking 10/15mins. The room was small and bathroom was just ok. Old and tasteless. On that note, the breakfast was good - but more variety needed - nothing hot when we got there!
At night time, there is no porter - they put the tel number of a local partner hotel (the decent one!) to call for emergencies!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our guests suggestions are essential for the improvement of all our services and thus for our future guests satisfaction.
We have taken all your comments and suggestions into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. If you want to visit our city again, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Hotel Markus Sittikus and if we are lucky enough to get back to Salzburg we would stay there again. The staff are wonderful - very friendly and it is a great hotel. We had an excellent room with a lounge area and bath. Easy walking distance to the old town centre in a quiet street location.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with 'old world' charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam and Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Pam and Dennis,

for a hotelier it is always great when guests return to the same house. This implies that you really enjoyed your stay. Also many thanks for complimenting our staff, the room and the entire hotel!
We would really be pleased to welcome you a third time in our house!

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

this hotel could only be regarded as a two star hotel at most. Guests have to haul there baggage up a flight of stairs to reception.Public toilet areas had one towel for all guests. Our first room offered was a box room but after we complained we were given a double as we had paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMASNOLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Nolan,

first of all nice greetings from the team of Hotel Markus Sittikus in Salzburg. We would like to thank you for your review.
We regret that we were not able to meet all your expectations. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guests satisfaction.
We are sorry that you negatively commented on the „one towel“ in the public toilet, but this was just a temporary solution, because the paper dispenser did not work.
The first room you were in was a standard double room – the one that you booked. We then offered you a triple room – free of charge-, which of course is bigger than a standard double room. If you decide to visit us again, you also have the choice to book a superiour room, which is even more spacious, but also a bit more expensive.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very close to Salzburg train station which can be easily reached by walking, as well as it is nearby bus stand. Accessible to the city center and the staff Jutta and Paterecia the were very cooperative. Breakfast was fantastic. Very clean room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Waleed,

thank you for your nice review. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our house!

Best regards,
Jutta & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel second time. Great location, about 10 min on foot from central railway station. Very nice rooms, free internet, excellent breakfast(wide range of dishes, cheese, hot dishes, fruit). A little problem was a staircase at the entrance to the hotel. But our luggage was not too heavy.
Nice little park in the hotel with tables, chairs and armchairs.
No staff at the reception deck at night( from 10.00 pm) But your can take tea, coffee and water yourself at the first floor. Tea and coffee are free.
Short distance to old town. About 15 min on foot. Mirabell Gardens - 5 min on foot.
Ask for a room with balcony because it may be hot or stuffy in the room in summer. We got a room with balcony. There were two chairs and a table there.
I would recommend this hotel for visiting Salzburg.

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for recommending us with this absolutely nice and very positive review!
We would be pleased to welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked one day before arrival after deciding to add Salzburg to my agenda. Hotel was close walk from train station and great access to all city sights and activities. Service was great at the desk and they helped me with food suggestions and getting a tour booked. I was in a single and it was the best single room I have had yet. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was renovated nicely. There was some construction outside but it didn't bother me once I closed the window.
Would definitely recommend and come back as Salzburg was an amazing city to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guest,

we are really flattered because of your extremely nice and positive review.
We are sorry that a construction site affected your stay. Unfortunately we have no influence on such things.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our house during your next stay in Salzburg.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#25 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#33 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#53 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Property: Hotel Markus Sittikus
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing