We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #25 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Reception”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were really impressed with the service we received. Room was very clean. The restaurant service and food excellent. The initial service by the receptionist (I believe Annette) was first rate. She was very friendly and informative and most importantly she was vibrant, happy and cheerful. This set the scene for us. She is an huge asset to your hotel. You need to reward her and clone her!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimB7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Timb7010,

thank you for your very positive and great review! We will pass your feedback to Annette who will be more than happy to hear that she could fully make your stay memorable.

We hope we can welcome you one time soon back here in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    468
    201
    57
    21
See reviews for
202
490
58
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing likeable about this hotel. It's a bland concrete early 90s corporate hotel that needs a total refurbishment.

From the plastic curtains (which have shrunk, so don't give a black out) to the purple plastic and cold fluorescent lights in the rooms, it's utterly charmless in every way.

Nor is it anywhere near approaching 4 star. The bed linen is scratchy and cheap, as are the thin flimsy towels. You'd expect this in an Ibis two star (in fact I bet they are from the same supplier). Breakfast is cheap, basic and limited in its assortment for a hotel of this price. The location is on a modern grey street, 30 minutes walk from the old city, surrounded by more grey low rise buildings. There's nothing around of any interest.

The only positive points are the very powerful air conditioning in each room, the free fast wifi, and the cleanliness which cannot be faulted.

If you're coming here privately for some of the romantic charm that Salzburg has to offer, there are dozens of better places to stay. I would really avoid this hotel in future, just because you really don't need to inflict this boring, soulless place on yourself.

Pluses: a/c, wifi, clean
Minuses: bland, boring, soulless, dull, bit cheap and nasty

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear PeterEd7,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City. We are sorry to hear that we could not convince you of our hotel and obvisouly could not make your stay comfortable.
The Mercure Salzburg City had been renovated in all central areas, Lobby as well as hotel surroundings. We have newly refurbished rooms in our second floor- superior rooms- that maybe could have met your expectations more than our standard rooms. Sadly you have not taken chance to adress your dissatisfaction right away to our team members so we would have been able to upgrade you in our newly renovated rooms with an extra charge of 15 € per night.

For all guest who are not keen on walking - the old part of the city of Salzburg is 15 minutes walking distance - we do recommend the public bus that is leaving right in front of the hotel.

We hope Accor can welcome you one time soon in another property.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

While this hotel seems to be undergoing improvements it is quite lacking in helpfulness. Our a/c would not work and Constance at the front desk did not care to assist us other than to state that only smoking rooms were available if we wished to change rooms. Further, no maintenance men were on duty. She said she tried to call one in but could not reach someone. We asked to be moved to another hotel as a smoking room was unacceptable. She said there were no other hotels in the area. Later in the room we found a card from Mercure Corp stating they have a 'satisfaction guarantee policy'. We would like to know what that guarantee stands for as they did not try to accommodate us at all.

Room Tip: Check first to be sure the a/c is in working order. Also the toilet is in working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18LindaH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear 18LIndaH18,

thank you sharing your feedback regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City. We apologize the inconvenience that we may have caused. Due to a congress during your stay and a fully booked house status in both Mercure Hotels we had not been able to offer you a room move into a non smoking room or another room in the Mercure Salzburg Central. Our front desk manager told me that a technicians solved the problem with AC in your room on the same day in order to make your stay most comfortable with us.

We hope Accor can welcome you one time soon in one of their properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The room was clean and quiet.The service at Reception was warm friendly and helpful. The quality of the breakfast was very good. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earth_sarawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Earth_sarawat,

thank you for taking the time to write your short review on your stay. We are glad to hear that you have felt comfortable with us and of course it is a pleasure to share this feedback with all our staff members.

We hope ACCOR can welcome you one time soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We picked the Mercure Salzburg City because of its location.. our iPad data plan had died in Austria, but memory and great road signs guided us to this property. Room was very pleasant.. Breakfast was complete by any NA standards, with great variety and freshness. Much better than other Mercure properties we have used in France.. BIONot. Staff was very pleasant, both on the desk and in the breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank cllees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Cllees,

thank you for your recommendations on tripadvisor and we are glad that you have found your way to the Mercure Salzburg City. We really appreciate that we could convince you with the hotel and our service among all our other Accorhotels!

We hope Accor can welcome you in one other place around the world, maybe Salzburg.

Best regards

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stated two nights and chose on the basis it was close to the rail station and the brand promised predictable comfort. While the hotel was undergoing renovation this did not seriously impact us. The newly renovated room we were upgraded to was tastefully furnished and well equipped. Front desk staff were very helpful. The neighborhood was quiet and barely 20 minutes from Mirabell Gardens and Palace.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulT1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear PaulT,

thank you for your recommendation on our newly renovated rooms! We appreciate reading that you have liked them as our guests feedback is really very important to us in order to still do some improvments on the new room category. Of course we share your feedback with our staff members which they are always glad to hear!

We hope Accor can welcome you one time soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14A | Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing