We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stated two nights and chose on the basis it was close to the rail station and the brand promised predictable comfort. While the hotel was undergoing renovation this did not seriously impact us. The newly renovated room we were upgraded to was tastefully furnished and well equipped. Front desk staff were very helpful. The neighborhood was quiet and barely 20 minutes from Mirabell Gardens and Palace.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulT1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear PaulT,

thank you for your recommendation on our newly renovated rooms! We appreciate reading that you have liked them as our guests feedback is really very important to us in order to still do some improvments on the new room category. Of course we share your feedback with our staff members which they are always glad to hear!

We hope Accor can welcome you one time soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    407
    177
    47
    19
See reviews for
179
420
50
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here in December of 2013 for a few days just before Christmas. While convenient for getting around Salzburg and close to the train station and markets, the three nights we spent here were miserable because of one thing: the beds were so uncomfortable! Our not at all fussy 16 year old took to sleeping on the floor in the end. The poor sleep quality experienced here severely impacted on our stay and we were left very disappointed. Given the positive reviews of this hotel, which resulted in selecting it in the first place, we were surprised at just how bad it was - maybe we just got unlucky.

Based on this experience, we would not recommend and will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Cannat,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have taking the appropriate measures - the Mercure Salzburg City has new superior rooms in the meantime.
For family bookings we can always recommend the Mercure Salzburg Central just 2 minutes away as there we have more spacious rooms in order to have a comfortable stay for all the family members.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thomas Baliamis

General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was very suitable for us. It was walking distance to the city. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our time in Salzburg. Breakfasts were very nice compared to other hotels in Europe we stayed. Staff were friendly and spoke many languages..

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Angie T,

we really appreciate your comments on your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City and are glad to hear that we could fully make your stay enjoyable.

We hope we can welcome you one time soon here in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at this hotel. It is located 15 minutes away from the city center, 10 minutes from the Mirabelle Gardens. Nice area with lots of restaurants nearby. The ladies at the front desk are very friendly. We did not participate in the 15 euro breakfast.
The room, while on the small side, are newly renovated in a very tasteful manner. Beds and linens are very nice for a comfortable sleep. The bathroom and shower are very nicely done as well.

The bad.... We had a room with a view of the heavy construction that started at 7:00 am every day. I was sad that they did not consider this when they assigned our room to us during our 3 day stay.

.... And with the construction came the problems with the open air parking at 8 euros versus the 11 underground. If I were driving my car, then the decision would have been easy. I actually was scalded by an employee, since I had parked on an unkept area of grass. Funny he parked in the only handicapped parking space the entire work day. As management is involved answering reviews, the gentleman drives a dark station wagon) if I had been in the US, I would have been compelled to call the police to get the car towed.

There were no apologies from management for any inconvenience due to the construction as noted.
Little details that should come naturally to the management of the hotel in an attempt to maintain a 4 star rating and showing their commitment to their customers.

I would highly recommend this hotel. For the next month, make sure that you ask for a quiet room. (Note that the construction is being done to the front and rear simultaneously so that may be hard)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank its-wat_it_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear its-wat_it_is,

thank you for your time writing your review on your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City. We appreciate reading that you have liked our newly renovated rooms and felt comfortable with the moderness.

We apologize the inconvience we may have caused when it comes to the outside work around the hotel. The hotel offers right now 20 parking spaces outside as well as 35 spaces in the parking garage. Due to high season parkings spaces outside are of course the first that are taken by our guests. But there is no reason to park on grass area which surrounds the parking place and destroy plants. We are honestly surprised with the tripadvisor posting regarding this matter as you have discussed this issue already with myself, Manager the hotel, and the car was removed from the non parking zone.

We still hope that you have had a good trip through Europe.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night end of May 2014 and enjoyed the stay. Had a double on the third floor with a view to a quiet garden. Hotel is located in a residential area close to the main railway station and around 15 minutes' walk from the old city. Staff was helpful and everything was in order. There's nothing special about this hotel but it's a fine place to stay if you want to explore Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Rueskov,

thank you for review on tripadvisor! We appreciate reading that you recommend the Mercure Salzburg City to other travellers. Of course we will share your feedback with all our staff members.

We hope we can welcome you again in Salzburg!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

When my travel agent told us she had booked us in a 4 star hotel I was quite looking forward to it, but it really was nothing outstanding, it was pretty mush the same as the 3 star hotels we had been staying in on the rest of our trip around Europe. We never had breakfast because it was 15 Euros, which is quite expensive coming from South Africa. Location is very near the train station which is great. The room had a bath in, which for me is super! I must compliment the super helpful staff. I left a picture behind in my room and only released when I arrived in Venice, which is a 7 hour train ride away. I was sure room keeping would of thrown it away thinking it was just a piece of rolled up paper. I phoned them and they said they would get back to me. They emailed me a little while later saying they had it and would post it back to me and in a box so it did not get damaged. I appreciated their efforts a huge amount, and would like to give them a huge thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Stacy H,

thank you for your review! We will share your comments with our staff members of Front Desk as well as Housekeeping and are glad to hear that we could have helped you with your picture!
Maybe the next time when you travel to us you try the newly renovated rooms in the Mercure Salzburg City and we hope we can fully convince you of our hotel!

sending you best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#38 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#26 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing