We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great view, wonderful food and good staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful room, great view, wonderful food and good staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed at the Mercure shortly before Christmas. The lobby was decorated beautifully. The hotel was full and yet the staff was very pleasant and made the experience enjoyable. Both mornings we had a fantastic brunch in the restaurant with many types of breads, fruits, lox, juices, etc - it was a great way to start the day.

I definitely recommend the Mercure if you need to be in Salzburg; it was within walking distance of many locations and yet was quiet and peaceful inside.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and your rateing! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you liked our breakfast offer.
We hope you will always remember this stay with a smile on your face and look forward welcoming you soon again in Salzburg
Daniela Edlinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    387
    169
    44
    17
See reviews for
170
394
47
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel had a very pleasant lobby. The room (room 115) was a nice room size and very clean.
2 single beds pushed together to make a double. In-room safe, mini-bar.
Bathrooms have shower/bath. Quite high to get into. Toilets are also placed on a difficult angle. Good shower pressure.
Receptionist was very helpful. She gave us a map and circled the best parts of Salzburg, explained the bus system to get to the city centre and even sold us tickets as a discounted rate.
Free parking was available or $11 a day for undercover parking.
It was about a 5 minute bus ride to the city, or a 15 minute walk.
Free internet available in the lobby.
Buffet breakfast available for €15, which was absolutely lovely. Everything you could imagine.
Free shoe shine machine also in hotel corridor.
Seems like a safe area, as is most of Austria.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Dear Tim&Kath,
it's great to read the impression we left on your stay in Salzburg! We are really happy to hear, that you enjoyed staying with us! Thanks for posting the pictures as well - I am happy to inform you that we have replaced the shower-curtains in all rooms this year.
We also have rooms with grand-lit, please let us know next time if you prefere this type of bed.

With best regards to Auckland
Daniela Edlinger & Mercure Salzburg City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The hotel is about a 15-20 min walk from the old town centre in a quite part of town. There is parking at the hotel so it is useful for travellers with cars. It is also close to the hofbahnhof (about 10-15mins walk away). While the hotel is a little far from the old town, Salzburg is a small city and there are not many affordable hotels closer to the old town.

As expected from a chain hotel, the rooms are clean and a good size.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments on your stay.
Indeed Salzburg is small - still 15 walkingminutes can be alot for somebody being tired sightseeing! Apart from taking a cab to go back to our hotel (€ 7-€ 10) you also can take bus 21 stop "Paracelsusstraße" - You can get daytickets at our hotelreception!
Looking forward welcoming you again in the City of Mozart
Daniela Edlinger & Mercure Salzburg City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Great Hotel with good people to help you
if you want something

Mercury is so beautiful hotel with good food

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your statement regarding your booking at the Mercure Salzburg City.
We are happy that you felt comfortable and that you took your time to share your impressions.
Hope to welcome you soon again in the City of Mozart
All the best
Daniela Edlinger & Mercure Salzburg City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Ii is possible to reach most intersting places by foot.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MessiasSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to post your impression!! As Salzburg is a small City, indeed alot of sights are within walking distance. Especially MirabellGarden you reach within 7 minutes - and there you have on of the most beautiful views to the Castel "Festung Hohensalzburg".
Looking forward welcoming you soon again!
Daniela Edlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed here, to use some hotel points that we had accumulated. It is on the opposite side of the river, which made the area less touristy. The walk wasn't that far into the main part of town. The hotel was old, and in need of a renovation. It was an okay place to stay, and well worth the cost savings. There were several nice restaurants around this part of town. The breakfast buffet was a bit expensive, but we were able to find a grocery store about 5 blocks away to buy snacks and breakfast food. If you are looking for a place a bit outside of the tourist part of town, it is a decent spot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dannymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to read that you quoted Price/Service offer good and thank for your recommendation.
Look forward welcoming you angain in the City of Mozart
Daniela Edlinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This is a typical Mercure-style hotel. Having said that, there are a few elements that need to be highlighted. First of all, when paying for so-called broad band wireless internett connection one would expect really fast internet. This was certainly not value for money.
On the other hand the hotel has w very cosy and high quality restaurent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Early_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Sirs,
thank you for sharing your impression with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant "le sel". We do apologise for the internet experience. In technical terms we kind of depend on our provider - we will take care and find a better solution.
Hope to welcome you soon again in Salzburg
Best regards
Daniela Edlinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#30 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#36 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing