We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We'd go again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northwest England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We'd go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

It's very easy to get to the hotel from the airport - using bus 2 (runs every ten minutes during the day) and getting off at the Bayerhamerstrasse stop (the buses show the names of the stops on a display); the hotel is a couple of minutes away on foot.

The hotel staff were entirely friendly and pleasant, and we saw no queues at reception.

Our room was spotlessly clean and was comfortable, but not overly luxurious - nearer 3* then 5*. Air conditioning would have helped during our stay.

The walk to the old town is a very pleasant 20 minutes, although after the third day we wished the hotel was nearer.

A good stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for your feedback to your stay and your kind recommendation!

We are very happy about your comments, and will forward them to our staff!

Looking forward welcoming you again we remain with best regards from Salzburg


Daniela Edlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    407
    177
    47
    19
See reviews for
179
419
50
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Location is too far from city, not a four star hotel as claimed to basic. I was charged 15 euros for a child breakfast unaccompanied by an adult after being told it was free by a staff. stayed in this hotel for 7 nights, in room with a faulty window, no action was taken after reporting the fault. Seemed as if we are almost driven out of the room each morning by the cleaners because they want to clean the room . The bedsheet are seldomly changed.
If you do plan to stay in this hotel, please check the above.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank uuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Dear Sirs,

Again, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences discribed, especially for the misunderstanding concerning the breakfast.

It's the first time that a child has been sent to breakfast alone. Thanks to this experience reception now informs correct about children beeing free of charge joining their parents for breakfast. We like to mention at that point, that we charged finally € 7,50 and this due to the fact, that a lot of food was taken to the room from the buffet.

I checked with Housekeeping regarding your impression. Sheets are changed on a regular base every 3 days. We will be more than happy to change them daily if our clients like. Please just let us know next time.

We hope you enjoyed the City of Mozart!

Best regard
Daniela Edlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Bad: No air conditioning, no ventilation at the bathrooms, no wifi internet connection ( only paid wifi internet connection), mineral water was 4 euros %-) . It is not a good value for the money . A bit too far from the city center.We were lucky and got a promo for this hotel from 122 euros to 55 euros which made it acceptable

Good: Clean rooms, Nice staff, Fast check-in and check-out, Parking is only paid if send to the underground garage.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0_BGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
Dear Bogdan_B,

Thanks that you have choosen the Mercure Salzburg City for your stay and for your comments and impressions.
Reception obviously did not fully inform you, as Wifi is provided free of charge in the Hotel lobby. Additionally we have a free of charge Internet Corner with printing possibilities.
We hope you enjoyed your trip to Salzburg and look forward welcoming you again in the City of Mozart
With best regard
Daniela Edlinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Mercure Salzburg is located in Bayerhammerstrasse which by the standards of Salzburg is not that great a location to set up a hotel. The area is very much residential and away from the hustle bustle of the city centre. The check in was very smooth and we got the access cards for the room in no time. The rooms were very much standard Mercure with a view of the outside lawn. The bathtub added to the attraction. The lobby was very well decorated and the restaurant menu had a wide variety of typical Austrian food.
In the morning the checkout was pretty smooth as we had already paid for the booking through the net. The receptionist was very efficient and we enjoyed our stay. The other problem was that the points for the stay were not credited automatically.

  • Liked — The ease of check in and check out
  • Disliked — The distance from the city centre
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ainindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Dear Sirs,

Thanks for your comments! We really appreciate your point of View.
The distance to the CityCenter of course is something we really can't change.
The advantage of our location is the easy Access by Car, Train and public Transport. The walking distance to the main attraction is indeed 20 minutes - depending on the way you choose you can pass already Mirabell Garden and also the Shopping Street "LinzerGasse" is pretty nice.
I forwarded your comments to my reception staff who really thanks again for the positive feedback - thanks for your recommentation - hope to welcome you soon again.
Best regards - Daniela Edlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Debjani Gupta
Mumbai, India

We stayed at the hotel during our vacation to Austria last autum. The hotel was clean, staff at the reception was very helpful, the buffet breakfast served was a good and healthy spread. We enjoyed the breakfast on day 1. However, there was a huge group that came in on day 2 and the breakfast served was not enough for all. Unlike day 1 on day 2 we missed out on some of the dishes that we wanted, especially the hot stuff being served like the scrambled eggs and hot potato roasts.

The hotel is modern and clean, though the room wasn't too large. There's nothing of interest around the hotel, its in a quite neighbourhood away from the city center. You have to walk some distance before you reach the area of interest.

It makes a better business hotel than a tourist hotel as it lacks character and doesn't leave a remarkable impression.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — Very business like
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GuptaDebjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Dear Sirs,

Thanks for your feedback on your Stay in Autumn last year - we really appreciate your comments and your impressions - it helps us to improve service and quality according to our clients expectations. As you quoted our services with average we kindly as you to let us know what other services you expected.

Indeed we are not right in the very City Center of the old Town Salzburg - within 15 minutes walking through Linzergasse you reach the Staatsbrücke. The infrastructure around our hotel is quite good in terms of access (bus stop two walking-minutes) easy to reach by car from the highway exit nord.

We hope you will remember your stay in Salzburg as very pleasant and might be able to welcome you on a business Trip!!

All the best
Daniela Edlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Sadly we have just returned from a beautiful long weekend in Salzburg 15 March 2009 We arrived mid morning on our first day stay at the hotel and there was no problem with checking in to our room so early. The staff were very helpful and polite at the reception desk , as they were in the bar and the restaurant for breakfast and evening meals. The double room which we had booked was on the second floor. It was a good size double with a wardrobe unit with hanging room and fixed shelves. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The bathroom is more than big enough with a bath and shower. The room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The location may be a 15 minute walk to the old part of the city but you walk through the new part of the city to get there. There are just as nice bars and restaurants in both parts of the city to enjoy any walk.
Salzburg is a beautiful clean city (no rubbish in the streets). The people are friendly and you feel very relaxed. This was our first visit to Salzburg and hope we get the chance to go back. We would recommend the Mercure Salzburg City Hotel to stay at, as if we get the chance to go back i would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, General Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and that you will return to the Mercure Salzburg City for your next stay!

All the best from the Team of Mercure Salzburg City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

When you go to Salzburg, you want to escape present time and "fly" to an earlier era. If you stay at Mercure, you just land in the worst expression of modern design that ends-up in a kitsch room. The bathroom was partly synthetic (lavatory) or 20 years old like the bath-tube. It looks like this was some old hotel taken over by Accor Hotels (the chain behind the Mercure brand).
The room was terribly cold, the air-conditioning setting was probably only for "decoration". This is supposed to be a 4star hotel; I would only give 2!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dodonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#38 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#26 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing